Cursed

Cursed Image
Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 230 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: From the team that brought you the Scream trilogy, this teen horror film focuses on three people who are brought together to battle a werewolf.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 21
  2. Negative: 12 out of 21
  1. 63
    Marks a return to a not-so-distant time when horror movies weren't soul-rotting atrocities but just enjoyably bad.
  2. The problem lies with Williamson's script, which feels as if it has been torn from different places and glued back together like a ransom note.
  3. More an uninspired letdown than a flabbergasting turkey... One reason for this lack of bite lies in the werewolves themselves. They're a bit too teddy-bearish, even oddly cuddly, and the fright scenes work better when you don't see much of them.
  4. It's a mess, but it isn't as bad as you think.
  5. It's not bad enough to make you curse, but you are likely to laugh when you should scream, and to roll your eyes when you are meant to laugh.
  6. It's hard to tell who is more Cursed - the pretty young people who turn into werewolves on screen or the people who buy tickets for this slow, witless, predictable horror flick.
  7. 20
    Genre fans and newcomers alike should skip this monstrosity and go rent "Ginger Snaps" instead.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 23
  2. Negative: 9 out of 23
  1. Oct 22, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I Thought This Movie Was A Awesome? Horror And Comedy Film. Jesse Eisenberg And Christina Ricci Is So So **** Hot? Beautiful Pretty! And Sexy Were Great. Expand
  2. Jan 31, 2011
    10
    I thought this movie was a awesome horror and comedy film. Jesse Eisenberg and Christina Ricci were great.
  3. joshh.
    Oct 17, 2005
    9
    I thought this was great. dont watch it excpecting a clever movie. its a freakin horror movie after all. The scene in the carpark wtht eh I thought this was great. dont watch it excpecting a clever movie. its a freakin horror movie after all. The scene in the carpark wtht eh werewolf was quite scary. very well done. watch it, laugh and be scared. Collapse
  4. Sep 21, 2015
    8
    The story is not original, the acting is overall okay except Joshua Jackson who was pretty bad and there was no blood or "Wes Craven'sThe story is not original, the acting is overall okay except Joshua Jackson who was pretty bad and there was no blood or "Wes Craven's violence". But, it is still a pretty good movie. Expand
  5. Sep 12, 2014
    6
    This movie deserves three stars for at least somewhat making sense (yes, there is a plot in this one), and for Milo Ventimiglia being there,This movie deserves three stars for at least somewhat making sense (yes, there is a plot in this one), and for Milo Ventimiglia being there, totally awesome & gay - that always deserves an extra star in my book!

    I watched this movie purely because of Milo. And of course, I'm interested in supernatural, but I don't like horror flicks. From the few little previews I had seen, I knew this movie wasn't going to look very realistic, though. The werewolves made me smirk, and oh, no one told me this movie is pretty comedic at places! Werewolf flipping a bird; now that's not something you see every day.

    Comedy aside, there is a plot in here, which thickens by the end. Of course some of the plot twists are predictable, and some just plain silly. Like werewolves popping up randomly for no apparent reason, other than a rather hollow plot point...

    The acting isn't brilliant, but not bad either. I did love Milo's role as Bo, though.

    As a horror movie, there are the usual elements of surprise. The gore is hinted at but not shown.

    All in all, a decent movie, but nothing better than that.
    Expand
  6. Dec 4, 2010
    4
    Although not without its moments, Cursed is a disappointing horror comedy of appalingly weak performances, repulsively cheesy VFX and a wildlyAlthough not without its moments, Cursed is a disappointing horror comedy of appalingly weak performances, repulsively cheesy VFX and a wildly predictable script. Expand

See all 23 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Wes Craven's Best and Worst Movies

    Ranked: Wes Craven's Best and Worst Movies Image
    Published: October 21, 2010
    Just in time for Halloween, our week of horror-related articles kicks off with a look at the career of one of the genre's most prolific directors, Wes Craven.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 30, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including The BFG, The Purge: Election Year, The Legend of Tarzan, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016 Image
    Published: June 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of July, including an extended version of Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice plus Green Room, Everybody Wants Some!!, O.J.: Made in America, and more.
  4. 10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July

    10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July Image
    Published: June 28, 2016
    Our editors pick out the most interesting films headed to theaters next month.
  5. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.