Lions Gate Films | Release Date: May 6, 2005
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 605 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
535
Mixed:
34
Negative:
36
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
BrendaRMay 10, 2005
Great movie! It's so dead-on accurate about real life.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoeyM.May 22, 2005
Without giving anything away, allow me to say that the last scene with Sandra Bullock stunned me - I found myself all choked up. I didn't see this simple, moving moment coming. Excellent cast, some wonderfully tender, unexpected scenes Without giving anything away, allow me to say that the last scene with Sandra Bullock stunned me - I found myself all choked up. I didn't see this simple, moving moment coming. Excellent cast, some wonderfully tender, unexpected scenes and great acting from all. Ryan Phillippe, all is forgiven. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelV.May 7, 2005
I just came home from seeing this movie, and must say it is one of the best movies I have ever seen. Not very often such a special movie like this is made. One word: MASTERPIECE. Go see it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AngelaB.May 7, 2005
As you watch this movie you can see yourself in the characters. it is so real and when you leave the theatre you can't stop thinking about it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SteveN.May 9, 2005
Amazingly emotional and all too real.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TrevorC.Jun 2, 2005
Simply one of the best films ever made. This has joined my top-five favorite films. It's deep, emotional, touching and true. It hits home in every aspect and addresses a current problem with our society.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesHJun 27, 2005
Superbly acted, beautifully written -- with the kind of insight and lyricism that is powerfully poetic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
drewL.Jul 31, 2005
The best movie I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilliamL.Apr 29, 2005
This film was amazing! Pure excellence, it kept me at the edge of my seat better than any horror movie made in the last 10 years and Crash isn't even a horror film. The most amazing part was that this is Paul Haggis' directoreal This film was amazing! Pure excellence, it kept me at the edge of my seat better than any horror movie made in the last 10 years and Crash isn't even a horror film. The most amazing part was that this is Paul Haggis' directoreal debut. Much better than XXX state of the union got that andrew. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimN.May 11, 2005
Best movie about race that I've ever seen and probably will ever see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaunB.May 12, 2005
The performances are electrifying Matt Dillion is wonderful as the racsit cop and the movie as a whole will stand the test of time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SandraT.May 15, 2005
AMAZING!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PetroM.May 15, 2005
It's funny, or rather ironic to see such a great range in ratings amongst viewers, and that s exactly what makes this movie amazing. Not everyone will like it, not everyone will be able to take all the racism issues in and truly It's funny, or rather ironic to see such a great range in ratings amongst viewers, and that s exactly what makes this movie amazing. Not everyone will like it, not everyone will be able to take all the racism issues in and truly understand what is going on out there. This movie isnt another Hollywood blockbuster, it rather shows the twisted reality of our society in its true uglyness. It also shows that racism in this country goes either way...Well done, it is definately worth every penny i spent on it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
tealh.May 17, 2005
I loved loved the movie, as stated above, the best i've seen in a long time...as a music junkie, the soundtrack is HOT and a must have also. it is truly a rollercoaster of emotions, most of which are sad and unfortunately realistic. at I loved loved the movie, as stated above, the best i've seen in a long time...as a music junkie, the soundtrack is HOT and a must have also. it is truly a rollercoaster of emotions, most of which are sad and unfortunately realistic. at times a bit extreme, but then again, it's Hollywood and it drives the point(s) home about colors, racial slurs, and stereotypes. as being a minority, i can identify w/ many of the characters' frame of mind and ignorance that is conditioned (by family others and environment) and mostly ignorance out of choice to remain ignorant. i NEED to include the overall greatest theme in the movie is the "Depravity of Mankind" from the eyes of God. this is a true depiction of how most people (of all colors) view other peoples of other colors and how it is only going to escalate - even though we are in a day and age of "political correctness" - it still remains that the overall existing problem(s) in all these character's lives is the on-going heart condition of SIN. yes, sin...it is the crux of where we speak and how we feel towards others. there was no divide in color and language at one point in history, back to the Old Testament Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisB.May 21, 2005
Awesome film. It simply takes a step back and shows our society not only how we act, but how, if not checked, our natural human nature can cause us to easily stereotype without thinking twice.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackF.May 7, 2005
A must see movie! The racial dialogue and prejudice is so piercing you may even consider walking out, but stick with the film, because it is one of the best Hollywood made movies about race. The multiple parallel events and its characters is A must see movie! The racial dialogue and prejudice is so piercing you may even consider walking out, but stick with the film, because it is one of the best Hollywood made movies about race. The multiple parallel events and its characters is shocking and astonishing. Especially how it all comes together. The actors are superb, especially Matt Dillion, Terrrence Howard and even Ludacris. I have read some critics who felt the film was too obvious, over the top, and puffed up conclusion. If so, it only adds to some of the toughest talk even seen on the American screen. The final scene tells it all. Paul Haggis the director/writer also was the screen write for "Million Dollar Baby," and Clint has signed him up for his next two films. What does that tell you? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KristanR.May 7, 2005
Wonderful emotional roller-coaster ride examining people's prejudices and fears. See it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshE.Jun 20, 2005
Superb in all ways and yet again chedelle will go un-noticed because its not a cartoon-based movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexMJun 30, 2005
What's all this racism crap about? Its no more racist than Do The Right Thing. Yes there are people like that in the world. So why not have a movie that throws them together through coincidences. The acting, story, and everything else What's all this racism crap about? Its no more racist than Do The Right Thing. Yes there are people like that in the world. So why not have a movie that throws them together through coincidences. The acting, story, and everything else was great. Definitely this and Batman Begins by far the best this year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElizabethH.Jul 3, 2005
This is one of the best movies I have ever seen. Everything about it rang true, making it a very powerful film. The acting is great, especially Matt Dillon.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilliamKAug 18, 2005
Truly excellent. I entered with few expectations and was blown away. The two carjackers first conversation was hilarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanG.Aug 4, 2005
One of the best movies of the decade absolutely phenomenal.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RJS.Aug 8, 2005
Definitely one of the most riveting, impactful dramas in our age. Some scenes I can't even get out of my mind, and although, I have seen movies like these, this succeeds in its emotional sincerity. Should be in the running for an Oscar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonathanD.May 11, 2005
Best movie I have seen since American Beauty!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DevynS.May 10, 2005
Very thought Provoking Movie. One of the Few Movies out there that I think all races and creeds can relate too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThomasMay 16, 2005
This movie was a breath of fresh air. I did not just play on one race it took all of america's race problems and made you see how stupid they really are.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndyE.May 18, 2005
A perfectly acted and beautifully directed film. Among the best screenplays since Pulp Fiction, and one of the most and more importantly best racially charged films since American History X. While it was the racial tension the carried this A perfectly acted and beautifully directed film. Among the best screenplays since Pulp Fiction, and one of the most and more importantly best racially charged films since American History X. While it was the racial tension the carried this movie to a level of one of the best dramas in years, it was the exceptional screenplay and unbelieveably well-written twists and turns that makes Crash one of the best movies in years. Even if you are ignorant and think that the racial tension in this movie was anything short of spectacularlly included, you could manage to look past it and see this as an fanastic screenplay with a maze of beautifully scultupred twists. Anyone who rated this movie anything short of a Seven is either too ignorant to be touched by the dramatic side of this movie, or too stupid to be dazzeled by the plot, either way none of you should ever be allowed to vote or even see another movie again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChadS.May 6, 2005
Here is the most provocative scene: two African-American males run over a Chinese man, trying to unlock his curbside vehicle. They refer to him as a "Chinaman", as in "there's a Chinaman under my car" with the same irreverence Here is the most provocative scene: two African-American males run over a Chinese man, trying to unlock his curbside vehicle. They refer to him as a "Chinaman", as in "there's a Chinaman under my car" with the same irreverence you'd find in "Pulp Fiction" or a David Chapelle sketch. It's played for laughs as a means to bait some of the audience into laughing. Politically incorrect humor can often be funny but you need to consider the context. Some people will find it funny, and some people will be horrified at the lack of acknowledgment that the man they hit needs a label. Much will be said about the rescue and the divine intervention scene, but this is the real heart of the film. You find out who you are. This scene doesn't tell you how to react. "Crash" swings for the fences, and clears them, with authority. Walking out of the theater, I was reminded of being baffled by ESPN Radio's Rob Dibble bashing of Ichiro Suzuki as being a poor leadoff hitter because the Japanese native didn't look at enough pitches. Suzuki's batting average was .372. I wonder if that was one of the reasons why his contract wasn't renewed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelD.May 6, 2005
Wow. Everyone is justified, no one is innocent. Racism is at once validified and in the next scene damned. Sometimes the friction created by this dichotomy erupts: CRASH. Wow. Great movie. At times its a little manipulative and staged, but Wow. Everyone is justified, no one is innocent. Racism is at once validified and in the next scene damned. Sometimes the friction created by this dichotomy erupts: CRASH. Wow. Great movie. At times its a little manipulative and staged, but it works. I cannot recommend this movie enough. Sometimes, when you get this much talent into one movie, the result is a flop. This is definitely not one of those times. Wow. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeG.May 7, 2005
Wow!
0 of 0 users found this helpful