Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: December 8, 2000
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 540 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
446
Mixed:
43
Negative:
51
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
Smiles22Dec 28, 2015
I had high expectations for this show but was largely let down. Although the special effects were good, the acting was mediocre and the ending was terrible and disappointing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
CrazyBeetleJan 26, 2015
After seeing good reviews for this movie I thought it was gonna be really cool but I was wrong. This movie is very overrated and has a boring story. The story is about a thief that steals a special sword, people chase after that thief, theAfter seeing good reviews for this movie I thought it was gonna be really cool but I was wrong. This movie is very overrated and has a boring story. The story is about a thief that steals a special sword, people chase after that thief, the thief falls in love the end. The fighting scenes are cheesy and not very good and the floating acrobatics did the movie no justice. Overall I wouldn't recommend this movie, there are better martial arts/fantasy movies out there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
marc5477Jan 21, 2015
Crouching poop is more like it. For sheep who want to belong to the hip crowd and the artsy fartsy folks with below average IQ. Clearly the reviewers were all paid off or cherry picked (Sony is notorious for fixing reviews), because they cantCrouching poop is more like it. For sheep who want to belong to the hip crowd and the artsy fartsy folks with below average IQ. Clearly the reviewers were all paid off or cherry picked (Sony is notorious for fixing reviews), because they cant get average real people to positively review their garbage. Extremely boring film with nonsensical plot, uninteresting characters that have no depth whatsoever on top of extremely stupid looking martial arts like we were back in the early 80s again (but without the grit). No redeeming qualities anywhere. This one was so bad I actually walked out of the movie theater on its premiere more than a decade ago. I asked and was given a refund. I watched it entirely a few days ago and basically played with my phone the second half of the movie out of boredom. For what its worth, I like action movies but I don't need explosions and effects to find enjoyment. I need a story 1st, and then anything else is gravy... it a movie after all. If i want to look at a painting ill go do that but this is a movie and not a painting. A movie is supposed to have a story to tell otherwise there is no reason to make it into a movie aside from appeasing one inflated ego. Even if a story is non-sense it could still be interesting if characters are interesting or funny. This movie has none of that. It might as well had been told in a 10 page picture book for kids.

People need to stop selling out just to fit into the crowd. Grow a spine and call it what it is. This is a bad movie that was overrated through corporate payoffs.
Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
0
ToddDowNov 12, 2014
To this day I still do not understand what anyone got from this movie. I waited and waited for a good scene, any good scene to arrive, then the movie abruptly ended. Worst movie I can remember seeing. "Action" movie? There is NEVER anyTo this day I still do not understand what anyone got from this movie. I waited and waited for a good scene, any good scene to arrive, then the movie abruptly ended. Worst movie I can remember seeing. "Action" movie? There is NEVER any decent action and the story is rubbish. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
MawsonAug 4, 2012
Please no, make it stop. When the most over-rated director of all time is let loose with such a poor script and weak concept, no wonder the result is a muddled and contrived nonsense. Absolute drivel from start to finish, genuinely I can'tPlease no, make it stop. When the most over-rated director of all time is let loose with such a poor script and weak concept, no wonder the result is a muddled and contrived nonsense. Absolute drivel from start to finish, genuinely I can't find anything positive to say about this awful waste of time. I gave this 1 out of 10, and that point is only earned for it being the only film I ever walked out on at the cinema. I gave it a second chance on DVD, but to no avail. This motion picture is a modern day version of the emperors new clothes! People will tell you its good and give you that knowing look, as though there's some deep, wonderful secret to be found here. There isn't. The only secret is that its simply a woefully poor film. Avoid at all costs. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
EssenceOfSugarOct 16, 2011
I was in the belief that this movie would turn out amongst the critics as a pile of worthless, tedious crap. I found myself choking on the fact that this actually did well at the box office, and even critics raved about. I've seen a lotI was in the belief that this movie would turn out amongst the critics as a pile of worthless, tedious crap. I found myself choking on the fact that this actually did well at the box office, and even critics raved about. I've seen a lot better films in my lifetime, and yet this tops off as best compared with films I've seen which ACTUALLY HAVE A PLOT. Darn it, I hoped something interesting would happen when I was watching this, but I couldn't, because I didn't know what the hell was going on. I couldn't exactly make out much apart from some sword, dancing through trees and some random love story, which in itself made no sense. And the ending? The worst ending in the history of the earth, a complete flop - fortunately, at least the other parts of the film were bad so it wasn't let down by the ending, although I wouldn't have minded in myself - it was so boring anyway, I didn't see why we should have turned it off while me and my family we watching before it finished. At least I got to see what sort of MASSIVE FAIL the ending was, to top it all off. Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
1
TraceyMApr 18, 2009
Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon is a movie that explores the mythical side of our imagination, is something that begins to try and make our minds become a world in itself. However, was it the type of movie that is reaching for the stars when Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon is a movie that explores the mythical side of our imagination, is something that begins to try and make our minds become a world in itself. However, was it the type of movie that is reaching for the stars when it can barely jump off the ground? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
KevinG.Jan 23, 2008
Boring! The story was long, drawn out, and had little to no redeeming qualities. The acting was good, though the whole idea of the movie was pushed at its "amazing" effects. I'm sorry, but people jumping around on trees obviously Boring! The story was long, drawn out, and had little to no redeeming qualities. The acting was good, though the whole idea of the movie was pushed at its "amazing" effects. I'm sorry, but people jumping around on trees obviously dangling from wires is not my idea of 'good' effects. Forget Crouching Tiger, Get "House of Flying Daggers" or "Hero". They are both 100% better than this. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful
3
DanielC.Nov 30, 2006
Films like this really annoy me, simply because of the over the top fighting. If you want a good martial arts film that is recent, then watch ong bak or tom yum goong(aka the protector aka the warrior king).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MichaelL.Nov 21, 2005
Who the hell cared about a stupid movie as this? I just dont understand why anyone would like to waste 2 hours watching a movie they cant understand with no plot whatsoever.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
ChunkN.Oct 11, 2005
Could not even get halfway through this stupid movie.
0 of 5 users found this helpful