CZ12

CZ12 Image
Metascore
29

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
1.1

Overwhelming dislike- based on 55 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 4
  2. Negative: 2 out of 4
  1. Reviewed by: Gary Goldstein
    Oct 17, 2013
    40
    May please non-discriminating fans of its co-writer/director/star (and more) Jackie Chan, but will likely leave most other viewers dazed, confused and eagerly watching the clock.
  2. Reviewed by: Andy Webster
    Oct 17, 2013
    40
    The film is about exotic locations (including a volcano), garish humor (often at the expense of Mr. Chan or women), fisticuffs, stunts and frenetic visual bombast.
  3. Reviewed by: Maggie Lee
    Oct 17, 2013
    30
    Taking more than a dozen credits, including helmer-scribe, Jackie Chan emerges a Jackie-of-all-trades and master of none.
  4. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Kerr
    Oct 17, 2013
    20
    The kind of mindless, silly romp the multi-hyphenate has become known for.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 5 out of 6
  1. Mar 5, 2014
    8
    I'm a long time fan of Jackie films and I thought his stunts were still very imaginative. There was some unnecessary CGI bits at the end andI'm a long time fan of Jackie films and I thought his stunts were still very imaginative. There was some unnecessary CGI bits at the end and there were some cheesy bits but thats just Chinese humor. The fight sequences were well done, which is the main thing I look for watching a Jackie film. The story I thought was fun too. Its a good ride : ) Expand
  2. Feb 21, 2016
    1
    The character of Asian Hawk in Armour Of God is, in my opinion, Jackie's finest on-screen creation. That film was an excellent blend ofThe character of Asian Hawk in Armour Of God is, in my opinion, Jackie's finest on-screen creation. That film was an excellent blend of Indiana Jones-style exploration and ancient artifacts, combined with high octane action. It was let down mainly by the stupid sidekick character (played solely for laughs by Canto-pop star Alan Tam), and the end fight, where Jackie faces off against a group of four black female martial artists. The fight being a let down because it lacked any sense of urgency, dread or peril.

    The sequel was even better, being filmed on a budget nearly times greater than ANY film made by a Hong Kong studio up to that point. Jackie (now called Asian Condor) has to track down a cache of stolen Nazi gold hidden in a secret base somewhere in the North African desert. Featuring more intense fighting, more insane stuntwork, and an ending that is as inventive as it is satisfying. Let down only by its excessive run-time, and the terrible 'karaoke-style' soundtrack.

    And then we get to this abomination.... CZ12, or Chinese Zodiac, or Armour of God 3.....

    There's no point discussing the plot, it's nonsensical. Suffice to say the narrative exists solely for Jackie to get from one situation to the next, and as such there's no real sense of structure to it. I watched the film twice, over a weekend, the second viewing just to find out if the things I remembered seeing did actually happen. I'd convinced myself it really couldn't have been as bad as my memory was screaming at me!

    Everything about the film is terrible. One of the big problems, from my point of view, is that the character Jackie plays is effectively 26 years older than in the first movie, and Jackie was 31 when he filmed that. And it just made me feel very sad, not because Jackie can't still throw a punch, or put together a few backflips and handstands.... No, it's because everything he does in this film, he's done so much better in the past. The lack of originality is astonishing.
    Throw in a huge amount of piss-poor CGI that does nothing to make for a better film, it just adds to the fact that the physicality is now second fiddle to visual effects and clever post-production techniques.
    The direction is uninspired, as is the cinematography... I mean, there are some good ideas being put up in front of our eyes, but they aren't fleshed out.
    And we've not even got to the worst part yet!
    For some reason, probably to increase the run-time, there's a huge number of co-stars in the film. The final 'Island' sequence has about twenty people milling about pointlessly, before the big melee ensues. Just cutting back and forth between Jackie and his little group, and some bad guy and his somewhat larger group. It goes on needlessly for what seems like an eternity, before they all end up in the same place, after Jackie (and group) discover what everyone is looking for.
    You could chop 30 minutes (and about 20 unnecessary characters) out of this movie, and it would still feel like they were stretching it out!

    It's a film so bad, it's only worth watching if you're an ardent Chan fan and haven't seen it. However, if you are (and you do) you WILL be disappointed!
    If you're just a casual action movie fan, and have no predilection about the name of the main 'Star' whose name sits at the start of the opening titles.....Stay away.... YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!!
    Expand
  3. Jul 2, 2015
    0
    One of the most disappointing films I've ever seen. I am a fan of the original two Armour of Gods but this one is just terrible. Jackie ChanOne of the most disappointing films I've ever seen. I am a fan of the original two Armour of Gods but this one is just terrible. Jackie Chan has gotten bad lately, many of his films have sucked but I had hope in this one being a return to form to all of his great Cantonese and Mandarin films of the 80s and 90s. But CZ turned out to be worse than any of the movies he did in Hollywood. Terrible dialogue, terrible acting, unimpressive and fake looking stunts, a boring and tedious story that's over 2 hours long yet feels like it's 4 hours. You will mostly be concerned with your watch while seeing this film as you're desperately waiting for it to end. Expand
  4. Jul 2, 2015
    0
    I too have seen this movie recently and I can confirm it is one of Jackie Chan's worst films I've ever seen. I know he's gotten older andI too have seen this movie recently and I can confirm it is one of Jackie Chan's worst films I've ever seen. I know he's gotten older and that we cant keep expecting the next Rush Hour or something but its still a bad movie regardless. Expand
  5. Oct 18, 2013
    0
    That movie was so bad that I left the cinema. Jackie Chan has lost his talent and every he makes now it is pointless and totally stupid, likeThat movie was so bad that I left the cinema. Jackie Chan has lost his talent and every he makes now it is pointless and totally stupid, like this one. That's all I need to say Expand
  6. Oct 19, 2013
    0
    Once hailed as the new face of action comedy Martial arts...Is now a wrinkled old fart who clearly doesnt realize what it is that his fansOnce hailed as the new face of action comedy Martial arts...Is now a wrinkled old fart who clearly doesnt realize what it is that his fans want to see....WHICH IS CHAN FIGHTING...NOT RUNNING...Bring on Drunken Master 3 and dont waste your time with this...It has one 7 minute fight scene at the end...Like Armour of God part 1...however no where near as good..The main focus is on a one on one with two Chicks fighting rather then on Chan kicking ass himself...That being said..Stunts are Meh...Some good ideas executed poorly through dreadful story telling...I honestly enjoyed "Little Tiger in Canton" aka "Master with the cracked fingers" More then this...and that was Chan in his "B movie" Era..Terrible film...Avoid at all costs. Collapse

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 29, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Wonder Woman, Fantastic Beats and Where to Find Them, Suicide Squad, Doctor Strange, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.