Country Strong

Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 30
  2. Negative: 7 out of 30

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    Jan 6, 2011
    75
    Country Strong rides pretty high in the saddle, confident in the remarkably realized world Feste has created for her characters.
  2. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Jan 4, 2011
    70
    Country Strong is a charmer that makes you forgive all of its false notes simply because the talent plays them with conviction.
  3. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Dec 22, 2010
    70
    That rare ensemble piece in which all four principals are not only compellingly drawn but handled with an astute sense of dramatic balance.
  4. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Jan 12, 2011
    67
    Hedlund's got a hell of a voice, rotgut-ragged, and whether he's crooning or wooing, whatever he's selling, and no matter how cornpone, I'm buying.
  5. Reviewed by: Carrie Rickey
    Jan 6, 2011
    63
    The glaring weakness of Country Strong is James, underwritten and ambiguous, more like Kelly's pimp than her manager.
  6. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jan 6, 2011
    63
    Country Strong is a throwback, a pure, heartfelt exercise in '50s social melodrama.
  7. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Dec 22, 2010
    63
    Country Strong feels powerfully familiar.
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Jan 30, 2011
    10
    More tonally consistent than Black Swan or the Fighter, with a more optimistic and emotionally satisfying view of humanity than The SocialMore tonally consistent than Black Swan or the Fighter, with a more optimistic and emotionally satisfying view of humanity than The Social Network or True Grit. This movie authentically believes that human beings - screwed up, damaged, imperfect creatures that we are - can be happy. That's an incredibly rare sentiment, not just in the movies, but in the world at large. We should celebrate it anytime it arrives - any time it is expressed, in a heartfelt, emotionally coherent way. This is a good film. You should see it. You probably wont. You'll probably go to one of the many high profile films being fawned over by the academy this season. They're all impressive - large, well engineered monstrosities with actors thinking and acting in ways that humans never think or act - and not one of them has the pure humanistic love that this film has for its characters and for people in general. Go see it. Full Review »
  2. Jan 17, 2011
    10
    I really enjoyed this movie. i mean its whatever you think but it was amazing to me & i read this other review that said city people did ntI really enjoyed this movie. i mean its whatever you think but it was amazing to me & i read this other review that said city people did nt like it and i was like of course there not going to like it they are city people not country, the movie is COUNTRY strong not CITY strong. This movie is really good and its enjoyable. BEST MOVIE EVER YOU SHOULD GO SEE IT IF YOU HAVEN'T ! Full Review »
  3. Jan 10, 2011
    8
    I personally really enjoyed this movie. The acting was impressive, the music very good & the writing improved upon itself throughout theI personally really enjoyed this movie. The acting was impressive, the music very good & the writing improved upon itself throughout the script... I appreciated that Leighton Meester's character had more than meets the eye in the end... Eager to download the soundtrack! Now that I've seen it for myself, I agree with Roger Ebert that ""Country Strong" is a throwback, a pure, heartfelt exercise in '50s social melodrama" & "Its emotions are strong and visible. Its motives are clear. Its music performances are so good, we wish they lasted longer." The metacritic rating for this film wasn't nearly as high as it should have been, but I guess worth is in the eye of the beholder and it a well-spent $12 for me! Full Review »