User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 4 out of 12

Where To Watch

Buy On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. JohnS
    Oct 16, 2005
    10
    If you are looking for mainstream mindless formulaic predicable and familiar, don't rent this movie. It is a true piece of original art. It is hyponotic and brilliniant, and even profound in points. But mostly its a fun experiment that works on all levels. I liked it more than "Saddest Music" too. But these movies should come with warnings. "If you are really concrete minded, you If you are looking for mainstream mindless formulaic predicable and familiar, don't rent this movie. It is a true piece of original art. It is hyponotic and brilliniant, and even profound in points. But mostly its a fun experiment that works on all levels. I liked it more than "Saddest Music" too. But these movies should come with warnings. "If you are really concrete minded, you should rent something else. Stick to mainstream Hollywood products." Expand
  2. VinceH.
    Aug 13, 2004
    10
    This film recalls to me the films of David Lynch, Von Sternberg, Louis Feuillade while at the same time being entirely Maddin. I liked this film far more than "Saddest Music...", which is saying a lot because that's one of my fav movies this year. Since "Twilight of the Ice Nymphs", generally considered his weakest work, Maddin has been on an extraodinary creative and artistic streak This film recalls to me the films of David Lynch, Von Sternberg, Louis Feuillade while at the same time being entirely Maddin. I liked this film far more than "Saddest Music...", which is saying a lot because that's one of my fav movies this year. Since "Twilight of the Ice Nymphs", generally considered his weakest work, Maddin has been on an extraodinary creative and artistic streak with "Dracula", "Saddest" and now "Cowards" (which was actually made last year). Expand
  3. [Anonymous]
    Oct 7, 2005
    5
    I can honestly understand people hating this film. But I will only refund 1 hour of life per viewer... considering that is how long the movie is.
  4. JohnD.
    Nov 29, 2005
    4
    I clearly agree that the director is quite talented and his talent for handling images shows. However, after about 10 minutes I was bored and stayed that way for the full hour. It was a long hour. I just can't recommend this to anyone.
  5. LisaM
    Aug 14, 2004
    0
    I want the two hours of my life back.
  6. JohnK.
    Feb 16, 2005
    0
    Pretentious rubbish. I agree with Lisa although I didn't wait for the end.
  7. ChrisB
    Jan 12, 2006
    0
    Maybe the critics from the Village Voice, New York Daily News, etc. find "Cowards Bend the Knee" new and interesting, but as a former Toronto art school student let me assure you it isn't. Every student art film in Toronto is a combination of two or more of the ingredients that Maddin uses; grainy black and white film stock, unnecessary nudity, emotionally uncomfortable scenes, and Maybe the critics from the Village Voice, New York Daily News, etc. find "Cowards Bend the Knee" new and interesting, but as a former Toronto art school student let me assure you it isn't. Every student art film in Toronto is a combination of two or more of the ingredients that Maddin uses; grainy black and white film stock, unnecessary nudity, emotionally uncomfortable scenes, and stilted acting. Just because it's boring and uncomfortable doesn't make it good. Expand
  8. TrikoD.
    Oct 21, 2005
    0
    This is exactly what I've known all along. The movie critics are actually theater critics who sleep with William Shakespeare under the pillow. Those critics who somehow made this movie to get over 80points don't really know why they're movie critics and out of bitterness try to fool everyone by giving a crack-addicts picasso-rape good points. Just because "simpletons" This is exactly what I've known all along. The movie critics are actually theater critics who sleep with William Shakespeare under the pillow. Those critics who somehow made this movie to get over 80points don't really know why they're movie critics and out of bitterness try to fool everyone by giving a crack-addicts picasso-rape good points. Just because "simpletons" can't argue with critics-higher knowledge. They naturally know art where they see it. From here on out, I'll just read the "amateur" comments since they're obviously more realibable than a critic lying to pay his rent. Expand

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. The overall feel is phantasmagoric--pitched, like most of Maddin's work, in the style of a half-remembered late silent feature or early talkie.
  2. 80
    Abortion, incest, infidelity, revenge, and hockey collide at a fever pitch, juxtaposed with such frantic energy that they're pushed to the level of high comedy, funniest at its most dramatic.
  3. Reviewed by: Ronnie Scheib
    80
    Ultimately, psychotically inventive pic is a formidable addition to the ever-evolving Maddin oeuvre.