Universal Pictures | Release Date: February 10, 2006
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 50 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
35
Mixed:
8
Negative:
7
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
JmsbppJul 20, 2013
Jorge el curioso guarda una bonita aventura pero es un pedo total no sale de encontrar un zafiro que el de disfraz amarillo se metio en el culo es pesima
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
MovieLonely94Nov 6, 2010
not my favorite, but Will Ferell has perfect talent
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysFeb 25, 2014
Curious George is a wonderful book, but the movie can't compare It's perfectly light and fluffy, but nothing more than that. It tries harder than what it achieves.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
MarilynZ.Mar 10, 2006
Very enjoyable for the little ones and we had a few laughs in it, too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MatthewS.Feb 10, 2006
A rare and pleasent treat. Heartwarming. A good little monkey (movie).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GregoryK.Apr 10, 2006
My 3 yo son and I have seen Curious George seven times, plus we bought the soundtrack. We both love it. I couldn't imagine a better movie for a father/son outing, given the obvious metaphor of George and the Man in Yellow. And what a My 3 yo son and I have seen Curious George seven times, plus we bought the soundtrack. We both love it. I couldn't imagine a better movie for a father/son outing, given the obvious metaphor of George and the Man in Yellow. And what a pleasure that the animated animals don't speak or do hip-hop. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoshH.Apr 6, 2006
I liked it, my three year old liked it...she kept her toddler butt planted in the theater seat the entire time at the risk of not being able to see the end. Cute, kid friendly but with humor intended for an adult mind as well....a very I liked it, my three year old liked it...she kept her toddler butt planted in the theater seat the entire time at the risk of not being able to see the end. Cute, kid friendly but with humor intended for an adult mind as well....a very satisfying night out with the family. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Feb 11, 2006
I saw this movie last night with my wife and daughter, and we loved it. It was so sweet and innocent, and I found myself smiling throughout. Will Ferrell's performance gave plenty for adults to enjoy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PhilippeF.Feb 13, 2006
My wife and I don't have any children and both enjoyed it tremendously. Simplistic, yes, but engaging and you leave the theater with a great big smile inside and out. I would highly recommend it to the young at heart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GregD.Feb 13, 2006
Great movie for kids, no potty humor, very little violence no parents dying (like most Disney movies) I wish more kid movies were like this!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KayleenaO.Feb 15, 2006
Everything about this movie was great. The animation was fantastic. Especially Curious George's facial expressions. The tone of the voices fit the characters. I loved this movie and I can't wait until it comes out. I'm going Everything about this movie was great. The animation was fantastic. Especially Curious George's facial expressions. The tone of the voices fit the characters. I loved this movie and I can't wait until it comes out. I'm going to buy the first one! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KevinFeb 19, 2006
Definitely agree that it is a nice movie for the kids. That being said, this is NOT one bit entertaining for adults - unlike Toy Story and other "kids" movies. You have to go with just your child's entertainment in mind, which my wife Definitely agree that it is a nice movie for the kids. That being said, this is NOT one bit entertaining for adults - unlike Toy Story and other "kids" movies. You have to go with just your child's entertainment in mind, which my wife and I always do if we're taking the kids to the movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesW.Mar 14, 2006
Curios George was my favorite book character back Kindergarten and 1st grade. Now I'm 40 and I have a 6 year old daughter. Neither of us were disappointed. We had sooo much fun watching this movie together! Highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarkB.Apr 29, 2006
Frank Welker is one of the all-time great names in recent animation history: virtually everyone, adult and child, who loves TV and movie cartoons has enjoyed his work, and yet almost no one knows who he is! He's a prodigiously talented Frank Welker is one of the all-time great names in recent animation history: virtually everyone, adult and child, who loves TV and movie cartoons has enjoyed his work, and yet almost no one knows who he is! He's a prodigiously talented and versatile voice artist who has worked for most of the big animation firms; he took over some of Mel Blanc's most famous vocal characterizations after Blanc's death, but Welker's specialty is animal noises--moos, meows, chirps, barks, roars and other miscellaneous gutteral utterances from creatures who aren't as articulate or fluent in the English language as Bugs Bunny is. True to form, he voices the title character in Curious George, the film version of H. A. Rey's beloved children's books centering on an inquisitive little monkey, and yet you have to wait until more than halfway through the closing credits to see his name appear even once, even though he plays the LEAD ROLE! Not that I'm complaining too much about the actual celebrity voices involved here: Will Ferrell is admirably restrained as George's best friend, pet human and father figure, The Man With The Yellow Hat; Drew Barrymore is thoroughly enchanting as Yellow's would-be romantic interest (or as close as you get to one in a G-rated cartoon); and Dick Van Dyke, David Cross and Joan Plowright contribute nicely modulated supporting bits. Ron Howard's Imagine Entertainment seemed to take forever to get this produced, perhaps in part because the Rey estate saw just what an offensive distortion Howard and his company made out of Dr. Seuss's How the Grinch Stole Christmas, and (I'd like to think) they decided to make sure that Opie and the suits remained faithful to the innocence of the George books. The wait was worth it: in an era when such lumps of prefabricated pop-culture junk as Madagascar and Hoodwinked are accepted by far too many as quality family entertainment, this is a real breath of fresh air--a kids' movie that really is designed, written and pitched for them, with just a few sly references to A League of Their Own and the like to get a smile out of Mom and Dad. Not that adults should be bored by it at all (in fact, this could be a great date movie!); the stylishly puffy, billowing 2D layouts and backgrounds are a lot of fun to look at and seem completely effortless even though we know how much hard work went into them. The movie is effectively fast-paced without ever being manic, and--appropriately for wee ones and even some of us jaded Big Ones--so goodhearted that it even allows its nominal comic villain a partially happy ending. The only two real complaints I have about Curious George are the completely inappropriate product placements (even if they're for fruits rather than potato chips or candy bars, and little George has to eat SOMETHING)...and the fact that Frank Welker really, really needs to hire himself a good lawyer, if not a more aggressive agent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LuisG.Sep 25, 2006
A fan of the books and with a younger brother I tend to watch pleanty of kid-films and I have to say this is the first time I felt safe at the movies with my 7 year old brother... no inuendo, no inside jokes just pure simple story like they A fan of the books and with a younger brother I tend to watch pleanty of kid-films and I have to say this is the first time I felt safe at the movies with my 7 year old brother... no inuendo, no inside jokes just pure simple story like they used to make them ... the film is delightful, caring and what i havnt seen in years .... I will a copy of my own and then one for my lil brothers ... salutes... perhaps the only drawback is the length I would of liked to see more ... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RodT.Feb 11, 2006
A very nice little movie - I just returned from seeing Curious George this afternoon and my early, undigested impression is that it
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JustinC.Feb 15, 2006
Awesome movie. I thought it was adorable. George is so cute in this movie. It touches your heart during some parts but most important of all, I laughed and smiled through the whole movie. Perfect 10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobM.Feb 19, 2006
Took my 5 yr old son to see this movie yesterday and it was wonderful. Wonderful because it was actually a movie produced for him and not me...never tried to be, and I appreciate that. What's curious to me is that this movie has Took my 5 yr old son to see this movie yesterday and it was wonderful. Wonderful because it was actually a movie produced for him and not me...never tried to be, and I appreciate that. What's curious to me is that this movie has actually received some negative reviews. My son loved it, and I loved watching it with him. Great soundtrack too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JenO.Mar 15, 2006
Excellent movie with songs that you can't help but hum along with.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidF.Mar 22, 2006
Nice movie for kids. I took my 4 year old daughter to this film as her first visit to a real cineplex and it was an almost perfect little film for her age. Not great for older kids though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattC.Sep 24, 2006
I watched this movie with my little sister and thought is was great, and I'm 19 years old! It made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CineAutoctonoJul 25, 2015
Common sense , an extraordinary adventure , let alone what Sapphire but I prefer this movie divided critics , but have become kindergarteners came when serial stupidity but forgive them for that and I came out with regrets.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FuturedirectorApr 9, 2016
Curious George is sweet, colorful and has very unforgettable characters. Sadly, it's fun and entertainment could be just enjoyable for children, despite its unpredictable plot and simple story-telling.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews