Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 30
  2. Negative: 7 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Jan 10, 2011
    38
    A little like modern country music - odd moments of sincerity, heart and authenticity peek through the plastic, the hype and the manufactured hokum.
  2. Reviewed by: Jen Chaney
    Jan 6, 2011
    38
    Disjointed drama filled with one-dimensional characters and melodrama so Lifetime movie-esque that it careens into unintentional comedy.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jan 6, 2011
    30
    Country Strong comes to spontaneous life from time to time, despite maudlin devices and manipulative set pieces.
  4. Reviewed by: Karina Longworth
    Dec 24, 2010
    30
    Country Strong is sillier - and more tone-deaf - than Paltrow's advice website, GOOP.
  5. Reviewed by: Kirk Honeycutt
    Dec 22, 2010
    30
    Feste, who has one previous effort as a writer-director, last year's "The Greatest," fails here to do the most basic thing -- give an audience a rooting interest, or any interest at all, in these four troubled people.
  6. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jan 10, 2011
    25
    Country Strong is a country music melodrama, but I'm not sure which country.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jan 7, 2011
    25
    This lame-ass chick-flick sampling of "Crazy Heart" is more like country Kryptonite.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Jan 30, 2011
    10
    More tonally consistent than Black Swan or the Fighter, with a more optimistic and emotionally satisfying view of humanity than The Social Network or True Grit. This movie authentically believes that human beings - screwed up, damaged, imperfect creatures that we are - can be happy. That's an incredibly rare sentiment, not just in the movies, but in the world at large. We should celebrate it anytime it arrives - any time it is expressed, in a heartfelt, emotionally coherent way. This is a good film. You should see it. You probably wont. You'll probably go to one of the many high profile films being fawned over by the academy this season. They're all impressive - large, well engineered monstrosities with actors thinking and acting in ways that humans never think or act - and not one of them has the pure humanistic love that this film has for its characters and for people in general. Go see it. Full Review »
  2. Jan 17, 2011
    10
    I really enjoyed this movie. i mean its whatever you think but it was amazing to me & i read this other review that said city people did nt like it and i was like of course there not going to like it they are city people not country, the movie is COUNTRY strong not CITY strong. This movie is really good and its enjoyable. BEST MOVIE EVER YOU SHOULD GO SEE IT IF YOU HAVEN'T ! Full Review »
  3. Jan 10, 2011
    8
    I personally really enjoyed this movie. The acting was impressive, the music very good & the writing improved upon itself throughout the script... I appreciated that Leighton Meester's character had more than meets the eye in the end... Eager to download the soundtrack! Now that I've seen it for myself, I agree with Roger Ebert that ""Country Strong" is a throwback, a pure, heartfelt exercise in '50s social melodrama" & "Its emotions are strong and visible. Its motives are clear. Its music performances are so good, we wish they lasted longer." The metacritic rating for this film wasn't nearly as high as it should have been, but I guess worth is in the eye of the beholder and it a well-spent $12 for me! Full Review »