User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 284 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 284

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 5, 2014
    7
    It was a well made comedy. I would call this high class. It wasn't a cheap comedy with horrible acting and a less than funny story. It was as good as I expected it to be.
  2. Jul 30, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really don't like romantic movies, but this one has Ryan as cool guy who teaches Steve how to pick up girls, great cast and ending where we understand how this world is small. Expand
  3. Jun 11, 2013
    8
    Probably the best comedy of the decade. Funny and hilarious actors and great plot actually. I laughed till i cried.It was one of the best comedies. A must-watch
  4. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    I thought this movie was great the begging was funny and the whole movie i dont get why people are angry that Steve Carell was mostly in the movie he's a comedy legend, also Ryan Gosling oh damn Emma Stone was good to and the fact that the 13 year old son was in love with the 17 year old baby sitter that loved his dad made it interesting but hilarious... This movie deserves a 10/10 and is worth seeing I couldn't stop thinking how much Ryan Gosling has changed since The Notebook, The Notebook might of been on of the best movies he has ever been in, Well i think it was but i still i think this movie was Amazing. Expand
  5. May 11, 2013
    8
    A great romantic comedy that provides a look into just how much love can hurt. The cast is fantastic and the writing is excellent. Part of what's so great about this movie is how it actually makes you care about its characters and their relationships with one another. As a guy who doesn't usually get into romantic comedies, unless they have non-stop humor, simply because I can't stand of the lovey-dovey-ness of them I was impressed to show that it's not all about the love, it's also about the hurt. Expand
  6. Jan 23, 2013
    8
    There's a sad routine going on with romantic comedies nowadays. Bad ones, like "Life as We Know It", enjoy a wide release and a fat box office, while good ones, like "Flipped", remain unknown to many. But then, to our surprise, we are introduced to "Crazy, Stupid, Love". Here is a romantic comedy written with intelligence, driven by its story, and delivered with actors who are both competent and charming. And, what do you know, people actually know about it.

    The movie is about a set of individuals who have, in their own personal way, lost track of true love. A few of them may have never even experienced it in the first place, but their story is about how they get there. Let me tell you about them real quick. Cal and Emily Weaver (Steve Carrell and Julianne Moore) are a middle-aged couple whose marriage has hit a major bump. Emily has confessed to being guilty with adultery, and is now requesting for a divorce.

    Cal, in obvious shock, is swift to break the news to his children. Most affected is 13-year-old Robbie, who is in the middle of his quest of winning the heart of his 17-year-old baby sitter, Jessica. Kids, at the height of their hormones, can be relentless in their romantic pursuits. There is a lot of comedy between their encounters.

    Read more here: http://localmoviereview.com/crazy-stupid-love-movie- review/
    Expand
  7. Dec 7, 2012
    7
    Really good film! Great cast and a good story. I loved the ending...I was not expecting that at all. One of the most satisfying pictures of 2011. Recommended.
  8. Nov 11, 2012
    8
    All the performances were very good with Steve Carell, Ryan Gosling and Julianne Moore taking centre stage. I thought Kevin Bacon was slightly underused, and more could have been made of Emma Stone
  9. Nov 11, 2012
    7
    Why did I watch it?
    Another Mrs Northerner special this one while we were on holiday. I hadn't even heard of this film before watching it.

    What's it all about?
    A romantic comedy that weaves together the romantic entanglements of several interlinked characters. To refer to Crazy Stupid Love as a love triangle would be simplifying it grossly. A love triangle dangerously perched on top
    of a love pyramid would be more accurate. Steve Carell is the soon to be divorced middle-aged guy with no interest in finding another fish in the sea. He meets successful ladies man Ryan Gosling who offers to help reinvent him as a ladies man himself. Meanwhile Gosling meets a girl and begins to question his own lifestyle of fast women while Carrell's young son ambitiously pines after his babysitter, who herself has eyes on a guy herself. Amongst all this, Carrell's wife Julianne Moore continues to date Kevin Bacon, the cause of the divorce.

    Should you watch it?
    As rom-coms go, Crazy Stupid Love is definitely worth a watch. Steve Carell is pretty funny as always and the same can be said for the plot machinations which culminate in a hilarious farcical scene as the love triangle/pyramid collapses. It also features a pretty large A-list cast which certainly helps things along.
    Expand
  10. Oct 22, 2012
    7
    One of the best love comedy movie I've ever watched. A film with so much of natural occurrences & coincidences. I am drawn by all of the superb acting skills. The movie has an unpredictable and non-cliche story line. I had an awesome time laughing myself too.
  11. Aug 10, 2012
    6
    Outrageous and funny, this is Gosling and Carell's vehicle all the way until a cliche, disappointing finish that wraps things up a bit too nicely with a bow. I expected a tad more from the minds behind "Bad Santa."
  12. Jul 17, 2012
    9
    Finally something that is more than a common comedy. It's a sort of evolution that take the audience to analyse some aspects of their own life even maintaining a positive mood in the people. I gave 9/10 because i found some parts, related to the love story of the kid, too much banal. Anyway a very good movie and i hope that it will be the beginning of a new structure for romantic comedy that is more than the usual "and finally they **** and lived happily ever after" Expand
  13. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    What a great surprise! I thought I was being dragged to another chic-flick girls night out movie, but this was so much more. The humor is great - I had to rent it just so my husband could see it too!
  14. Mar 26, 2012
    7
    The movie is basically about overcoming a problem in your life, fixing your mistakes, and about true love. It tells us that even if at times we feel like crap we should pick ourselves up and just move forward and become the best person we can be. And that the only way to move on is to fix our mistakes or accept them as something other than a mistake. Also that true love is real and we all have a special one for us.

    Casting was down to a T, the movie got the right actors to portray its characters. It is also wonderfully acted and every character/actor has a level of charisma that shoots the enjoyment level to another high. Julianne Moore plays a cheating spouse, Steve Carell the sympathetic loser, Emma Stone the know it all, hopeful, skeptic, and Ryan Gosling the calm, cool, stud. I couldnâ
    Expand
  15. Mar 25, 2012
    9
    A wonderful comedy that is not ony funny but has its serious moments that aren't forced. Acting is fantastic by a fantastic actors. The movie didn't succumb to the lame comedies of the summer time which made it enjoyable to watch.
  16. Jan 19, 2012
    8
    Any movie with Steve Carrell in it is going to be at least decent. The big surprise in this one is his matchmaker friend, played by Ryan Gosling, who has the best funny parts in the film. Saw it at the cinema and was very pleased with it. Slightly above the regular, normal rom-coms.
  17. Jan 16, 2012
    9
    I really enjoyed the movie. The story was interesting and the acting was really good. The only thing I had trouble believing was that the babysitter was only 17. I think the actress was miscast. Her crush on Carrell was not very believable. She did a good job considering though. The movie never mentioned herpes which, no doubt, Gosling's character had to have had after sleeping with 100's of women throughout the years. Steve Carrell's character slept with 9 women in a short space of time - no mention of worrying about herpes from him either. I guess that would make the movie a bit too serious, but for younger viewers watching this, it's not very realistic. Expand
  18. Jan 12, 2012
    10
    I watched this movie three times within a week, two of them during my flight back and forth from London to Athens. Shortly after it had ended for the third time, I realized that if a movie of this mixed genre, comedy-drama-romance still hasnâ
  19. Jan 11, 2012
    8
    After their ill-fated director debut, I LOVE YOU PHILLIP MORRIS (2009), duo filmmakers Glenn Ficarra and John Requa comes back with this sleeper hit in the lukewarm summer last year, it is a G-rated rom-com, composed of run-of-the-mill scenarios, but exquisitely draws me head over heels for it. It took 6 years for Steve Carell to upgrade his 40-year-old-virgin status to a 44-year-old-loyal-husband honor, whose sexual object has remained as singular form with his soulmate (then high-school sweetheart, now the wife for 22 years, who is submerging into a quotidian middle age crisis). Steve exudes a tremendous bent of poker-face acting in this film, flavored with a whiff of sarcastic and knowing jokes; it is also a delight to embrace Julianne Moore back to a mainstream rom com since LAWS OF ATTRACTION (2004), her role is well-measured and no one will ever doubt her capacity to be competent for it. Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone pair suffers from a shorter screen time for their corresponding story about an invincible womanizer meets the girl of his life; but Gosling has the qualification to stride swaggeringly in the Hollywood now because his filmography proves that he is the next George Clooney with a much earlier inception (judging fairly by his three films coming in 2010). There are a third love lateral in the film, a 13-year-old boyâ Expand
  20. Dec 31, 2011
    7
    Despite my trepidations about watching a potential chick flick, Crazy, Stupid, Love. proved itself a clever, charming film that was well worth the two hours on the couch, and would've been worth the twelve dollar movie ticket. The plot was not the most original plot, yet at the same time, it was not entirely formulaic like every other movie. Anyone who's ever seen a comedy would know where the movie was going, yet there were two or three twists thrown into the mix that spiced up an otherwise lukewarm storyline. Gosling and Carell led the way with stellar performances and their chemistry with Stone and Moore respectively was enough to keep the movie afloat by itself. Though the movie probably found more favor with girls than with boys (mainly because of the scenes where Gosling takes off his shirt), Crazy, Stupid, Love. is not your ordinary chick flick and proved to be a breath of fresh air in a world of stale romantic comedies. Expand
  21. Dec 29, 2011
    8
    This a great movie. After seeing a lot of comedies from the same genre this is probably one of the best since long.

    The plot was original compared to other comedies, this story is new, it shines a new light in the world of romantic comedies. Ofcourse the summit wasn't very spectacular or surprisingly, but in general I think a lot of people will give this movie a high rate. It abandond
    most of the clichés that are ruining this genre of film. Emma Stone seems to have a lot more potential, I hope to see more from her in the future. Enjoy this piece of entertainment! Expand
  22. Dec 20, 2011
    5
    I've always had the cynical opinion that almost all so-called "comedies" aren't actually particularly funny - this being one of them. Carrell is a dork, got it. Gosling is the uber-cool mr playboy, got that. The women leads are ok, but the best female is Marisa Tomei, who unfortunately isn't in it that much. It's kind of warm-hearted but the central concept of cool guy gives lessons to middle-life crisis guy, well it wears thin quite soon. I had no idea that the rest of the hour would be about a guy trying to sort out his marital difficulties. Yawn. Collapse
  23. Dec 17, 2011
    8
    Although missing something and it doesn't get crazy till the last 20 minutes the film has incredible heart and cast that make this an incredible movie. And it is entertaining. I give this film an 83% of a good movie.
  24. Dec 15, 2011
    7
    For the first hour and a half, "Crazy, Stupid, Love." is a blast. The movie hits you with one hysterical situation after another. None of it feels contrived. Thanks to the screenplay by Dan Fogelman, the movie is able to find morsels of humor in Cal's (Steve Carell) despair over his divorce. The performances also help carry this film along. Gosling and Stone have instant chemistry in their brief moments, but the real connection lies with Carell and Gosling. They are polar opposites. One is suave and handsome, and the other is awkward and depressed (I'll let you figure out which is which). Carell and Gosling play off this contrast to perfection. Everything about this movie works, until the last 15 minutes of the movie. It was like I was transported into a totally different film. Instead of having great dialogue and believable situations like it did for most of its running time, it takes the Hollywood way out by giving us stale dialogue and contrived situations. I still liked the movie overall, but it could have been something really great if they would have spent more time on the ending. "Crazy, Stupid, Love." is still a film worth seeing. Expand
  25. Dec 11, 2011
    8
    I just don't know where to start . Damn! Crazy, Stupid, Love is one of the best film of 2011 and probably one one the best rom-com i have ever seen . The whole movie is freaking amazing . The whole cast is so awesome . The soundtrack is super rocking , The whole story (& script) is really good .Glenn Ficarra & John Requa really well done . Steve , Ryan , Emma ,Juliann , Kevin , Analeigh & Marisa awesome work . Analeigh nice work on her first major film . From the start to the end Crazy, Stupid, Love will blow your mind with comedy , romance , bro-code , daddy code and else . Thumbs Up and Up again .
    [Story: 2.6 out of 3 . Directing: 2.5 out of 3 . Acting : 2.7 out of 3 . Soundtrack : 0.8 out of 1 . OVERALL : 8.6 out of 10]
    Expand
  26. Dec 7, 2011
    7
    What a cast! Each one delivers a strong performance. This is a fine film that I enjoyed watching. It deals with difficult subject matter......divorce, life after divorce, the jealousy that is associated with this, and yes, crazy, stupid, love! This film takes the things we all want to do in these situations and it does it. Just when I think we've seen all Carell is going to be, he shells out another strong performance, and Gosling is right there with him. Expand
  27. Dec 6, 2011
    5
    Mr. Carell is so difficult to like. He is trying to play it for real but still falls on the goofy unbelievable side; a caricature of what person in this situation would be. Even though it's a comedy there must be some motivation for the characters to act as they do. What's the history between Carell & Moore? She is the cheater (why we never find out), why isn't she out of the house? At some points it is interminably bad, I had to fast forward, is this even worth watching? Other times there was a sweet hopefulness. Ms Moore is okay but I just didn't like her. She is ill fitted with Mr Carell and no chemistry present. Ms Stone has a bright screen presence as always. Mr Gosling as usual plays a confident strong character but his story line has too much screen time. Ms Tipton & Mr Bobo lend some fun and sweet innocence. Smarmy Mr Bacon & fiery Ms Tomei offer strong support with only minor screen time. A silly little film with some things to like but not enough to recommend. Expand
  28. Nov 26, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "Crazy, Stupid, Love" started out strong with an interesting plot and a good set of characters, and while there were several decent laughs to be had, the inability of anyone in the film to recognize anyone else's last name ("Say, are you related to so and so Weaver?") got frustrating and the coincidences, shenanigans, and unanswered questions end up swallowing the interesting premise. I was also bothered that people seemed more than willing to sit quietly and listen to more or less insane rantings from people who had proven to be kind of maniacal, which took some of the immersion out of the film. While I am not unhappy I watched it, the movie deserved better - and I will feel no need to fire it up again. By the way, to any mothers of my children - Should my daughter ever have naked pictures, please do not show them to me. Simply telling me there's a problem will suffice. Expand
  29. Nov 20, 2011
    8
    I'm a big Steve Carrell fan and this film wasn't at all dissappointing. The only flaw in the cast in my opinion was Julianne Moore, she just seemed so out of place. Ryan Gosling was perfect. Marisa Tomei proves once again she has some good comedic timing. It's doesn't pretend to be anything more than what it is a sex farce with intelligence and a lot of fun.
  30. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    CSL would seem like an ordinary chick flick but it digs a little deeper and focuses more on empathy. Almost melodrama worthy if you really dig your mind and listen instead of hear the movie.
  31. Nov 14, 2011
    5
    While there are a lot of appealing things about this film, it fundamentally fails to impress. With a stellar cast, with very good performances across the board (and suprising Steve Carell, who somewhat reminds me of Jack Nicholson in "About Schmidt"), it is a very good film to watch for the performances. However, just as Carell's character says at one point, as he is left by his wife and it starts pouring rain: "What a cliché!" And that is exactly what "Crazy, Stupid, Love." is. Pointing out a cliché while actually using it is not good writing or directing or anything in between - it is just another cliché. The film tries to be a "fun and smart" comedy, just like "Sideways" was or "Lost in Translation." Well, it is not quite there, or anywhere close for that matter. It is entertaining, but highly predictable in its unpredictability and not very inspired. At the end, as all rom-coms, it has the ever so cheesy happy ending, somewhat camouflaged, but not really. Overall, as I said, rather entertaining, but nothing great. Mediocre to ok, at best. Expand
  32. Nov 13, 2011
    8
    The world is small, this movie proves once again that the form of interlocking stories, hilarious, poignant, de-stressing, entertaining, well acted, recommended
  33. Nov 11, 2011
    6
    Despite the potential cast, the movie was rather cliché. Before watching the actual scene, you could have predicted what would have happened 30 minutes earlier. This, however, doesn't necessarily make it a bad movie. One of the funny things was the total awkwardness hanging around Cal. Cal's remarks to women are hilarious and most people would turn the temptation down to face palm him. The acting, on the other hand, was well performed and together with the amount of decent jokes it made the movie enjoyable. Expand
  34. j30
    Nov 8, 2011
    6
    A really funny movie with a good heart. It's a bit too lovey dove-y for me, but a tolerable romantic comedy where you're not rolling your eyes the whole time. I definitely recommend this one.
  35. Nov 3, 2011
    5
    Crazy, Stupid, Unrealistic Love

    Steve Carell has played this part before, I'm sure of it, but off the top of my head I can't remember where. However, he is refining the role. This time, he restrains himself and tries to truly act rather than go over the top. And he succeeds in a crazy, stupid way. A married couple is calling it quits because the wife is bored and the husband is so used to
    her that he pays much more attention to the yard work than he does to her. Indeed, when they are separated, he dreams that the other man is mowing his beloved lawn while his estranged wife relaxes and watches her lover with admiration. For the character called Cal, played by Carell, this is truly a nightmare. Cal sneaks back to his property at regular intervals, not to gaze at his dear wife through the window, but to trim the hedges, prune the roses, and aerate the lawn.

    There are so many coincidences in this movie that it may qualify as a comedy of errors, but the errors are outrageous and strain the patience of the viewer. Jacob is so brutally promiscuous and uses women so outrageously that when he accidentally falls in love, it's hard to believe that Jacob the Cad is now Jacob the **** although Ryan Gosling does some good acting in this role. Cal's 13-year-old son is madly in love with the babysitter, who's madly in love with the dad, but the kid pursues the babysitter with such ardor and persistence that he more than qualifies for intense psychotherapy, which for some reason, is never mentioned.

    Inappropriate behavior abounds, and the police only show up once (and only to say if you're going to have a brawl, please stay inside the house), and otherwise, the message is no matter how badly one has made a spectacle of oneself, everyone will forget all about it as soon as the incident is over. Of course, everyone forgot about Japan after a couple of months, and they had an earthquake, a tsunami, and a nuclear meltdown, so maybe Steve Carell, the star and the producer, knows whereof he speaks. In any case, if you have ever made a fool of yourself in love, after seeing this movie, you will realize that your case is mild if not positively normal. Score=5.
    Expand
  36. Oct 31, 2011
    8
    This film is a bit like sex, it starts off slow and with a few awkward moments, but as you get into the swing of things you get a handful of spectacular twists that all culminate in a climatic finale leaving you wanting more!
  37. Oct 28, 2011
    4
    Only one thing i can conclude about this movie, there was never a problem, everything was all right all the time, this is unecessary drama, the acting was too bad only steve carrel was ok
  38. Oct 22, 2011
    3
    Lame. Had such high hopes. Gave up after 15 minutes. Its mindless...even with Ryan Gosling, its just falters. Relies too much on Steve Carell. Tries to be the next American beauty but ends up as a DVD bin box discount. Bypass this load of rubbish.
  39. Oct 14, 2011
    10
    This movie is about men's life. It shows how to be single and how to be married and a father. The part of the film that's about flirting with women is fully applicable in real life, and the marriage issues too.
  40. Oct 13, 2011
    9
    What a great film. If you loved American Beauty and Click (Adam Sandler) then this should be your cup of tea. Funny whilst being poignant, light-hearted whilst heavy hitting.
    Carrell plays funny and serious to perfection - Emma Stone is as astounding as usual - Julianne Moore brings her usual class and understated elegance - Ryan Gosling is brilliant and is in every great film which is on
    at present (not coincidental) - and then there is the up-and-coming Analeigh Tipton who has such classic looks and revives the "Mena Suvari" character from American Beauty.
    You can't help but be pulled along by the film where not a minute goes by without something happening for a reason. There's no point where I felt it was dropping in intensity, whilst the twist near the end really does come from nowhere.
    Expand
  41. Oct 12, 2011
    5
    Crazy stupid movie. A middle aged couple decides to separate because of the wife (Emily) infidelity and the husband (Cal) non-care for his appearance and look. Disappointed the husband is picked up in a bar by a womanizer who decides to teach him how to attract women. After the turn of events the womanizer proposes to a girl who is Cal and Emily daughter! Fabricated scenario, passtime acting, non serious movie making. A kind of movie made just to waste viewers time and money. The good thing about this movie is the relaxation it will inflict, no events to unexpect, no tension, just sitting and possibly sleeping. Expand
  42. Sep 27, 2011
    8
    Entertaining, but a little bit goofy, some good parts, some others that could have been a lot better, but in the end the result was positive. Great cast with an amazing sense of humor, like the whole movie I was laughing, and you got to love the slaps, funny and hilarious, with a good story, that's is a comedy.
  43. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    This movie had both comedy and romance. It hit on real-life situations with characters that represented many of people's actual characteristics. The movie is not something I would watch again, but it was a great movie.
  44. Sep 21, 2011
    8
    One of the best comedies to come along since Bridesmaids. Had that rare combination of heart and humor, this is a comedy I'll be re-watching through the years.
  45. Sep 19, 2011
    7
    This is a fun romantic comedy, with a few really good characters and a nice feel to it. Ryan Gosling's character is especially well-written and acted, and Steve Carell, who I usually can't stand, gives a performance that actually borders on resembling a real human being, as opposed to his usual mugging for the camera. Worth seeing if you like this kind of movie.
  46. Sep 19, 2011
    8
    This is a good romantic comedy. Steve Carell demonstrates he is a real actor, not a comedian. Also Emma Stone did a great job, she's growing really fast. I really liked this movie because is all about surprises. You could never imagine that the two couples had a connection. It was really entertaining and humorous.
  47. Sep 18, 2011
    10
    Probably the only romantic that could be called an epic. Sprawling, complex, intricately structured, and multi-layered. Hilarious, poignant, involving, and endlessly entertaining. Adjective, adjective, adjective. This movie's awesome. Anything else you want to say? Get the hell out.
  48. Sep 18, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Let me start by saying that i was very disappointed with this so called "movie" which i saw in the theater after seeing the trailer and knowing that it futures some very talented actors - who should have known better than to star in such a movie.

    It failed both as a movie and as a comedy, as a comedy it failed in the sense that... well... it just wasn't funny.
    As a movie, i didn't relate to any of the characters and especially their relationships that include a 13 year old boy who's in love with a 17 year old teenager and his babysitter (a relationship his father actually encourages him to pursue at some point), the same babysitter who is in love with the 40 year old father of the boy.
    On a totally different subject, the movie was also absurd, I can never imagine that a self-respecting guy (played very questionably by Ryan Gosling), who goes to bars with the purpose of sleeping with different women on a daily basis, would decide for no apparent reason to take a complete stranger and a person who creates the impression of a total screw-up under his wing.
    The Emma-Ryan relationship starts only after a long background featuring a relationship of her and her boyfriend who she think is supposed to propose for no apparent reason. Then after he doesnâ
    Expand
  49. Sep 12, 2011
    8
    Definately a good romantic comedy. Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling are great together. Julianne and Steve work pretty well too. The comedy does its job, there are some pretty touching scenes and it is that kinda movie that makes you wonder about, you know, love, relationships and all that jazz.
  50. Sep 12, 2011
    7
    Rent-it - This typical romcom hodgepodge of a guy losing his perfect life but then bumping into her high school sweetheart is anything but typical and truly a hodgepodge of talented actors.
  51. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's raining frogs all throughout the city landscape, coming down in webbed sheets on its inhabitants, in which a chosen few, the filmically demarcated, some sad, others sadder, are just looking for somebody to love. The frogs in "Magnolia" is a verifiable miracle, proof positive that god exists. The amphibious downpour signifies hope, empirical evidence that anything can happen, and does, in the film's last scene where a drug-addled woman, lecherously maltreated by her incestuous father, smiles, probably for the first time in years, courtesy of a friendly cop, who says the magic words that jump starts Claudia's dead heart which kept daddy's plundered little girl in mental confinement since "it" happened, just before the screen fades to black. When the world(of P.T.A.) fades in again, in "Punch-Drunk Love"( the 2002 anti-romantic comedy that suggests the existence of soulmates), miracles still never ceases to amaze, offering even more proof of an all powerful, all knowing, absolute being, who manifests himself at a payphone, alongside an advancing parade down some Waikiki street, where the grace of god reflects back into the face of a bipolar bathroom supply wholesaler named Barry Egan(Adam Sandler), as he talks to Lena, the woman who falls in love with him, inexplicably. The harmonium is the miracle which started it all; the accidental harmonium, deposited curbside by some faceless man in a van, as it turns out, was a sign, a vestigial prompting which announces that a little music will soon be coming into Barry's life very shortly. Only seconds earlier, from the street's horizon where the small business owner works out of his warehouse, a fast-approaching vehicle veers from its straightaway destination, clipping a parked car, sending the wayward SUV into a flip and series of rolls, concurrently with the arrival of "the small piano". It's as if the devil and god are racing in the street, making a bid for Barry's soul. The very fact that Barry goes nowhere near the wreck would seem to indicate that the scene is largely allegorical. He knows who's driving, Like Claudia, the blue-suited man has his share of demons(he has mean sisters), yet yearns to be good, so he keeps his eyes on the prize, the harmonium, and ignores the disharmonious cacophony of pulverized metal and steel, whose music isn't suitable for deliverance. Soon after Barry meets his soulmate for the first time(when Lena drops off her car at the garage), he chooses love; chooses to take a chance on the harmonium, when he claims it from the sidewalk, clutching the instrument to his chest, tightly, at long last, taking a chance on life, as he runs back to the warehouse. The harmonium plays "soul music"; the harmonium is the filmmaker's visualization of the ancient proverb: "God works in mysterious ways." Lena is, in essence, an extension of the air-driven keyboard. A soulmate is the first miracle; a soulmate who just happens to attend the same high school as you, now that's the second miracle. "I'm pretty sure I'm your soulmate," says eighth grader Robbie Weaver quite matter-of-factly to his babysitter, in "Crazy, Stupid, Love", a multi-narrative film, that, at times, functions as an auxiliary world for "the freaks who suspect they could never love anyone," who populate Anderson's city of losers. Jacob, a serial womanizer, could be one of those guys who caught T.J. Mackey's "Seduce & Destroy" infomercial on late night T.V., bought the DVDs, and attended the seminar led by the toxic motivational speaker, sitting in a darkened auditorium with the other aspiring misogynistic libertines, taking notes on how to "tame that ****", along with other tricks of the trade, known to all great pick-up artists. Funny thing though, you never actually see the f*ck guru apply his craft; he's all rhetoric and no practice, whereas Jacob, always on the prowl at an upscale nightclub, gets the pick of the litter on a nightly basis. From the women-draped table he presides over, the tomcat spots Cal, "quietly judging [him]", and becomes his mentor, when the cuckolded man's whining over a disloyal wife starts to grate on Jacob's nerves. Emily is Cal's soulmate. But how can that be? She cheated on him. Hanna is Jacob's soulmate, but this horndog is somebody who knows "How To Fake Like You Are Nice And Caring". In "Bedtime Stories", like an ironic homage to "Magnolia", Skeeter(Sandler) gets rained on by gumballs; it's Exodus redux, but then the camera tilts up, revealing a breech in the truck carrying the sugary cargo, suggesting that for every supposed miracle, therein lies a logical explanation. Earl Partridge, a dying old man with regrets(from "Magnolia"), was once Robbie's age, thinking of his future wife in the same heavenly terms as the boy does towards the high school senior. But Earl was an adulterer, just like Emma, and so will Jacob, and perhaps even young, idealistic Robbie, because men do "terrible things". Expand
  52. Sep 7, 2011
    8
    This film was one of the few movies I payed for, and actually got a great impression from it. Leaving the theater; I was still amazed at the multiple characters and multiple story lines that all came into one. Watching them crashing into each-other close to the end was genius! Put Terrence Malick and comedy together and you'll get something like this.
  53. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Love is all of these things at once - that is why a movie about "Crazy, Stupid, Love" succeeds as a romantic comedy. Okay, okay - that is only part of the reason. The ingredients for the success of this movie are irreverent comedy, razor-sharp dialogue, awesome imagination and great execution. In other words, the writers keep the love side hot, and the stupid side cool. No, really. Case in point: The divorce. Even though Cal's wife Emily asks him for a divorce, we can see that the two still love one another. Cal (Steve Carell) is predictably upset, since his character has only had ONE sexual partner his entire life - Emily (Julianne Moore). With the help of his pre-teen son, Cal sets out on a ridiculous quest to win her back. That's just CRAZY. This sets the stage for Steve Carell to sort-of reprise his stupidly-bumbling-but-good-natured-and-somehow-sexy role Andy from The Forty Year Old Virgin. And... it works. Somehow. There are plenty of sight gags and one-liners to keep everyone entertained, but beneath all the hilarity is a beautiful, messy painting which seeks to mirror the real world. I was reminded of my own life when viewing this movie - sometimes, when crazy things happen, you just have to shake your head and roll with it. As romantic comedies go, this was probably my favorite movie of the year. Loved it!

    - Chipper F. Xavier, Esq.
    Expand
  54. Aug 29, 2011
    9
    Lee Marvin meets Pygmalian.....but love wins in the end, in the very clever, never boring, always unnerving story of how we love in the 21st century. I normally hate these kinda movies, but this one is really good. Tears....yes.
  55. Aug 20, 2011
    9
    To be honest I came into this movie first not thinking I was gonna love it, I thought maybe I would find it cute, but It would be forgettable and not that great.I walked in with my mom and three of my cousins, two of them were only 9 and 11. But I thought "It's pg-13, it probably is fine." But it was totally inappropriate for the both of them, so we had to leave barely midway. But my brother and I were having a good time. I found it funny, a bit silly, but funny. And it made me want to see the rest of it. When came back to new york, I saw it again with my dad, and the more it went on from where I left, I thought it was funny, unique, very touching, and incredibly acted and well written. It wasn't a perfect movie, it had it's flaws, but the cast, and the writing, totally make up for it's flaws. I loved this movie. It's the first great romantic comedy in years. Expand
  56. Aug 16, 2011
    8
    I have never been a fan of romantic comedies. However, great acting and some interesting twists really made this movie a winner. There were parts where I laughed, and poignant parts that moved me. Although it follows a rather cliche plot, everything else is excellent. A movie that is not perfect, but still quite good, and definitely worth watching.
  57. Aug 16, 2011
    8
    This movie was very good. Every appearing actor or actress did a superb job. You need to be an open mood for this movie because it goes from one feeling to the next pretty quickly, from depressing, to funny, to depressing, to sad, to funny, to depressing, then to funny, then to happy, it changes like crazy but thats why its called Crazy Stupid Love. Steve carrell was excellent, Ryan Gosling, never been a big fan of him but he was hilarious in this movie, always loved Emma Stone and havent been a julianne Moore fan but she was good as well. This was a good movie, but if your expecting a cheering up movie then you shouldnt go see this film, but otherwise go see it, its a fun, enjoyable movie, depending on your mood, 8/10 Expand
  58. Aug 12, 2011
    5
    Crazy, Stupid, Love is naturally about relationships. The one which consumes most of the film focuses on Steve Carell and Julianne Moore who have been married for a very long 25 years. They are stuck in a rut. They look exhausted and seem to just be going to through the motions of their monotonous relationship. In fact, they are getting a divorce. Carell moves out and immediately finds the local bar. It is here that Ryan Gosling notices him as a very sad case of a man and assumes a Fairy Godmother role of personal improvement. He initiates new clothes, a new hairstyle, and a new way of thinking on the newly single and confused Carell.

    Most of this seems like a standard run-of-the-mill romantic comedy, which for some part it is. But the script is a bit savvier than to just throw formulaic plot movements at the audience. The chemistry between Carell and Moore works. Carell reminds you of his Dan in Real Life character a bit and both actors really show a weight on their shoulders which their marriage has become. What does not work is the Ryan Gosling situation and how he latches on to Carell. The motivation is lacking and the script really never bothers to explain it. Naturally, the womanizing Gosling meets and falls for Emma Stone and this relationship does not work either although they share a quality late night scene together. In fact, the Emma Stone character dangerously approaches Sweet Home Alabama territory as she throws away a decent guy (Josh Grobanâ
    Expand
  59. Aug 12, 2011
    10
    Anyone who has dealt with divorce and how it shakes a family will appreciate the frank honesty and humor that can come with it. Carell and Moore do a wonderful job. That said, Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling steal the show right out from under them. I found myself wondering what Stone and Gosling were doing when Carell and Moore's storyline picked up. Despite that, this air-tight love story is touching and romantic. Honorable mention to Marissa Tomei who is fantastic! Expand
  60. Aug 11, 2011
    9
    Fabulous and hilariously funny! It was great how the script had a lot of surprises especially at the end; well worth the watch. I will see this movie again. Great performances by all the actors. What was good about this movie was you got the moral of it and then some, such as, laughs along the way.
  61. Aug 8, 2011
    9
    This movie offers an enjoyable story that you can relate to. It has a great set of characters, played by a great set of actors (such as Steve Carell, Julianne Moore, Ryan Gosling, etc). Everybody did their part perfectly. Ryan Gosling's character (Jacob) is a good example of what most guys would want to be like when it comes to women. He's cool, he wears nice clothes. He's more of a pickup artist type, since he uses pickup lines. Usually in movies, these sorts of characters are represented as '' douche bags ''. In this case, Jacob is not, and I liked that. After seeing in the trailer how Jacob teaches Cal (Carell) how to talk to women seemed unoriginal. But the movie is not just about helping Cal. It also has love situations between other characters. Sure, Cal wants to get is wife back (Julianne Moore), but he goes throw a lot of funny, awkward and painful moments. I like the fact that those characters love interest somehow ends up all together at some point, which was hilarious. It's a wonderful movie, it shouldn't even get classified with other romantic comedies. Expand
  62. Aug 3, 2011
    10
    WAY better than your average romantic comedy! Granted when i saw it with my friends, there was only 1 guy in the audience, but it is definitely one movie you should see this summer. Love the cast, absolutely hilarious, and the view of Ryan Gosling ain't bad, right ladies? ;)
  63. abb
    Aug 2, 2011
    10
    Great movie! The performances by the entire cast were wonderful. Just when you think you have the plot figured out, there are some surprising plot twists. Must see movie this summer. I can't wait until it is on DVD!
  64. Aug 1, 2011
    6
    After 20+ years of marriage Steve Carell & Julianne Moore split up. Stud and seducer Ryan Gosling shows Carell how to adapt to the dating game, while other subplot love stories play out. This film is full of enjoyable performances and some minor surprises, but it's more about love than laughs. An earnest romantic comedy that entertains without being distinctive.
  65. Jul 30, 2011
    8
    Crazy Stupid Love : A MUST WATCH movie !
    I didn't think it would be THAT funny since there's so much movies that's similar to this one but it is! Its hilarious & a fun movie (= Definitely recommend.
  66. Jul 30, 2011
    9
    Some of the themes from this movie were yanked from the love story junkyard and planted in the vehicle known as "Crazy, Stupid, Love", but the characters in this movie are so well sculpted that you forget some of the cliches. Steve Carell is fantastic. Emma Stone is spot on. Gosling is perfectly cast. Tomei, who I want to return to her "My Cousin Vinny" days is replaceable. I left the theater reaching back into my past and grasping onto the optomistic things that I once held so tight. Expand
  67. Jul 30, 2011
    7
    It's a good-hearted movie that borrows a ton from other films, but it's absolutely saved by the performances of Ryan Gosling, Carell, and Marissa Tomei - who steals ever scene she's in. Don't want to say much more because this film is particularly vulnerable to spoilers. A good movie that's just a little bloated in its second half. But I'll still recommend it.
  68. Jul 29, 2011
    4
    This could have been such a good movie unfortunately Dan Fogleman can't really write dialogue, At least not meaningful or witty dialogue just cliches and platitudes. Clever idea to start with just never really sparks. The scenes with Ryan Gosling are nearly all good because he is a talented enough actor to rise above a mediocre script the same can be said for Marissa Tomei she is hilarious from beginning to end. her character is given no respect by the screenplay or her on screen love interest, Steve Carrel. This is not the case with Carrel or Moore they just keep repeating the same facial expressions and lines in hopes we'll start to believe they really are in earnest. I watch this drivel and wondered will Hollywood ever again make a GOOD romantic comedy? Expand
  69. Jul 29, 2011
    10
    Funny in a refreshingly adult way for the most part, along with some cliche, but still well done heart. One of the best attempts at a romantic dramedy in quite awhile.

    All of the cast was on top of their game.
  70. Jul 29, 2011
    10
    This movie was hilarious and touching at the same time. Great movie if you're looking to have some fun and laugh. Would highly recommend. Steve Carell is excellent in his role. Julianne Moore was great as always.
    Ryan Gosling is the perfect ladies man.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Olly Richards
    Sep 19, 2011
    80
    A wonderful comedy of romance, pain and getting it all wrong until somebody makes you do it right. The kind of film that makes you want to call someone the minute it's over, even if just to tell them to go see this movie.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jul 29, 2011
    75
    Kevin Bacon and Marisa Tomei make the most of their limited screen time, injecting straight comedy into a movie that occasionally comes close to losing its sense of humor.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Jul 29, 2011
    70
    Richer and more enjoyable than the other lame-stream comedies Hollywood has churned out this summer, even though it doesn't know what kind of movie it wants to be when it grows up.