Lions Gate Films | Release Date: May 6, 2005
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 606 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
536
Mixed:
34
Negative:
36
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
KevinC.May 31, 2005
Sometimes I wonder if we're all talking about the same movie. There were only a few slip-ups (literally, when referring to Bullock's hokey slow-mo fall) and the biggest thing you can fault Crash for is ripping off Magnolia (right Sometimes I wonder if we're all talking about the same movie. There were only a few slip-ups (literally, when referring to Bullock's hokey slow-mo fall) and the biggest thing you can fault Crash for is ripping off Magnolia (right down to the precipatation and girl-on-piano soundtrack at the end). However, at least Crash didn't take 3+ hours to tell its story and packed just as much - or more - emotional punch. I cannot stop thinking about this film, it's just fantastic and worth every dollar of admission (as a bonus, you won't have to wait in long lines of Star Wars fans). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarcK.Jun 12, 2005
I guess many found similarites to this movie and "Magnolia," but I didn't. I see the similarity to "Grand Canyon," and I'll throw in another film that this reminded me of: "13 Conversations About One Thing." The Positives: I guess many found similarites to this movie and "Magnolia," but I didn't. I see the similarity to "Grand Canyon," and I'll throw in another film that this reminded me of: "13 Conversations About One Thing." The Positives: Tremendous performances by all. Such interesting stories that it's one of the few films I think I've ever seen that I wished could have went on for another half hour or so. The Big Negative:: Overplaying the "racism is a part of our society" angle. Definitely a white liberal's version of race in America, with tinges of Spike Lee thrown in. Had "the race card" been handled with a bit more subtley, I would probably have thought this one of the best films of the year. Instead, it's a big disappointment on what could have been. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JulienC.Jun 12, 2005
This is a great movie, on of those that let you thinking during the credits. you have to go see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanC.Jun 18, 2005
This is a fantastic, satisfying, challenging film for people who like character and dialogue over car chases and shoot outs. I was deeply moved several times, without ever feeling manipulated. Don Cheadle is one of the finest actors in film This is a fantastic, satisfying, challenging film for people who like character and dialogue over car chases and shoot outs. I was deeply moved several times, without ever feeling manipulated. Don Cheadle is one of the finest actors in film today and shows it here. Matt Dillon is superb as a bad guy whose badness is explained, if not justified. I was transported and enthralled by this film. A real achievement. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeJun 22, 2005
Really is one of the most heart-wrenching films i've ever seen. Everyone I know absolutely loved it. We're all professors and college students in Pa, maybe geographical location does play some role in whether or not you will like Really is one of the most heart-wrenching films i've ever seen. Everyone I know absolutely loved it. We're all professors and college students in Pa, maybe geographical location does play some role in whether or not you will like the movie. Over-all, you need to watch it and decide for yourself. I hope you do see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GaryJun 24, 2005
Surreal in a Magnolias sort of way. A clever commentary on all the hate in the world.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mathewd.Jun 24, 2005
Best movie so far this year, great script. people that gave this a bad review, all i can say is the truth hurts. sometimes when you put racism in fron of the screen it definitely strikes a nerve.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LlilaclilyS.Jun 25, 2005
What an awesome movie. I came in kicking and screaming thinking it was going to be about car chases. It is not often one comes out different after watching a movie than when they came in. This is one that every person should see. The only What an awesome movie. I came in kicking and screaming thinking it was going to be about car chases. It is not often one comes out different after watching a movie than when they came in. This is one that every person should see. The only other movie that has dealt with bigotry as honestly is Spike Lee's movie. You think you know what will happen and then it surprises you. It is not flawless, but the subject is so good and its brutally honest with whites, blacks, Chinese Spanish. No one gets spared. Should have been in my sociology class. It does not come down only on whites or only on blacks but reflects what many people are thinking but do not say outloud to anyone but "their own kind." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BradAJul 11, 2005
Very thought provoking movie that demonstrates how distrusting and misinformed people can be about others from differing ethnic backgrounds. It still shows there is a great ethnic divide in this country.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
gemmaAug 13, 2005
I watched this movie last night and i thought it was really good,its well worth watching but the ending is abit dsappointing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JOEB.Aug 15, 2005
Simply the best screen play I have experienced in a very long time. If you love David Mamet, wait till you witness the dialogue in this crisp and honest portral of my home town.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GarethC.Aug 16, 2005
A good drama, but not great. Definitely worth a watch, but could wait for dvd. Quite a good script - refreshing change from the big CG focused blockbusters - but too contrived. I mostly enjoyed it, but found some of the contrived scenes too A good drama, but not great. Definitely worth a watch, but could wait for dvd. Quite a good script - refreshing change from the big CG focused blockbusters - but too contrived. I mostly enjoyed it, but found some of the contrived scenes too much. Some people will be insulted or offended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelDNMar 3, 2015
People are judging this movie for the wrong reasons. I usually hate when people say something like, "If you didn't like this movie, you didn't understand it," but I'm actually reading the reasons people don't like, and they seem to indicatePeople are judging this movie for the wrong reasons. I usually hate when people say something like, "If you didn't like this movie, you didn't understand it," but I'm actually reading the reasons people don't like, and they seem to indicate just that. They say the message is obvious, and then they go on to say the message is that racism is bad. That's not the message. It's already assumed that racism is bad. The movie is pointing out where it exists in seemingly normal circumstances. It challenges the viewer to question how they would've handled certain situations; if they would've been as prejudiced as the characters. The dialogue is thought provoking and interesting. Some say it isn't natural, but neither is Shakespearean dialogue, or the characters singing conversations in movies. It's used to challenge the viewer, and to make them think about important issues that we don't think about. It's not just racism, it's the details of racism's effect on various different people. The discussions may not be natural, but they're based on very real issues.

The movie is also, as Ebert said as well, more about ideas than people. For those who want more character depth, it's not really about the people themselves, but about how people in general are conditioned by society to handle certain situations. It's better that the people be as generic as possible, to show that the way they're acting isn't because of their specific personalities, it's because they are normal people, acting as an average person would. It challenges you to question yourself, instead of showing you a person who has a specific personality that is nothing like yours. Basically, this movie is good in a way that doesn't follow the formula of what traditionally makes a movie good. That's why people have a problem with it. The use of connecting the storylines is not just made for poignancy, it's to show how closely we are connected to each other; how our thoughts and actions have effects on people, and we don't even realize it. It's about how society's views creep so easily into our minds and become our own views, without us thinking anything of it. And to the person who said this writer is in high school, no. He's actually a three time nominee for writing. Two of his movies one Best Picture, another was nominated, and two others got rave reviews and made a ton of critics' lists. He knows what he's doing, even if some people don't understand it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeAug 25, 2014
A dark depiction of tense clashes of culture throughout Los Angeles on any given night. Crash is notable in connecting each of its over-populated cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
StaticSpineMar 28, 2014
This movie doesn't have a general plot, instead it has a lot of entwining sub-plots connecting through many characters, who meet each other in different circumstances. The central theme of all the sub-stories is racial prejudices in modernThis movie doesn't have a general plot, instead it has a lot of entwining sub-plots connecting through many characters, who meet each other in different circumstances. The central theme of all the sub-stories is racial prejudices in modern USA society. The whole movie concept reminds me of Magnolia. Overall, the movie is too pretentious at times, but still good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TrilobiteGJul 14, 2016
Crash leaves some things unsolved, perhaps some things are missing which needed to be added. But it delivers a harsh yet truthful message on racism and other hints of issues in the U.S.A such as healthcare and firearms policies. A relativelyCrash leaves some things unsolved, perhaps some things are missing which needed to be added. But it delivers a harsh yet truthful message on racism and other hints of issues in the U.S.A such as healthcare and firearms policies. A relatively heart-pounding feat which gets better as it progresses. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ExKingApr 25, 2013
crash is an amazing movie amazing writing spectacular screenplay and most off all an astonishing performances by everyone i love the story behind it and one of my all time favorite movies hell i found Sandra Bullock great and i don't evencrash is an amazing movie amazing writing spectacular screenplay and most off all an astonishing performances by everyone i love the story behind it and one of my all time favorite movies hell i found Sandra Bullock great and i don't even like her that shows how the director can control a movie acting quality from zero to perfect level. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
russiangamerMay 20, 2017
Куча историй разных слоёв общества, вроде бы такая подача и в год выхода фильма была не нова, но даже сейчас всё действо смотрится на одном дыхании. Но, всё же, я в тот год отдал бы оскар "Горбатой горе", но это уже личное предпочтение.
Итог:
Куча историй разных слоёв общества, вроде бы такая подача и в год выхода фильма была не нова, но даже сейчас всё действо смотрится на одном дыхании. Но, всё же, я в тот год отдал бы оскар "Горбатой горе", но это уже личное предпочтение.
Итог: Замечательный фильм, держит в напряжении и поднимает некоторые важные вопросы.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
geo333Feb 19, 2016
Very well driven drama that has a touchy subject, that leaves the viewer with something to think about and waiting for more. Overall,a great film about everyday life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CinemaphileJul 29, 2016
Crash is a film that is as relevant now as it is as it was twelve years ago. Though the premise is pure contrivance, it's a epic one which begs for suspended disbelief. Paul Haggis cleverly paints stereotypical portraits of this film'sCrash is a film that is as relevant now as it is as it was twelve years ago. Though the premise is pure contrivance, it's a epic one which begs for suspended disbelief. Paul Haggis cleverly paints stereotypical portraits of this film's multiple protagonists using the prejudices and preconceptions of those who surround them, only to then turn the audience into confidants, revealing key details of the protagonists' lives unknown to those in the story. Those intimate details and the "seemingly" random, sometimes violent interactions of the main players, oddly draw the audience in closer, created a sense of connectedness and community where one doesn't appear to exist.

Crash is a cautiously optimistic film and an uplifting film without the traditional high fructose Hollywood corn syrup. Yes, there are a few implausible moments, but they aren't Indiana Jones Nuke The Fridge moments, they are purposeful and meaningful.

Catch it if you haven't, it might change your karma, pun intended.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews