Lions Gate Films | Release Date: May 6, 2005
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 602 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
532
Mixed:
34
Negative:
36
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
DavidMMay 25, 2005
Crash is a powerful, emotionally wrenching film. It's about how people can be racist without realizing it, or even wanting to, because it has become a part of society. "Duh..." you say? "Why make an ugly movie about racism?" You have Crash is a powerful, emotionally wrenching film. It's about how people can be racist without realizing it, or even wanting to, because it has become a part of society. "Duh..." you say? "Why make an ugly movie about racism?" You have just answered your own question--because we gloss over racism nowadays. Instead of celebrating our differences as diversity, we use them to keep anyone "not of our kind" at arm's length. All of the characters in this movie are flawed human beings, with their own backgrounds, motivations and fears. We see them "crash" into each other, unaware (or unwilling to be aware) of how we are all connected as a society. The behavior and actions of each character has far-reaching effects into the lives of the other characters who then are in a position to effect them back. Ultimately these are anti-heroes to begin with, and we see the havok their actions create, leading downward and downward as recriminations and retaliations pile up. Although this is a dark and depressing film, we do catch glimpses that some of these people are realizing the effects their prejudice is having on themselves and the people around them. It's not a total redemption--the final scene brings the story full circle--but ultimately the movie has shown us that racism is bitterly self-consuming and self-defeating, but there *is* turning back. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DanB.May 29, 2005
What it lacks in subtlety it compensates for with heart. Also, is Don Cheadle the man? I think Don Cheadle's the man. I just really randomly seem to like anything Don Cheadle is in. Bravo for Don Cheadle.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NickD.May 31, 2005
Moving and poignant, but overrated. It seems to me that this movie is getting so much hype because it's the first good movie to come out this year. Also, within 15 minutes, I found myself thinking the following - A LOT: "OK, I get it, Moving and poignant, but overrated. It seems to me that this movie is getting so much hype because it's the first good movie to come out this year. Also, within 15 minutes, I found myself thinking the following - A LOT: "OK, I get it, you're racist." That said, my friends and I talked about it for hours afterwards. Great acting, great dialogue, great drama. I just wanted to be shocked, I guess. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChadS.May 6, 2005
Here is the most provocative scene: two African-American males run over a Chinese man, trying to unlock his curbside vehicle. They refer to him as a "Chinaman", as in "there's a Chinaman under my car" with the same irreverence Here is the most provocative scene: two African-American males run over a Chinese man, trying to unlock his curbside vehicle. They refer to him as a "Chinaman", as in "there's a Chinaman under my car" with the same irreverence you'd find in "Pulp Fiction" or a David Chapelle sketch. It's played for laughs as a means to bait some of the audience into laughing. Politically incorrect humor can often be funny but you need to consider the context. Some people will find it funny, and some people will be horrified at the lack of acknowledgment that the man they hit needs a label. Much will be said about the rescue and the divine intervention scene, but this is the real heart of the film. You find out who you are. This scene doesn't tell you how to react. "Crash" swings for the fences, and clears them, with authority. Walking out of the theater, I was reminded of being baffled by ESPN Radio's Rob Dibble bashing of Ichiro Suzuki as being a poor leadoff hitter because the Japanese native didn't look at enough pitches. Suzuki's batting average was .372. I wonder if that was one of the reasons why his contract wasn't renewed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelD.May 6, 2005
Wow. Everyone is justified, no one is innocent. Racism is at once validified and in the next scene damned. Sometimes the friction created by this dichotomy erupts: CRASH. Wow. Great movie. At times its a little manipulative and staged, but Wow. Everyone is justified, no one is innocent. Racism is at once validified and in the next scene damned. Sometimes the friction created by this dichotomy erupts: CRASH. Wow. Great movie. At times its a little manipulative and staged, but it works. I cannot recommend this movie enough. Sometimes, when you get this much talent into one movie, the result is a flop. This is definitely not one of those times. Wow. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeG.May 7, 2005
Wow!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
joel.May 8, 2005
Great movie. A real life type movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SimmadownNowMay 8, 2005
Very rarely does a movie allow me to embrace being a decent human being. It has become de rigueur to be obnoxious, rude, or to bully others. Not realizing that that unkind deed or word may be the trigger the pushes someone over the edge. Very rarely does a movie allow me to embrace being a decent human being. It has become de rigueur to be obnoxious, rude, or to bully others. Not realizing that that unkind deed or word may be the trigger the pushes someone over the edge. Think road rage or internet flaming. This movie conveyed this beautifully with out being preachy and overbearing. As I was watching it, I had different outcomes playing in my head for just about every confrontational situation. Someone in an earlier post called this a masterpiece. I am obliged to agree. This movie will succeed by word of mouth. I will definitely be encouraging my friends to see it. Ludacris turned in a surprisingly efficient performance considering how much screen time he was given. The top notch cast delivered. The critics got it wrong. Again! Almost all the women/girls in theatre were crying, some even sobbing loudly. Especially at the scene, "He's not wearing it!" You could hear the guys breathe out at the conclusion of this scene. I will own this movie the day it is released on DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrankPMay 9, 2005
This was the best movie this year, without a doubt. Don Cheadle and Matt Dillon were great and the rest of the cast, especially the little girl, were perfect pieces to this intricate puzzle. Definitely a movie to watch more than once to This was the best movie this year, without a doubt. Don Cheadle and Matt Dillon were great and the rest of the cast, especially the little girl, were perfect pieces to this intricate puzzle. Definitely a movie to watch more than once to catch the many subtle nuances throughout. See It!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
jonathano.May 9, 2005
This movie was such a captivating film. Given that many events were quite coincidental, it still demanded your attention.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimD.Jun 17, 2005
Great storytelling, with an excellent cast who give some truly fine performances. A perfect film? No, but it is affecting, complex and compelling, with a sly sense of humor, and it produces some indelible images along with scenes of real Great storytelling, with an excellent cast who give some truly fine performances. A perfect film? No, but it is affecting, complex and compelling, with a sly sense of humor, and it produces some indelible images along with scenes of real intensity and power. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mrxJun 17, 2005
Best movie of the year so far and by far.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SKJun 19, 2005
This is the BEST movie I have seen in a LONG time! I loved it. I found it to be amazingly honest and accurate, especially involving truths most Americans want to forget or dismiss. It portrays our sub-conscious (or conscious) deeply This is the BEST movie I have seen in a LONG time! I loved it. I found it to be amazingly honest and accurate, especially involving truths most Americans want to forget or dismiss. It portrays our sub-conscious (or conscious) deeply ingrained intolerance and racism, and gives a voice to a large percentage of people who are discriminated against, even by seeming "politically correct" minded people. I also liked how it shows how we are intricately connected, and how everything we do affects many other people without our full awareness. THANK YOU for this amazing film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EveCJun 21, 2005
About misconception, fear and miscomunication between us, humain beings... A stunning and moving film If only it could open our eyes, about the uselessness of guns and much more... a beautiful message.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidJun 24, 2005
The best movie that I have seen this year...so far. Great acting, especially from Matt Dillon, Terence Howard, Thandie Newton, and Sandra Bullock. Deserves to be considered for major awards next February when Oscar nods are announced.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Mary-CatherineS.Jun 30, 2005
In the genre of Robert Altman films. It's smart and interesting and complex and insightful. Great movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnCarrJun 5, 2005
Manipulative, yes. But never preachy. Grabs you and never lets go. There were genuine screams from the audience. Everyone in the country can appreciate this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LaviniaA.Jul 18, 2005
The weird aftertaste lasted hours. My mind was racing in thoughts. I was not thinking about the racial topics. I was thinking about cause and consequence. Even karma if you may. I liked seeing various people dealing with a common topic in The weird aftertaste lasted hours. My mind was racing in thoughts. I was not thinking about the racial topics. I was thinking about cause and consequence. Even karma if you may. I liked seeing various people dealing with a common topic in such different ways, and the results were different everytime. The strongest one was Dillan the racist cop who after molesting Newton, the wife of the director, almost couldn't save her life in the car accident, because she didn't trust him, cause she had been abused and humiliated by him due to her color. Maybe I would have prefered her to die. The endings were a bit more positive then I had expected. But overall, if it leaves me with a weird aftertaste I like it, I like it a lot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChicoSJul 22, 2005
I've noticed that all the negative reviews on here say the same thing......"This film is racist!!" Well duh! That was the whole point of the film.....a portrayal of how racial and ethnic sterotypes are universal among all races. So many I've noticed that all the negative reviews on here say the same thing......"This film is racist!!" Well duh! That was the whole point of the film.....a portrayal of how racial and ethnic sterotypes are universal among all races. So many films that touch on this topic only use the black and white viewpoint. This film took the topic and infused it into other racial backgrounds (asian, hispanic, indian). I felt the point of this movie was how things come full circle to everyone. In other words you reap what you sow. You were supposed to be emotionally riled up because if you didn't then something is tragically wrong with you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PonR.Jul 30, 2005
How could I give this anything short of a 10? This film takes an extreme, but it's one that has two things going for it: entertainment and thoughtfulness. I've never seen such a theme taken to such a level and had such a good time How could I give this anything short of a 10? This film takes an extreme, but it's one that has two things going for it: entertainment and thoughtfulness. I've never seen such a theme taken to such a level and had such a good time throughout. If Crash goes overboard with it's dialogue and irony that's because it wants to show us a relevant story without taking any shortcuts. And it doesn't want us to look away until it's over. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnF.Jul 4, 2005
Wonderful writing, wonderful against type acting, the words and the story are everything. what movies should be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TrevorB.Aug 12, 2005
Beautiful and heartbreaking. Joins "Short Cuts" and "Grand Canyon" on the list of great urban dramas.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
kizAug 12, 2005
Great film !!! definately a big film of 2005 !
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrankAug 13, 2005
Awesome! How good is this film. Very moving and thought provoking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LeonS.Aug 6, 2005
Inventive, thought provoking, brilliantly constructed script. Direction and performances impeccable. One of the best films of the decade.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BrianS.May 12, 2005
The emperor has no clothes on in this film that has wildly divided critics, not to mention audiences. I cannot believe reviewers who thing this is a profound exploration of racism in America. Paul Haggis is a white Spike Lee: neither man The emperor has no clothes on in this film that has wildly divided critics, not to mention audiences. I cannot believe reviewers who thing this is a profound exploration of racism in America. Paul Haggis is a white Spike Lee: neither man should write about what he knows nothing about. The ending of snow falling on Los Angeles was ludicrous -- I guess the frogs (from "Magnolia") were otherwise busy that night. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TravisC.May 13, 2005
All in all, a solid, powerful, gripping film. Some of the intensity was a little hokey, but not entirely unbelieveable. "Magnolia" is hands-down a better film, but this film is definitely pretty good. Even Sandra Bullock managed to pull off All in all, a solid, powerful, gripping film. Some of the intensity was a little hokey, but not entirely unbelieveable. "Magnolia" is hands-down a better film, but this film is definitely pretty good. Even Sandra Bullock managed to pull off a good performance. Most of the cast did, with the possible exception of Brendan Fraser. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillC.May 14, 2005
Yes , it's racist , if you can't handle a even handed and balanced look at all races and the baggage that accompanies predudices. This film does and excellant job of showing what results from pre judging someone, when you get it Yes , it's racist , if you can't handle a even handed and balanced look at all races and the baggage that accompanies predudices. This film does and excellant job of showing what results from pre judging someone, when you get it wrong. How this could offend anyone only demonstrates how some people can't handle the truth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BitBurnMay 14, 2005
At last, a movie with no heroes and no bad guys. Only proves that we all can be a bit of both.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LarryR.May 15, 2005
Although all performances are wonderful, Matt Dillion has become an Oscar contender.
0 of 0 users found this helpful