Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: December 21, 2006
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 94 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
65
Mixed:
18
Negative:
11
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
DawnS.Aug 15, 2008
I love this movie, it always want to make me cry at the end!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
ArmondA.Sep 20, 2007
For the first time in seven years, since I installed a an 8.5 foot projection system in my home, I felt that someone was going say, "Man you're gonna need a bigger...screen!!". This movie cannot be shrunk, or in any way reduced--in For the first time in seven years, since I installed a an 8.5 foot projection system in my home, I felt that someone was going say, "Man you're gonna need a bigger...screen!!". This movie cannot be shrunk, or in any way reduced--in size, in sound, in color saturation, in brightness. I was lucky enough to see the blu-ray version of the DVD, and run through a new 3-chip RUNCO projector, the image made jaws drop--though as I've said, even a relatively enormous home screen seemed a bit skimpy. Those who saw it in the "theater" may still not have gotten the full treatment, because the film should be shown on a super- wide that's more than twice as wide as it is high. Zhang Yimou is a truly cinematic storyteller, which means that the entire "scene" is part of the narrative. Most of Mr. Zhang's films are based on rather simple, classic tales, often carrying old truths. This story was an illustration of the Chinese saying "Jade and Gold on the surface, Rot and Decay underneath. " If you see this film presented correctly you SEE and experience the spectacle of overwhelming splendor and disgusting carnage. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KristineW.Jan 31, 2007
I thought that the movie was amazing. It is symbolic on so many levels and everyone can feel sympathetic to it. My whole family watched it together. My dad, who always fall asleep in the movie theater actually was very excited while watching I thought that the movie was amazing. It is symbolic on so many levels and everyone can feel sympathetic to it. My whole family watched it together. My dad, who always fall asleep in the movie theater actually was very excited while watching it. Also, my sister who doesn't like movies set within dynasties enjoyed this movie very much. And, my mom loved it as well. I recommend this movie to anyone who enjoys good movies. Also, I'll like to add that the cast made the movie incredible. Jay Chou proved to be very capable at acting, instead of just being musically talented. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JWMar 2, 2007
Visually spectacular and drenched in symbolism. Interesting that a lot of reviewers have a problem with the ending. If you are accustomed to Chinese cinema or television then I guess you won't have such a problem. I can only surmise Visually spectacular and drenched in symbolism. Interesting that a lot of reviewers have a problem with the ending. If you are accustomed to Chinese cinema or television then I guess you won't have such a problem. I can only surmise that it's a Western trait, that films normally end with a 'happy ending'. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PnArdyPnArdyMay 13, 2007
Great decorations, outstanding visual FX. Boring plot that makes no sense. Dramatic events portraying the struggle for the throne within the emperor's family in 10 century's China.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
williamy.Dec 24, 2006
Masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TracyB.Dec 24, 2006
Uncompromisingly staged and beautiful- in the end I did not find the telling of the story to be very compelling.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulK.Jan 14, 2007
Tragic and beautiful. Fans of Zhang Yimou will not be disappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarcK.Jan 17, 2007
I thought the plot/story was much more accessible compared to "Hero" and "House of Flying Daggers." Absolutely gorgeous to look at. If not for the last 20 ridiculous minutes of over-the-top carnage, this could have been a very special film. I thought the plot/story was much more accessible compared to "Hero" and "House of Flying Daggers." Absolutely gorgeous to look at. If not for the last 20 ridiculous minutes of over-the-top carnage, this could have been a very special film. As it is, it's still definitely worth a look. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkM.Jan 2, 2007
Interesting storyline and rich color/details. Good special effects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeithP.Feb 1, 2007
One watches this masterpiece with a growing sense of dread. The unforgettably ominous repition of a few musical cords hints of some lurking evil yet to be revealed. When this pitiless monster is fully illuminated in the last act, we know One watches this masterpiece with a growing sense of dread. The unforgettably ominous repition of a few musical cords hints of some lurking evil yet to be revealed. When this pitiless monster is fully illuminated in the last act, we know we've seen what true unmitigated brutality it, despite the gilded trapings that prevent us from looking away in revulsion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NangK.Apr 24, 2007
Only one scene was not connected: fighting scene. [***SPOILER***]At first, one commander asked not to kill the second Prince, later, he asked his soldiers to take his life. Apart from that, it was very enjoyable. Family affairs, Pride with Only one scene was not connected: fighting scene. [***SPOILER***]At first, one commander asked not to kill the second Prince, later, he asked his soldiers to take his life. Apart from that, it was very enjoyable. Family affairs, Pride with Ancient Hirachy Background. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
OmarB.E.May 6, 2007
Excellent film, great stages and acting. The end is unexpected (in a good way) and the movie gets better over time. The first hour is a bit monotonous as it tries to tell you the life inside the royal family but after that, the plot becomes Excellent film, great stages and acting. The end is unexpected (in a good way) and the movie gets better over time. The first hour is a bit monotonous as it tries to tell you the life inside the royal family but after that, the plot becomes quite interesting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanAug 21, 2007
A thoroughly enjoyable movie. The plot is interesting, but the film is really brought to life by the spectacular costumes, stylish Crouching Tiger-like fight scenes, and a brilliant performance by Gong Li as the empress plotting her A thoroughly enjoyable movie. The plot is interesting, but the film is really brought to life by the spectacular costumes, stylish Crouching Tiger-like fight scenes, and a brilliant performance by Gong Li as the empress plotting her husband's overthrow while having some on the side fun with her stepson (surprisingly she is not the baddie). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JenniferS.Jul 19, 2008
Just beautiful. Suprising and interesting plot. Gong Li was brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VincentK.Dec 24, 2006
Visually stunning, stellar performance from Gong Li.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IanK.Dec 25, 2006
It's a visual feast and a pounding drama by the all time best director, Zhang Yimou!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LiX.Jan 15, 2007
I thought it was very good. The story was different and I have not seen this very often.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Mar 15, 2007
At the outset, "Curse of the Golden Flower" will remind some of a slightly more-involving "Marie Antoinette" with its repetitive scenes of court life. When Empress Phoenix(Gong Li) isn't drinking her medicine, she's sewing At the outset, "Curse of the Golden Flower" will remind some of a slightly more-involving "Marie Antoinette" with its repetitive scenes of court life. When Empress Phoenix(Gong Li) isn't drinking her medicine, she's sewing chrysanthemums for the festival. Otherwise, she's "Spanking the [Chinese] Monkey" with her stepson. Lucky for us, however, a crayon box barfed. You don't watch "Curse of the Golden Flower", you gawk; it contains the most attention-grabbing art direction since Vincent Ward's "What Dreams May Come". A lot of the interiors are so feverishly ornate, even clevage, jiggling clevage, mind you, competes for your undivided attention. Unlike Zhang Yimou's "Hero" and "House of the Flying Daggers", the action here is largely back-ended. If the first two installments of Yimou's martial arts trilogy are popcorn flicks, "Curse of the Golden Flower" is more in line with his early-period works that made him a darling on the film-festival circuit. Although the operatic-like family dysfunctionalism comes perilously close to melodramatic camp, the ravish decor of this hallucigenic vision of early-China manages to normalize the larger-than-life emotions. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Apr 11, 2007
Overall, the film doesn't measure up to Zhang's early masterpieces, but we're somewhat compensated by the gorgeous cinematography and grand staging. In this respect, "Curse of the Golden Flower" on the level of Kurasawa's Overall, the film doesn't measure up to Zhang's early masterpieces, but we're somewhat compensated by the gorgeous cinematography and grand staging. In this respect, "Curse of the Golden Flower" on the level of Kurasawa's late epics. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JohnB.Jun 15, 2007
Curse of the Golden Flower is a solid movie that both captivates and entertains. Like many others have said, the costumes and sets really steal the movie. Overall, it was worth seeing and great all around just nothing outstanding.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JerryS.Dec 22, 2006
Visually stunning. Lavish sets and costumes. But overly melodramatic, and a story that Western audiences may find difficult to swallow. For eye candy alone, it's worth seeing, but if you like tidy story archs and happy endings, look elsewhere.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CoperP.Dec 24, 2006
Gong Li is amazing!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
amys.Dec 24, 2006
One of the most beautiful movies ever!
0 of 0 users found this helpful