User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 158 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 158

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 26, 2014
    6
    Chev Chelios is arguably Jason Statham's best known character and Crank is arguably his best known film, but it is far from his best film. Chev Chelios (Statham) is a gun for hire, who will work for anyone who can pay him. One day he wakes up in a daze and finds a video in which a former employer tells him, that he poisoned him with a rare adrenaline inhibitor, which will kill him in a few hours. Chelios goes out seeking revenge, but must keep his adrenaline pumping, in order to slow the poison down. It's a strange story, but as usual, Statham is terrific, playing his most extreme character. Chelios is a crazy man who goes to extremes, however that's all this film has to offer. Non-stop action can sometimes be fun, but when it's the same thing repeating over and over again for 90 minutes, even the biggest action fan gets tired of it. Statham is paired with Amy Smart who starred in my favorite movie of all-time, The Butterfly Effect, and surprisingly she was terrible! She plays Chelios's girlfriend, a girl who is as dumb as dirt and who follows this crazy man blindly through the city on his hunt for revenge. Crank has some humor and a terrific leading man, but unfortunately, there isn't much of story. Besides Statham's well known one-liners and his ridiculous moves, there is really nothing to see here. Crank is one of those films that starts out strong and then just never goes anywhere. Having seen a lot of Statham's movies lately, I was hoping his best known film would be his most exciting, but it wasn't. It's the same scene repeated many times over, and I was tired of it after a half hour. Expand
  2. Dec 1, 2013
    8
    From the beginning to the end, Crank is like a 90 minutes trip on something. Neither does it deliver complex characters nor a deep plot but it is very entertaining and fun to watch.
  3. Sep 26, 2013
    8
    A pure adrenaline rush from beginning to end, this movie never stops moving! The director definitely succeeded in what he set out to do in making this movie, and the result is one of the fastest-paced movies in the history of cinema. Statham definitely pulls off a showy performance, but he goes above and beyond with his role. His adrenaline fix gets so bad he starts doing some unspeakable things in the middle of Chinatown (those who have seen the movie will understand what I'm talking about), and well beyond that. When you finish watching this movie, you will want to see it again sometime, because your head was spinning so fast the first. Expand
  4. Aug 25, 2013
    7
    Crank is a very funny, extremely over-the-top action comedy. Jason Statham is on top form here and the movie entertains throughout. Usually, I steer clear of B-movie action garbage, but Crank and it's sequel truly turn that stuff into gold.
  5. Jan 31, 2013
    9
    Crank is fun and fast movie. Lots of action and bit of humor, it's a great experience. I will watch this movie over and over again :D Really great movie!
  6. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    This movie is almost enlightening. Everything is done in absolute excess - the action is not only fast-paced and non-stop, but also absurd to the point of laughter. Action flick tropes are exploited to the point of parody, and calling the intended humor "blue" or "dark" would be an understatement - jokes aren't just in poor taste, they're completely taboo. Add another brilliantly deadpan performance by Jason Statham and frantic, almost schizophrenic editing, and it's a befuddling, brilliant mess of movie bliss. Expand
  7. Jul 4, 2012
    7
    This is a good action movie with a pretty basic concept, but entertaining (read: not thinking involved). Visually entertaining I think these films epitomize Stratham's "acting." I do not think the sequel is a good as this one.
  8. May 20, 2012
    8
    This movie is basically fun, mindless entertainment. It is unexpectedly funny and has stylish cinematography and over-the-top action scenes. Silly action movie done good.
  9. Dec 26, 2011
    8
    This movie is fairly interesting. Having had late night anxiety attacks at one point in my life - I totally know what Crank intended to be depicting with the constant need of adrenaline activity to keep yourself going. Although I have to say without Statham this movie would be nothing but a joke.
  10. Nov 19, 2011
    8
    Actually pretty good for the most part. Takes a little bit to get into but its a good action flick that offers something original and its well worth watching
  11. Sep 7, 2011
    0
    Horrible. Absolutely horrible. I've seen amateur pornography with better writing and acting, and at least then I got to see more than a nipple slip. The fight scenes aren't even good.
  12. Mar 2, 2011
    10
    One of the greatest Jason Statham movies ever!!! The concept is brilliant, just staying alive from a poison by making your heart go faster and your adrenaline pumping. There needs to be more movies like this.
  13. Dec 23, 2010
    8
    This movie surprised me. While it was every bit, the guilty pleasure I had imagined, it was also quite entertaining with regard to the cinematography. What I would normally find cheap actually seemed somewhat artful. The pacing was great and the movie was hilarious.
  14. Aug 27, 2010
    6
    On one hand, you have to admire the filmmakers for keeping up with such a crazy storyline (almost to the point of Loony-Tunes cartoon-making), but on the other hand you have to question the necessity of having such an adrenaline charged "plot" to start with. Either way, it's a 1984-esque foyer into the desensitized future of film-making, so you better enjoy the ride while it lasts....
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Nick De Semlyen
    80
    A Saw for the action crowd, this is an intense, stripped-down ride that goes places you’d never expect. Edgy and outrageous, it should get the fearless Statham some deserved attention.
  2. So blatantly contrived it could be called The Fast and the Spurious, Crank has the small saving grace of being intentionally ridiculous. The action sequences are more notable for their outrageousness than their visceral power.
  3. Reviewed by: Ken Fox
    50
    The whole thing whizzes by in such a panicked rush that there's no time for anything so immaterial as character, but what little we do learn about Chev works against the film.