Cut to Black

Cut to Black Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 3 Critics Awaiting 1 more review What's this?

User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A disgraced cop is hired by a wealthy former friend to rid his estranged daughter of a stalker.

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Reviewed by: Ronnie Scheib
    Oct 21, 2013
    70
    Although the film wears its dated genre affectations on its sleeve, the script avoids pretension, its hero’s believably alienated exhaustion overriding mere nostalgia.
  2. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Oct 17, 2013
    50
    A mildly engaging lowlife odyssey that struggles not to choke on its own style.
  3. Reviewed by: Zachary Wigon
    Oct 17, 2013
    50
    While Eberle's execution falls short, the scale of his ambition can't help but stir admiration.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Oct 19, 2013
    8
    A great independent film that uses a mix of classic and modern film conventions to give a new spin on the film noir genre. I saw this movie atA great independent film that uses a mix of classic and modern film conventions to give a new spin on the film noir genre. I saw this movie at Cinema Village in New York, and was surprised at how strong it was, especially after the Times complained of how cheap it was. The music and cinematography, and the lead performance we all first rate. I recommend this film to anyone tired of the same old indies. Collapse
  2. Oct 18, 2013
    6
    The best part of the NYT review was: "More high homage than actual movie, “Cut to Black” is nevertheless weirdly diverting, mostly because ofThe best part of the NYT review was: "More high homage than actual movie, “Cut to Black” is nevertheless weirdly diverting, mostly because of the impressive black-and-white cinematography of James Parsons. Delivering a saturated aesthetic that manages to transcend the film’s tonal inertia and restricted budget, Mr. Parsons gives life to cold flesh and bleak dialogue. His talent, and Mr. Eberle’s depressed performance, gradually win you over" because I've met Mr. Parsons and know how hard he works on his stuff. Expand

Related Articles

  1. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2010

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2010  Image
    Published: December 21, 2010
    Whether you are a longtime iPhone user or you just received an iPad from Santa, you're probably looking for something fun to do with your Apple device. Here are this year's best-reviewed games available in the App Store.
  2. iPhone/iPad Games Guide: What to Buy This Month

    iPhone/iPad Games Guide: What to Buy This Month Image
    Published: October 28, 2010
    October's best-reviewed new iPad and iPhone games range from the intense first-person shooter "Modern Combat 2: Black Pegasus" to the casual game hit "Cut the Rope." Plus, find out why the new "Sonic" title disappointed critics.
  3. The Best and Worst Time Travel Movies

    The Best and Worst Time Travel Movies Image
    Published: March 23, 2010
    We've traveled through the history of cinema to uncover the best and worst time travel movies -- as well as everything in between. Where do your favorites stand?
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 30, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including The BFG, The Purge: Election Year, The Legend of Tarzan, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  5. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016 Image
    Published: June 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of July, including an extended version of Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice plus Green Room, Everybody Wants Some!!, O.J.: Made in America, and more.
  6. 10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July

    10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July Image
    Published: June 28, 2016
    Our editors pick out the most interesting films headed to theaters next month.
  7. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.