Cosmopolis

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 92 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 92
  2. Negative: 35 out of 92
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 3, 2014
    5
    A Wall Street billionaire (Robert Pattinson) takes one risk too many and his empire is about to fall. The themes are familiar; the emptiness of wealth, the inequalities arising from unrestrained capitalism. A rat became the unit of currency, we are told. Like many Cronenberg films, Cosmopolis seemed to promise so much, but was ultimately style over substance. These themes have beenA Wall Street billionaire (Robert Pattinson) takes one risk too many and his empire is about to fall. The themes are familiar; the emptiness of wealth, the inequalities arising from unrestrained capitalism. A rat became the unit of currency, we are told. Like many Cronenberg films, Cosmopolis seemed to promise so much, but was ultimately style over substance. These themes have been exhausted and I don't think there was anything new here. There was a great deal of dialogue expressed as if it held great meaning, but when considered, was often vacuous. The characters interacted with one another as if they were aliens, which undoubtedly was the point. but became boring and seemed pretentious. However, Pattinson gave a precise, controlled and razor-sharp performance; he is under-rated as an actor. Expand
  2. Mar 10, 2013
    5
    I like Cronenberg films (especially A History of Violence), but this one left me puzzled. I enjoy good dialogue, but the dialogue in this film can make you crazy, but that said the movie looked good and the performance's were good so a 5.
  3. Feb 24, 2013
    5
    This was a wooden movie. It did not excel in any criteria. The dialogue was interesting, but delivered poorly. Definitely something that wasn't edited enough. Its major flaw was how it was directed. The actors were Zombies. The set of the limo was an allegory, but it didn't help to connect the viewers with concepts they were talking about. I don't see how anyone could follow this. Even inThis was a wooden movie. It did not excel in any criteria. The dialogue was interesting, but delivered poorly. Definitely something that wasn't edited enough. Its major flaw was how it was directed. The actors were Zombies. The set of the limo was an allegory, but it didn't help to connect the viewers with concepts they were talking about. I don't see how anyone could follow this. Even in an abstract way it didn't work. The movie also turns rather violent and I don't think the point gets across to the viewer. This isn't as good as Cronenberg's previous films. This was a cheap movie with bad acting and a muddy or even boring plot. Expand
  4. Sep 21, 2012
    6
    David Cronenberg's swift return to kinky, psycho-social territory is a welcome one. Cosmopolis is a cold, moody character study, that highlights the indifference of the 1% percent and how a millionaire can be lead to a path of self destruction during a limo ride to the barber. Everything revolves around this millionaire, played with chilly precision by Robert Pattinson, who surpassed myDavid Cronenberg's swift return to kinky, psycho-social territory is a welcome one. Cosmopolis is a cold, moody character study, that highlights the indifference of the 1% percent and how a millionaire can be lead to a path of self destruction during a limo ride to the barber. Everything revolves around this millionaire, played with chilly precision by Robert Pattinson, who surpassed my expectations. But one of the best part of this movie are the many supporting characters who revolve around his life during the course of a day, whether its his wife (played with skill by Sarah Gadon), his spiritual and financial advisers, potential assassins or his eccentric mistresses. In their respective scenes, each were able to add something new to the film and the millionaire character at hand. The episodic editing was well executed, and, though built on a weird premise, Cronenberg's screenplay was filled with broad rambles, spliced with moments of truths. I did take issues with how distant the film felt at times and its ambiguity may bother some, but that's the way it was meant to be. In the end, it felt distant nature yet intimate in scope, and is surely one of the most underrated movies of the year. Expand
  5. MkM
    Aug 21, 2012
    5
    Actually haven't seen the movie. Just posted this to note that the Onion AV Club actually gave the movie a good review (although they had some things to say about the ending). Either way, they gave it a "B" by their rating system. Now it's been a long time since I attended high school, but from what I remember a "B" was an 80% to an 85%. Yet for some reason Metacritic has them scoring theActually haven't seen the movie. Just posted this to note that the Onion AV Club actually gave the movie a good review (although they had some things to say about the ending). Either way, they gave it a "B" by their rating system. Now it's been a long time since I attended high school, but from what I remember a "B" was an 80% to an 85%. Yet for some reason Metacritic has them scoring the film a 50%. Just thought it should be addressed. Collapse
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Sep 7, 2012
    63
    The rapid dialogue is dry and mannered, like a David Mamet play, there's virtually no story and Cronenberg's visual scheme is cold and claustrophobic.
  2. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Sep 7, 2012
    40
    Alas, in Cronenberg's hands, it just comes across as cold and lifeless and exhausting.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    Aug 30, 2012
    50
    It feels like each and every moment bursts forth with urgent dialogue, and yet what does anyone actually say?