Lions Gate Films | Release Date: May 6, 2005
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 586 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
520
Mixed:
32
Negative:
34
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
6
MikeOMay 26, 2005
Think "Magnolia" remade as a message movie. Great acting, stunning coincidences, but ultimately unconvincing. Go see it anyways just so you can have a discussion on race with your friends.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MikeEAug 19, 2005
Don't believe the hype. Too many contrived, over the top storylines that end up fitting together like a mismatched puzzle. If you enjoy film, you've already seen this movie, and you've seen it executed flawlessly (Magnolia, Don't believe the hype. Too many contrived, over the top storylines that end up fitting together like a mismatched puzzle. If you enjoy film, you've already seen this movie, and you've seen it executed flawlessly (Magnolia, Traffic, 13 Conversations About One Thing come to mind). All this collective human tragedy, frustration and misery comes off flat, and with this cast, it's a shame. I think this quote summarizes it, Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JimS.May 11, 2005
What thoughts were provoked? Did people honestly think different about race relations after seeing this movie? A lot of surface and knee-jerk feelings were touched, but nothing really made an impact on me. Good casting, though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JoeA.May 22, 2005
I wanted to like this movie more, but couldn't get myself to. The best likeness I can give is opening up a fortune cookie with no fortune inside. Makes 'ya feel like you've been left high n' dry.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
carolinee.May 23, 2005
A story with ambition & strong acting is marred by implausible behavior on the part of the film's characters, windy speechmaking, & ham-handed points about human nature. A disappointment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SeanC.May 25, 2005
Good messages and ideas but it tends to lack the emotions that tugged my heart in the way-too-similar Magnolia.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
garrettp.May 28, 2005
All I can say is it's amazing how people can come away wtih such different impressions fo the same movie. The acting was top-notch, and that's about the extent of the good part of this contrived wanna-be deep-thinker. The All I can say is it's amazing how people can come away wtih such different impressions fo the same movie. The acting was top-notch, and that's about the extent of the good part of this contrived wanna-be deep-thinker. The unrealistic nature of the scenes and ridiculous coincidences were over-the-top. There were so many technical flaws in the plot that I can't nearly cover them all heren to list them here. Just stupid writing e.g.why would the hitchhiker delay mentioning that he had the budha in his pocket when asked why he was laughing. Please! Maybe I'm too literal, and I'll say right now that I don't like sci-fi at all, (not that this is sci-fi at all, but I just don't suspend disbelief well.) How this could be rated by anyone to be one of the best movies in years is mind-boggling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
hampusforevFeb 23, 2011
I think the negative reviewers are a little harsh, I wouldn't call it racist by any stretch of the imagination. But cliched as all hell? Yeah. This is typical hollywood masquerading, trying to be deep and meaningful. Lacks Robert AltmansI think the negative reviewers are a little harsh, I wouldn't call it racist by any stretch of the imagination. But cliched as all hell? Yeah. This is typical hollywood masquerading, trying to be deep and meaningful. Lacks Robert Altmans subtle weird humanism in Short Cuts. Plagued by white guilt, the movie runs the complicated issue of race through Hollywoods dreaded machinery of doom, leaving just scraps of brilliant acting and dialogue submerged in a mire of annoyingly coincidental plotpoints. Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
4
j30Nov 9, 2011
Not a great film. Mediocre at best. Brings up some important points and is powerful in some scenes, but too much filler and way too preachy. Maybe some better actors/actresses would help (Sandra Bullock, Ludacris and Brendan Fraser come on!).Not a great film. Mediocre at best. Brings up some important points and is powerful in some scenes, but too much filler and way too preachy. Maybe some better actors/actresses would help (Sandra Bullock, Ludacris and Brendan Fraser come on!). Micheal Pena is the soul of the movie and carries the weight of the film. I'm sorry, Brokeback was a better film and even Munich was better. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
5
GraemeHigginsonJul 6, 2012
"Crash" by Paul Haggis is a film with a terrible sense of scope and content. It
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
4
sanyrubJan 21, 2013
It´s not the worst film ever. It has certain moments in which it wants to be a great film. There are some good performances. But everything is so contrived, laughable, some scenes made the theater laugh when I saw it back in the day. IfIt´s not the worst film ever. It has certain moments in which it wants to be a great film. There are some good performances. But everything is so contrived, laughable, some scenes made the theater laugh when I saw it back in the day. If there´s a big mistake in the history of the oscar awards it has to be this film winning Best Picture. Clearly a strange fix cos Brokeback Mountain got Best Director few seconds before. I remember all critics in Spain saying "What?" All the other 4 nominees were so above this film, especially Munich and Brokeback mountain
The issues here discussed have been many times addressed before, only that 10 times better. Forgettable film, in fact nobody remembers it now compared to other films from that same year
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews