Screen Gems | Release Date: December 22, 2010
6.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 33 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
14
Mixed:
12
Negative:
7
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
SadyeJan 9, 2011
The highly anticipated Country Strong began in theatres everywhere on Jan. 7. Although a rather genuine motion picture as a whole, Country Strong certainly was not as strong as it seemed to be.
This particular film has many strong points as
The highly anticipated Country Strong began in theatres everywhere on Jan. 7. Although a rather genuine motion picture as a whole, Country Strong certainly was not as strong as it seemed to be.
This particular film has many strong points as it does weak. Many doubted that Gwyneth Paltrow could have portrayed the role of a drunken country-music star. Paltrow proved them wrong with a valid understanding of her character. Gossip Girl star, Leighton Meester proved herself with an unexpected voice that lifted the hearts of movie viewers. Garrett Hedlund, who also stars in Steven Lisbergerâ
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
HadassahJan 10, 2011
I personally really enjoyed this movie. The acting was impressive, the music very good & the writing improved upon itself throughout the script... I appreciated that Leighton Meester's character had more than meets the eye in the end...I personally really enjoyed this movie. The acting was impressive, the music very good & the writing improved upon itself throughout the script... I appreciated that Leighton Meester's character had more than meets the eye in the end... Eager to download the soundtrack! Now that I've seen it for myself, I agree with Roger Ebert that ""Country Strong" is a throwback, a pure, heartfelt exercise in '50s social melodrama" & "Its emotions are strong and visible. Its motives are clear. Its music performances are so good, we wish they lasted longer." The metacritic rating for this film wasn't nearly as high as it should have been, but I guess worth is in the eye of the beholder and it a well-spent $12 for me! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
JamesGatzJan 30, 2011
More tonally consistent than Black Swan or the Fighter, with a more optimistic and emotionally satisfying view of humanity than The Social Network or True Grit. This movie authentically believes that human beings - screwed up, damaged,More tonally consistent than Black Swan or the Fighter, with a more optimistic and emotionally satisfying view of humanity than The Social Network or True Grit. This movie authentically believes that human beings - screwed up, damaged, imperfect creatures that we are - can be happy. That's an incredibly rare sentiment, not just in the movies, but in the world at large. We should celebrate it anytime it arrives - any time it is expressed, in a heartfelt, emotionally coherent way. This is a good film. You should see it. You probably wont. You'll probably go to one of the many high profile films being fawned over by the academy this season. They're all impressive - large, well engineered monstrosities with actors thinking and acting in ways that humans never think or act - and not one of them has the pure humanistic love that this film has for its characters and for people in general. Go see it. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
londaanmarie88Jan 17, 2011
I really enjoyed this movie. i mean its whatever you think but it was amazing to me & i read this other review that said city people did nt like it and i was like of course there not going to like it they are city people not country, theI really enjoyed this movie. i mean its whatever you think but it was amazing to me & i read this other review that said city people did nt like it and i was like of course there not going to like it they are city people not country, the movie is COUNTRY strong not CITY strong. This movie is really good and its enjoyable. BEST MOVIE EVER YOU SHOULD GO SEE IT IF YOU HAVEN'T ! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
AddieLaurennJan 17, 2011
Bestt Moviee everr !! This moviee is thaa bestt aroundd ! I lovee it soo muchh i went to see it last nightt at 7:05 ! i wanted it to go onn foreverr !! it was sadd yett amazingg !! this is deff a moviee to rememberr ! no matter whatt youuBestt Moviee everr !! This moviee is thaa bestt aroundd ! I lovee it soo muchh i went to see it last nightt at 7:05 ! i wanted it to go onn foreverr !! it was sadd yett amazingg !! this is deff a moviee to rememberr ! no matter whatt youu need to see thiss moviee !! this is mostt deff thaa bestt moviee outt !! i havent seen a moviee as GREATT as thiss onee !!! i wishh i couldd watch it agiann or theyy couldd make a partt twoo and thats somthinn i would wanna go see and trustt mehh i suree would go to see itt !!!! i cantt even sayy how AWSOMEE thatt moviee wass !! i freakinn LOVEDD ITT !!!! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
AlphaGrizApr 21, 2011
While not a masterpiece, this is a solid movie. Gwyneth Paltrow, a very under-rated actor, is convincing in showing the fragility, vulnerability of a country star is who is barely holding it together. Story line could be cliche, but hasWhile not a masterpiece, this is a solid movie. Gwyneth Paltrow, a very under-rated actor, is convincing in showing the fragility, vulnerability of a country star is who is barely holding it together. Story line could be cliche, but has enough twists and humanity to keep it interesting. While no Walk the Line (which was a great movie), I enjoyed this at least as much as Crazy Heart. However, I give an "F" to the brain-dead movie critics who dissed this film. It did nothing to merit these attacks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GarrettTannerFeb 7, 2011
I must admit that I am not a huge fan of country music.

I do appreciate a good story even if it is about such a subject, but â
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews