User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 27
  2. Negative: 7 out of 27

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 17, 2011
    10
    I really enjoyed this movie. i mean its whatever you think but it was amazing to me & i read this other review that said city people did nt like it and i was like of course there not going to like it they are city people not country, the movie is COUNTRY strong not CITY strong. This movie is really good and its enjoyable. BEST MOVIE EVER YOU SHOULD GO SEE IT IF YOU HAVEN'T !
  2. Jan 30, 2011
    10
    More tonally consistent than Black Swan or the Fighter, with a more optimistic and emotionally satisfying view of humanity than The Social Network or True Grit. This movie authentically believes that human beings - screwed up, damaged, imperfect creatures that we are - can be happy. That's an incredibly rare sentiment, not just in the movies, but in the world at large. We should celebrate it anytime it arrives - any time it is expressed, in a heartfelt, emotionally coherent way. This is a good film. You should see it. You probably wont. You'll probably go to one of the many high profile films being fawned over by the academy this season. They're all impressive - large, well engineered monstrosities with actors thinking and acting in ways that humans never think or act - and not one of them has the pure humanistic love that this film has for its characters and for people in general. Go see it. Expand
  3. Jan 17, 2011
    10
    Bestt Moviee everr !! This moviee is thaa bestt aroundd ! I lovee it soo muchh i went to see it last nightt at 7:05 ! i wanted it to go onn foreverr !! it was sadd yett amazingg !! this is deff a moviee to rememberr ! no matter whatt youu need to see thiss moviee !! this is mostt deff thaa bestt moviee outt !! i havent seen a moviee as GREATT as thiss onee !!! i wishh i couldd watch it agiann or theyy couldd make a partt twoo and thats somthinn i would wanna go see and trustt mehh i suree would go to see itt !!!! i cantt even sayy how AWSOMEE thatt moviee wass !! i freakinn LOVEDD ITT !!!! Expand
  4. Apr 21, 2011
    9
    While not a masterpiece, this is a solid movie. Gwyneth Paltrow, a very under-rated actor, is convincing in showing the fragility, vulnerability of a country star is who is barely holding it together. Story line could be cliche, but has enough twists and humanity to keep it interesting. While no Walk the Line (which was a great movie), I enjoyed this at least as much as Crazy Heart. However, I give an "F" to the brain-dead movie critics who dissed this film. It did nothing to merit these attacks. Expand
  5. Feb 7, 2011
    10
    I must admit that I am not a huge fan of country music.

    I do appreciate a good story even if it is about such a subject, but â
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 30
  2. Negative: 7 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Simond Braund
    Mar 21, 2011
    60
    C&W lovers will lap it up - look out for some stellar Nashville cameos - and there's big-lunged uplift to see you through the cornball plot turns.
  2. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Jan 12, 2011
    67
    Hedlund's got a hell of a voice, rotgut-ragged, and whether he's crooning or wooing, whatever he's selling, and no matter how cornpone, I'm buying.
  3. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jan 12, 2011
    50
    In Country Strong, the Oscar-winning Paltrow gets upstaged and outacted by the kid from "Tron" and the snotty brat from "Gossip Girl." Who'd have thought?