User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 472 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 71 out of 472
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JoelS.
    Jul 12, 2001
    10
    This was a GREAT movie. The action was superb, and the romance was very enjoyable to watch. This should have won best picture, not "Gladiator."
  2. JohnS.
    Aug 6, 2001
    10
    Super!
  3. Sam
    Aug 16, 2001
    10
    This movie was an amazing combination of romance, great acting, beautiful surroundings and of course, dazziling marshall arts. Stunning!
  4. YoonC.
    Sep 15, 2003
    9
    Sweeping and grand, at moments even lushly beautiful, it suffers from Zhang Ziyi's skeletal features and performance. Far better are the seasoned veterans Chow and Yeoh who slowly, layer by layer, unwrap and bare the love they feel for eachother. Some action scenes have mythic grandeur while others are of looney tunes variety. Uneven, but far more mature than the average HK fare Sweeping and grand, at moments even lushly beautiful, it suffers from Zhang Ziyi's skeletal features and performance. Far better are the seasoned veterans Chow and Yeoh who slowly, layer by layer, unwrap and bare the love they feel for eachother. Some action scenes have mythic grandeur while others are of looney tunes variety. Uneven, but far more mature than the average HK fare which inspired it. Expand
  5. RosieT.
    Jun 24, 2002
    9
    This film is a wonderful one. It is beautifully shot and choreographed, however, i give this film a 9 as opposed to a 10 because some parts of the movie were very far from reality.
  6. JoshD.
    Jul 31, 2001
    10
    Amazing, beautiful, and great action. Probally the best movie I've ever seen. Ang Lee did an amazing job.
  7. MinT.
    May 18, 2003
    4
    Being Chinese myself, I was extremely disappointed in the juvenile references in the film. I myself prefer less violent films. However, I do commend the makers of the film on the breath-taking cinematograpy. All in all, this movie warrants a dead center rating. I would also like to request that users condense their reviews, as many of us would rather not read a page-long review. Thank you.
  8. MatthieuR.
    Oct 29, 2003
    7
    Every year, it seems, Hollywood latches onto one or two foreign films and hypes them to high heaven. This wasn't a bad film, but as anyone who's watched other martial arts and chinese cinema knows, it is FAR from the best. The "revolutionary" fight scenes? Hong Kong directors have been doing that for years!
  9. LordoftheRings
    Nov 2, 2003
    5
    Please guys, 98?????? This is a movie of 50! The characters "fly" in battle and the movie is boring.
  10. AndyH.
    Feb 2, 2001
    4
    I am reminded of a college basketball chant for an underdog when their team beats a high-ranked opponent. "Overrated! Overrated!" "Crouching Tiger..." is a good movie, but it is receiving undue praise from the media. It is essentially a popcorn flick, with only adequate dialogue and an average, yes I said average, film romance. And am I the only one who found the fight scenes annoying? I I am reminded of a college basketball chant for an underdog when their team beats a high-ranked opponent. "Overrated! Overrated!" "Crouching Tiger..." is a good movie, but it is receiving undue praise from the media. It is essentially a popcorn flick, with only adequate dialogue and an average, yes I said average, film romance. And am I the only one who found the fight scenes annoying? I realize the floating and the flying are "beautiful," supposedly, but it just comes across as ridiculous whimsy that was the brainchild of a 5 year old. Expand
  11. MamaG.
    Feb 12, 2001
    9
    I would never voluntarily pay to see a martial arts film - just not my style. BUT this film transcends the action. It is a old fashioned romance and adventure movie with excellent characters. I was surprised by the female emphasis in the story and I wept at the ending. I thought it was visually stunning and the martial arts scenes were more like dancing than violence. You don't have I would never voluntarily pay to see a martial arts film - just not my style. BUT this film transcends the action. It is a old fashioned romance and adventure movie with excellent characters. I was surprised by the female emphasis in the story and I wept at the ending. I thought it was visually stunning and the martial arts scenes were more like dancing than violence. You don't have to like Jackie Chan or Kung-Fu to thoroughly enjoy it! Expand
  12. PatC.
    Dec 1, 2003
    8
    Sometimes a movie works for no obvious reason, defying analysis. Also, if one is familiar with past products of the Chinese film industry, this film is a warning that, unlike India and other provincial movie cultures, Chinese movies are often thoroughly composed and are now capable of global appeal. Watershed movie such as this usually get rated at least a 10. If it had been made Sometimes a movie works for no obvious reason, defying analysis. Also, if one is familiar with past products of the Chinese film industry, this film is a warning that, unlike India and other provincial movie cultures, Chinese movies are often thoroughly composed and are now capable of global appeal. Watershed movie such as this usually get rated at least a 10. If it had been made elsewhere, it's an 8. If made in Hollywood, no one would have believed it. Look, the oriental mindset is a little different. This movie gives one a chance to understand and enjoy it while relaxing and being entertained. Expand
  13. JarrodO.
    Jan 19, 2004
    10
    An absolutely brilliant and beautiful film which will enchant anyone who has the ability to appreciate it. It's delicate subltey, realistic characters, excellent cinematography, fantastic fight scenes and simple yet touching story, combine to form a movie that makes most others seem shallow and totally uninspiring in comparison. People who do not like movies which actually make them An absolutely brilliant and beautiful film which will enchant anyone who has the ability to appreciate it. It's delicate subltey, realistic characters, excellent cinematography, fantastic fight scenes and simple yet touching story, combine to form a movie that makes most others seem shallow and totally uninspiring in comparison. People who do not like movies which actually make them think however, should not waste their time, the same goes for people who are unable to understand the concept of magic, as parts such as where the characters "fly" may confuse them. I cartainly pity people who are unable to enjoy this amazing film simply because they are unable to accept that not all ficticious stories need to abide by the laws of physics, or because having to read the subtitles makes their brains hurt. These people should stick to the bad action movies hollywood spew out every year to keep them happy, or even spend their time doing something constructive such as trying to work out why they can't appreciate a brlliant movie while many others can. I could go on forever about these people and how much they piss me off but frankly it's not worth it. Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon is an amazing movie which anyone with an imagination and an appreciation for the finer things in life will absolutely adore. Expand
  14. NinjaMafia
    Jan 20, 2004
    8
    Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon. The film that brought kung-fu into main stream America. So, how does the movie really stack up? Well, the plot in the movie is really good, if you count it as a kung-fu movie. For any other type of movie (excluding comedy) this story feels a bit lacking. Hey, that doesn't matter, because they managed to incorporate a good story into a kung-fu film. Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon. The film that brought kung-fu into main stream America. So, how does the movie really stack up? Well, the plot in the movie is really good, if you count it as a kung-fu movie. For any other type of movie (excluding comedy) this story feels a bit lacking. Hey, that doesn't matter, because they managed to incorporate a good story into a kung-fu film. Now, I'm not even going to comment on the acting because I don't fluently speak Chinese so I wouldn't be able to grade the way they act, however, from my point of view it is extremely well. How about the action? Well, the action was good in many parts. However, the parts where they just kind of flew seemed a bit ridiculous but at the same time, surreal and enchanting. However, the bar fight seen had some of this and it looked just ridiculous to me, unlike the bamboo forest. My real problem with this movie is the middle of the movie. The middle explains the past of a pair of lovers an the such. Besides the fact that chasing a man for days and weeks on end just for a brush is absurd, it just completely throws off the pacing and mood of the film. If they shortened that scene, then this film would most likely be a complete and utter masterpiece. Expand
  15. JohnO.
    Mar 10, 2004
    5
    Beautiful, well-made, but completely devoid of intelligence. Thus, it does never rise above mediocrity.
  16. Ray
    Jan 6, 2005
    10
    Exquisite.
  17. DavidF.
    Jan 7, 2005
    9
    Very stylish movie with excellent mix of fantasy and martial arts.
  18. ct
    Jan 23, 2005
    9
    Great movie!
  19. SørenP.
    Mar 1, 2005
    9
    Beautiful movie -- excellent fight scenes and a stunning setting.
  20. MarcusR
    Mar 30, 2005
    1
    Wasn't even worth my time. What do you get from tons of stupid martial art fighting scenes, no story line and bad acting? A BAD MOVIE I can't stop reiterating how bad this movie was.
  21. JBarr
    Apr 8, 2005
    0
    Overrated pop-culture crap. I don't care if it's from another country unless it's a good movie. Their later works of The house of Flying Daggers and Hero were a great lep ahead of this. If you were going to watch this movie, watch one of those instead.
  22. MichelleP.
    Jul 15, 2003
    0
    I remember seeing this movie when I was in 3rd grade. Though I didn't understand it too much, I remember that it was still able to hold my attention. A few days ago I watched it and loved it even more. It's a beautiful and moving story with superb acting, good characters, beautiful forest settings, and a compelling, inspiring, and touching story. I absolutely loved it.
  23. Jan 26, 2015
    1
    After seeing good reviews for this movie I thought it was gonna be really cool but I was wrong. This movie is very overrated and has a boring story. The story is about a thief that steals a special sword, people chase after that thief, the thief falls in love the end. The fighting scenes are cheesy and not very good and the floating acrobatics did the movie no justice. Overall I wouldn'tAfter seeing good reviews for this movie I thought it was gonna be really cool but I was wrong. This movie is very overrated and has a boring story. The story is about a thief that steals a special sword, people chase after that thief, the thief falls in love the end. The fighting scenes are cheesy and not very good and the floating acrobatics did the movie no justice. Overall I wouldn't recommend this movie, there are better martial arts/fantasy movies out there. Expand
  24. Mar 19, 2015
    10
    When I watch an action movie that has romance, I cringe because alot of times those two genres dont get mixed very well, but the director did such a wonderful job paying sooo much attention to the music, film setting, and the beauty that China has to offer. Yes, it is not that perfect in terms of predictability but you will get immersed in the interweaving plots that this movie has toWhen I watch an action movie that has romance, I cringe because alot of times those two genres dont get mixed very well, but the director did such a wonderful job paying sooo much attention to the music, film setting, and the beauty that China has to offer. Yes, it is not that perfect in terms of predictability but you will get immersed in the interweaving plots that this movie has to offer. For me, it was quite relatable from the lessons that the director tried to convey. The fight scenes are of course classic and the acting is alright.

    I'm giving this a 10 because this is a unique film in its genre that gives a real story instead of just 2 hrs of hardcore action
    Expand
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 31
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 31
  3. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Handsome, passionate and fun. It's everything we go to the movies for.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    Brilliance of the action and effects are supplemented by a consistently superior and resourceful score by Tan Dun.
  3. 90
    The picture is more fun than it has a right to be.