Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Feb 27, 2014
    100
    Cousin Jules is one of those rare experiences that’s rooted in the past yet feels very much of the moment. On top of that, it’s timeless.
  2. Reviewed by: Diana Drumm
    Dec 9, 2013
    91
    After years of being a long-lost gem, Cousin Jules has finally been found and is receiving its due as an innovative, meditative case study of rural life.
  3. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Nov 26, 2013
    90
    Rescued from decay after the director's 2011 death and looking radiant in a 2K restoration, this quiet gem is a time capsule whose potential audience may be small, but will be transported.
  4. Reviewed by: Farran Smith Nehme
    Nov 27, 2013
    88
    It only seems plotless. Momentous things happen, one of them tele­graphed in a single heartbreaking shot. The sense of time and place is so intense that Jules’ way of life seems to be disappearing even as we watch him.
  5. Reviewed by: Jesse Cataldo
    Nov 26, 2013
    88
    It's a bit reductive in terms of a personal portrait, but this is a film that's not concerned with telling the story of a man, instead making him a representative symbol of a mostly bygone way of life, a reminder of both the fleeting nature of individual experience and the steady patterns of a broader human existence.
  6. Reviewed by: Ronnie Scheib
    Dec 3, 2013
    80
    Yet even as the timelessness of the human activity on display seduces with its serenity, it evokes in modern viewers a definite impatience with the impracticality of traditional rites and rhythms, perhaps only enjoyable in 90-minute doses.
  7. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Nov 26, 2013
    80
    For 91 minutes, the pleasure of the Guiteauxes’ company is ours. We are ultimately the richer for it.
  8. Reviewed by: Zachary Wigon
    Nov 26, 2013
    80
    Thoroughly transporting, the peacefulness and clarity of Cousin Jules can't help but reveal, by contrast, the restlessness and agitation too common to life today.
  9. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Nov 26, 2013
    70
    As director Dominique Benicheti invites the audience to contemplate this way of life—and that’s all the film seeks to accomplish, which is plenty—he reveals the virtues of simplicity, routine, and quietly communing with the natural world.
  10. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Nov 26, 2013
    60
    Cousin Jules is in many ways a wonder to see and hear, but there is less to it than meets the eye.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. May 15, 2014
    9
    Cousin Jules is the story of life of a couple living in a rural place where they are busy living their mundane and uneventful lives. Nothing interesting happens around them, nobody visits them, and nothing changes. They do the most menial tasks and the most joyous parts of their life seems to be drinking coffee together.

    The movie is mostly dialogue-free but not boring. You always want to see what happens next. You are constantly craving for a change in their lives. When the husband shaves in front of a mirror, you start to think that maybe a guest would come or he would go to visit a friend. But nothing happens. Shaving is just another routine task that he does everyday.

    Cousin Jules is a timeless reflect on our live. It is a touch on what it means to be a human, why life is worth living. We may live in a more modern time compared to the old couple in this movie but we are not much different from them anyway. We get up every morning like them, groom, prepare food, eat, work, and eat everyday. What do we do compared to this old couple that makes our lives more meaningful?
    Full Review »