User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 2 out of 9

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 4, 2014
    10
    This movie portrays a heart-wrenching story which is all to familiar to a large percentage of our nation's incarcerated women. The lengths to which this poor woman has to go in order to receive anything resembling justice are appalling, and the condemnation of the criminal "justice" system is impossible to ignore. This story is grippingly and expertly told by filmmaker Yoav Potash. This is not just an issue isolated to one, poor woman and one unfortunately incident: this is a shockingly common story within our prisons, especially among female prisoners (as pointed out by the film). If you've gotten anything out of the social commentary in either the book or screen versions of Orange is the New Black, you should see this movie for the real picture of what's happening every day to our peers in our prisons. Expand
  2. Dsb
    Apr 4, 2014
    10
    Crime after crime Is a interesting splice of life Woven in a tapestry of controversy It follows the struggles of a woman falsely Accused of murder Of her abusive pimp boyfriend With a excellent backstory of two young attorneys trying to get her out of prison I find this will be uplifting and positive
  3. Apr 3, 2014
    10
    With good reason this film received seven standing ovations at Sundance! It's personal, emotional and uncovers shameful things about our legal system. Footage taken within a prison, let alone one of the biggest maximum security women's prisons in the world, is impossible to get so this was a huge coup for the filmmaker. Should be required viewing.
  4. Apr 3, 2014
    10
    This gripping independent film provides a rare and intimate look at the legal battle to free someone who has been wronged by the criminal justice system. It's more dramatic and emotionally powerful than anything I've seen in years. I don't want to spoil anything, but it has several significant plot twists, and the people in it are absolutely riveting. The music is great too, much better than most movie music. Expand
  5. Jul 22, 2011
    9
    Although not the most cinematically adept or professional documentary of the year (and a bit too blatantly manipulative), the story of Debbie Peaglor and her interminable legal battle is so involving and so heart-breaking that it seems to me that only the heartless (ot the terminally chauvinistic) could fail to be moved by the movie. It is a stunning story from both a personal and a legal point of view; and (as in the case of The Last Mountain), it is a tragedy that so few people will see it (unless they tune it later to the Oprah network) and that the major newspapers again sent their 3rd string critics to review it. (The theater at which I saw the movie--the only theater in the area to show it--was playing it only one time per day.) The mix of personalities and backgrounds among the lead "characters" and their obvious affection for each other makes the movie even more compelling. Go see it before it closes (if it hasn't already). Collapse
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Katie Walsh
    Apr 6, 2014
    100
    Potash marks time by the year until the last 30 minutes of the film, when the clock intertitles speed up with the many advancements in her situation, building to a breathless finish that will leave the viewer emotionally crushed and yet also hopeful and joyous.
  2. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Sep 15, 2011
    67
    I suspect it's that spirit as much as the injustice of her incarceration that drew so many people to her cause and inspired this labor-of-love documentary about her journey to hell and back.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Nilsen
    Aug 20, 2011
    70
    As cinema, Crime After Crime is nothing special. It would be perfect for a PBS "Frontline" entry. But it reminds us, once again, that little can be quite so riveting as a well-told story from a compelling talking head.