Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Oct 2, 2011
    70
    Moviegoers devoted to faith-based fare will flock to megaplexes for Courageous, easily the most polished production so far from brothers Alex and Stephen Kendrick, the prolific and increasingly accomplished filmmaking pastors at the Sherwood Church of Albany, Ga.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Sep 28, 2011
    38
    The message delivered isn't subtle, with Kendrick delivering toss-away lines that suggest he doesn't even tolerate "the option" of divorce. But the bigger message might be that the Kendricks haven't sold out, "gone Hollywood" or watered down their Baptist beliefs based on efforts to reach an audience beyond the faithful.
  3. Reviewed by: Paul Brunick
    Oct 4, 2011
    50
    For now, though, Mr. Kendrick will have to settle for being a good enough filmmaker, content to preach to the choir.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Oct 4, 2011
    50
    For all Kendrick's stolidity, he delivers a couple of wrenchingly tender scenes.
  5. Reviewed by: Keith Staskiewicz
    Oct 4, 2011
    50
    How you like Courageous - an overtly Christian-targeted production about four police officers learning lessons about God and family - will likely mirror how you view church: It's either an overlong ordeal filled with talky sermonizing or an uplifting communion with your deity and values.
  6. Reviewed by: Gary Goldstein
    Oct 4, 2011
    40
    Courageous, proves a particularly clunky, tunnel-visioned vehicle whose overbearing, overlong script nearly smothers the movie's quibble-free message.
  7. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Oct 1, 2011
    30
    Borderline creepy, Courageous endlessly expounds on the importance of God in men's lives but fails to answer the more pressing question of why religious sagas such as this treat subtlety as a sin.
  8. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Oct 1, 2011
    33
    Courageous literally preaches to the converted, delivering ham-fisted messages of responsibility to the most receptive audience possible.
  9. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Oct 1, 2011
    70
    Courageous reveals the duo's growing expertise as filmmakers with its skillful blending of moving drama, subtle comedy and several impressive action sequences, including a well-staged foot chase and a harrowing shootout between the cops and bad guys.
  10. Reviewed by: Ed Gonzalez
    Sep 30, 2011
    50
    Even the logos for the companies involved in its making (Sherwood Films and Affirm Films) and distribution (TriStar Pictures) scream that this will be a message from on high.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 34
  2. Negative: 3 out of 34
  1. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    I read the reviewers comments and found them unrealistic and petty. Even stupid in a few cases. This is a movie with no big names out of nowhere. Our theater was busy so we chose this movie..... and glad we did. If this doesn't make you think, like a few of the critics did not, then you are already a lost cause.

    It is rare to hear applauding at then end of a movie, but there was that and cheering.

    This movie is more a call to arms for parents to start being parents again, like 25 years ago. Not let the government raise out kids, but us. And I think our society would be a better place if this was a required show for all high school teachers and students.

    Yes, it talks about religion as its base for responsibility, but that facet can be replaced by anything. It is about the need to raise our kids and ourselves responsibly. With any foundation you think is necessary. This makes you reevaluate your life to day, and the going forward.

    This is about taking control of ourselves, raising our kids responsibly, and being there. Pure and simple.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 30, 2011
    10
    How refreshing to get a positive message from a movie? This movie accurately describes how men are in the western world. This movie gives hope and inspires how men/father's should resemble our heavenly father. Full Review »
  3. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    If anyone is not totally touched by this movie, then you need exactly what this movie is teaching. This movie is powerful & eye opening. I notice some people bashing on the acting. But ya know, those people are missing the point this movie is trying to make. It's not suppose to be about the acting (although I thought they did a pretty darn good job). It's suppose to be about the message. God is the perfect father & although no human is perfect because God made us the way we are, it is still our responsibility to follow him & do as he asks. Try our best to be the best we can be. God gave his only son to die for OUR sins! That's amazing! Could you do that? You dont have to! Because Jesus took that for you! That is something none of us could ever completely fathom. You may call it "Jesus freak" or whatever your term for it may be, but I call it following my father who loves me unconditionally. And I plan to show my children that same devotion & to continue to follow my Lord & Savior. Thank you Lord for all the blessings you bestow on me & for sending your only son to die for MY sin. I can never fully repay you but I will spend my life trying nonetheless. I love you Lord. Amen. Full Review »