IFC Films | Release Date: February 15, 2006
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 30 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
19
Mixed:
5
Negative:
6
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
MarkM.Feb 27, 2006
Absorbing and provocative film with a thoughtful, cutting sense of humor. With the exception of JFK, I'd say the director does a great job constructing a plausible parallel history that incorporates actual historical figures. Should we Absorbing and provocative film with a thoughtful, cutting sense of humor. With the exception of JFK, I'd say the director does a great job constructing a plausible parallel history that incorporates actual historical figures. Should we just be happy the South lost? Or did the USA post-1865 take on more aspects of the CSA than most of us care to admit? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoJoS.Feb 26, 2006
This is the first time I've watched a film and felt like I was actually in the movie. The film will move you in your seat. It brings out the reality of our past in a humorous way that keeps you wanting to know more. The detail depicted This is the first time I've watched a film and felt like I was actually in the movie. The film will move you in your seat. It brings out the reality of our past in a humorous way that keeps you wanting to know more. The detail depicted in this film is impeccabe. Don't miss out on this oppurtunity to open yourself up to the past, to make our present grander! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JimG.Jul 21, 2006
Feels like an exploitation of exploitation in the guise of provoking thought. Plays for laughs what a documentary would reveal as unlaughable.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndrewHinMDMar 24, 2012
C.S.A. is an excellent satirical-historical product, cleverly using the Ken Burns' style of documentary making. I am pleased to have found it, and plan to share it with my friends. I fail to understand some other viewers' negative reactionC.S.A. is an excellent satirical-historical product, cleverly using the Ken Burns' style of documentary making. I am pleased to have found it, and plan to share it with my friends. I fail to understand some other viewers' negative reaction to the film. I offer a compound question to them: Do you not understand satire or are you simply an ignorant, defensive racist? America has more than its share of ignoramuses and bigots. Such creatures will not find C.S.A. appealing. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
FredrickP.May 20, 2006
Worst movie I've ever watched. Based on speculation, fantasy and ignorance! With the same old promotion of the black - white racist issue that we are all tired of because it holds no truth! It seems that there actually are people who do Worst movie I've ever watched. Based on speculation, fantasy and ignorance! With the same old promotion of the black - white racist issue that we are all tired of because it holds no truth! It seems that there actually are people who do not know the truth and blindly try to demonize the Heritage of a people greater than themselves. What a waste of my time and money. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
LesMJul 30, 2007
The most raciest piece of trash I have ever seen by a wide margin. Everyone connected with this movie should be beaten. Written criticism is too good for them.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
JohnC.Oct 2, 2006
The absolute worst movie I've ever seen. I've come across more creative and interesting writing from students in middle school. I'm surprised they were able to find actors to say such silly things. I wouldn't recommend The absolute worst movie I've ever seen. I've come across more creative and interesting writing from students in middle school. I'm surprised they were able to find actors to say such silly things. I wouldn't recommend this to my worst enemy. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
LeeA.Apr 5, 2008
Reverse Racism Crap !! if the color of a man is to blame for slavery or racism then this Racist is truly a Real Racist people Need to find a better way of Educating them selfs !! This Film was racially motivated in a bad way he blames Not Reverse Racism Crap !! if the color of a man is to blame for slavery or racism then this Racist is truly a Real Racist people Need to find a better way of Educating them selfs !! This Film was racially motivated in a bad way he blames Not Only the slave owners but all white people based on skin color kevin willmott Proves all Races including Africans can judge other races by the color of there skin. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
6
TracyB.Feb 26, 2006
Interesting and i would recommend seeing- but the budet, including the use of several actors in mutliple roles, made it feel more like a film school graduating thesis.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SpongeeeFeb 27, 2006
The Village Voice blurb above is very true, but I think the movie was much better than just average. It has a lot of dark comedy in...I laughed while others didnt at times...and by the end, I felt rewarded for watching the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LarryR.Sep 4, 2006
A rather frightening account of a country that never woke up from their nightmare; in a world we so nearly missed and one in which people like an above reviewer wish did exist.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LarryFeb 21, 2006
considering the low/no budget factor this is an amazing work of thought provoking, humor induced material.
0 of 0 users found this helpful