Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: October 26, 2007
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 172 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
104
Mixed:
35
Negative:
33
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ShannonFeb 7, 2009
I loved it! Great storyline, clean humor, very heartfelt... definitely one to add to the family collection.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
ThomasM.Oct 29, 2007
I like the NY Times's take on it best: "winningly gentle and observant." The story centers on Carell and Binoche without falling in the "crazy relatives and drama!" trap like so much holiday mush. Warning: you will fall for Juliette I like the NY Times's take on it best: "winningly gentle and observant." The story centers on Carell and Binoche without falling in the "crazy relatives and drama!" trap like so much holiday mush. Warning: you will fall for Juliette Binoche, if you haven't already from her previous films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatriceDMay 9, 2008
This movie was actually a sweet, poignant look at family and love, and was very entertaining as well. If you are a cynic, it is not going to work for you. If you know that some families actually love each other, you will be touched. It is This movie was actually a sweet, poignant look at family and love, and was very entertaining as well. If you are a cynic, it is not going to work for you. If you know that some families actually love each other, you will be touched. It is like a wonderful summer vacation with your best friends. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KathyE.Jan 6, 2009
I loved this movie. It is warm and clever and funny, with so many little intricate touches contributing to the story line, the character development and the feel-good feeling of it. No, the family was not realistic, but the individuals in it I loved this movie. It is warm and clever and funny, with so many little intricate touches contributing to the story line, the character development and the feel-good feeling of it. No, the family was not realistic, but the individuals in it were, as you got a glimpse into each of them in "just three days". I still feel great and hopeful even 24 hours after watching it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JayS.Nov 10, 2007
This was one movie that took me by surprise. Carell and Binoche both deliver wonderful performances and the supporting cast was great. Carell takes a turn as his role as Dan, which in my opinion is one of the better performances this year. I This was one movie that took me by surprise. Carell and Binoche both deliver wonderful performances and the supporting cast was great. Carell takes a turn as his role as Dan, which in my opinion is one of the better performances this year. I enjoyed every moment of this movie, but it felt like I was watching The Family Stone again. Even though it seemed sappy and sitcom like, I could not help but feel for the charactors and wanted them to all have their happy ever afters. This is on my top 10 list for one of the best movies of 2007. Go out and see it , you wont regret it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadS.Nov 4, 2007
The name of the film is "Dan in Real Life", not "Dan in an Ingmar Bergman Homage". Thankfully, Dan's family isn't a bunch of eccentric kooks. They're more like people than types. The only time "Dan in Real Life" loses its The name of the film is "Dan in Real Life", not "Dan in an Ingmar Bergman Homage". Thankfully, Dan's family isn't a bunch of eccentric kooks. They're more like people than types. The only time "Dan in Real Life" loses its credibility as a depiction of "real life" is when they the family puts on a talent show. Then it feels like a Woody Allen film on acid. Steve Carell (in a dramatic turn that Jim Carey would die for), like Allen, holds his own against a much more beautiful counterpart. Placing Binoche in a bowling alley is a brilliant way of demonstrating how this American film has a European influence, and how her character is willing to settle down after a life of jet-setting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VinceM.Oct 27, 2007
This movie was great in every way. Steve Carell is a great actor and actually brought depth to his character, and I hate Dane Cook, but even he wasn't annoying or grating. A well told story that had me become a complete cliche'; This movie was great in every way. Steve Carell is a great actor and actually brought depth to his character, and I hate Dane Cook, but even he wasn't annoying or grating. A well told story that had me become a complete cliche'; laughing and crying at certain moments. This one would be fun to see more than once. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GrantS.Oct 28, 2007
Great movie. Not really the type of movie I usually like but I really enjoyed this one. Reminded me a lot of my family. I can't respect people who write reviews who haven't finished the movie, since you have not experienced the Great movie. Not really the type of movie I usually like but I really enjoyed this one. Reminded me a lot of my family. I can't respect people who write reviews who haven't finished the movie, since you have not experienced the entire movie. All in all I enjoyed this movie a lot and don't understand why people and critics don't like it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanD.Oct 28, 2007
I don't know what everyone else is smoking, but this movie was great. I think more people need to vote, not just the ones with nothing going on in their lives. Everyone in the theater was laughing all the way through this movie. I think I don't know what everyone else is smoking, but this movie was great. I think more people need to vote, not just the ones with nothing going on in their lives. Everyone in the theater was laughing all the way through this movie. I think they would have to disagree with your retarded ratings. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BrittanyH.Oct 30, 2007
This movie had one of those classic, predictable story lines where everything in "Movieland" ends up perfectly. The characters in the film, were very well developed and fun to watch, as characters in movies should be. But the one thing that This movie had one of those classic, predictable story lines where everything in "Movieland" ends up perfectly. The characters in the film, were very well developed and fun to watch, as characters in movies should be. But the one thing that really set this movie in aspect for me, was the setting in which the story was based. The homie cottage in Rhode Island, and the way the fictional family connected on screen, with the games and the close relationships between the different family memebers. Although the audience knows the outcome of the film within the first 20 minutes or so, this movie sets a warm, nice feeling in your hearts and sends you home with a nice message of "what true love is" and how we will all some how find it someday. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaryE.Oct 30, 2007
Beautifully written, unbelievable cast and a wonderful story. This is the kind of movie you can't stop thinking about even days later. Your reaction to this film may depend on how you relate to your own family...this family actually Beautifully written, unbelievable cast and a wonderful story. This is the kind of movie you can't stop thinking about even days later. Your reaction to this film may depend on how you relate to your own family...this family actually likes each other. Steve Carell deserves a Golden Globe nomination for this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JennaG.Jan 16, 2008
The best film i have seen in a long time. I'm not one to cry but it did bring a tear to my eye!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MeghanC.Feb 4, 2008
I liked it movie it was so funny and cute. its not a movie that i would watch over and over again but it was cute and fun. Great family movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveS.Nov 11, 2007
My wife and I loved everything about this movie. Well done, great chemistry, and great family vibe.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanaM.Nov 11, 2007
Very enjoyable movie. Defintely worth the twenty bucks for my wife and I to see. Some real laugh out loud moments. Go see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimNov 1, 2007
One of my favorite films in several years. It is much deeper than I had expected. Funny in spots, heartbreaking in others, and ultimately life-affirming. Steve goes above and beyond.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanC.Nov 17, 2007
warm-hearted, thoughtful film about love and family - perfect for friday night after a tough week on the job!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GaryJ.Nov 8, 2007
A refreshing breath of life. Some contrivance, but still very emjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RichardS.Oct 24, 2007
Carell and Cook show a whole new side to their acting talents. A must see for a good laugh.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KrisOct 26, 2007
Dan in Real Life is funny and heartwarming with moments of touching reality. It's a perfect balance of silly moments and truth. It's great to see Steve Carell show a whole other side of his talent - he's got it all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarkS.Oct 26, 2007
It wasn't amazing, but it was not bad by any means. Steve Carell does a nice turn as a dad struggling to cope with loss and love while raising three girls.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KamariaP.Oct 28, 2007
What a great film. I'm a huge Steve Carell fan- missed Evan Almighty- but i love his characters. he has a good range of comedy and sadness in this film. his expressions are also great- in the bar scene and talent show for example. Also What a great film. I'm a huge Steve Carell fan- missed Evan Almighty- but i love his characters. he has a good range of comedy and sadness in this film. his expressions are also great- in the bar scene and talent show for example. Also Juliette Binoche- good to see her in a different kind of role. the pancake scene - she's great. I just enjoyed watching this family- they're all entertaining and sweet- but also annoying for Carell's character- which is funny. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisR.Oct 28, 2007
I don't know what all these people were talking about, this movie was definitely enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimM.Oct 29, 2007
So funny you're all insane! It was a lot like The Family Stone, but that movie was horrible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ManuelOct 31, 2007
Mr. Carell and Ms. Binoche were terrific. Thoroughly enjoyed the film. For those who have not seen it...go see it, sit back and enjoy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JenniferOct 31, 2007
Ok. I was disappointed by the fact that I was watching the Family Stone again. It has been playing on HBO or Cinemax all month so it's not like we forgot about that movie. Despite that fact, I did enjoy the movie. The pig song alone is Ok. I was disappointed by the fact that I was watching the Family Stone again. It has been playing on HBO or Cinemax all month so it's not like we forgot about that movie. Despite that fact, I did enjoy the movie. The pig song alone is worth watching. It was very touching and sweet and funny at times. It was a chick flick for guys. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnB.Jan 18, 2008
Masterful film making. How funny you find it depends on personal experience no doubt. I found it very funny indeed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KN.Feb 26, 2008
I was impressed with Carrell after his other comedic forays this was a pleasant change of direction. He is a gifted actor who on screen presence in this movie was believable and his portrayal of Dan was never under played or over played. He I was impressed with Carrell after his other comedic forays this was a pleasant change of direction. He is a gifted actor who on screen presence in this movie was believable and his portrayal of Dan was never under played or over played. He was Dan the man. Maybe not an Oscar award performance but he is now one actor that I will look forward to seeing in further flicks. The rest of the cast were a wonderful mix to add to the colorful family Dan belonged to. And here is the best thing I liked about the movie...it made you feel for 95 minutes that you somehow were also a part of his life. Good escapism which is what movies should be about me thinks! Sometimes a movie is just a movie guys Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MidouM.Apr 11, 2008
i hate rating movies before watching them, but i couldn't help but give this feature a 7/10 just for the cast because the story sounds dull and pretty much like every family movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DevonS.Apr 27, 2008
A cute, humorous, and lighthearted tribute to the sitcoms of America.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnneM.Jun 26, 2008
I loved this film! I'm not really sure why so many people found it disappointing. It really seems to be genuine and heartfelt, and achieves just the right balance of comedy, drama, and romance. And the chemistry between Steve Carrell I loved this film! I'm not really sure why so many people found it disappointing. It really seems to be genuine and heartfelt, and achieves just the right balance of comedy, drama, and romance. And the chemistry between Steve Carrell and Juliette Binoche is sparkly and fun... they really make the film work. It is so refreshing to see a romantic comedy without gratuitous sex and unnecessary adult language that people of all ages can enjoy. Two thumbs up! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AllieD.Nov 11, 2007
One of my favorite movies! Definitely a refreshing glimpse of clean comedy and a heartwarming love story. Each actor brought their role to life and made the audience empathize with them in a real way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ShawnSNov 18, 2007
This film is much smarter and more expertly-crafted than the critics (both professional and otherwise) as a whole gave it credit for. If you just look at it as part of the whole "romantic comedy" genre, this film is miles ahead of any of the This film is much smarter and more expertly-crafted than the critics (both professional and otherwise) as a whole gave it credit for. If you just look at it as part of the whole "romantic comedy" genre, this film is miles ahead of any of the typical formulaic, manipulative stuff in that category, so it is a wonderful surprise if that's all you are expecting. But this film touches upon much more, and does with very deft touches or writing and direction. And the acting performances are quite good, with very nice moments between Carell and his daughters. There is real subtlety here on all fronts, except maybe the somewhat literal music score, which was enjoyable all the same. Maybe the subtlety is why a lot of critics and moviegoers intitially dismissed this film. On further viewing, maybe they will change their minds. Or maybe they lack the heart and life experiences to recognize that, while not a masterpiece, Dan in Real Life is quite a gem. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BunnyF.Nov 27, 2007
I felt the movie captured how life can be...felt very real. The family togetherness reminds me of my own family get togethers. Just a really fun film
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AaronS.Nov 3, 2007
Though predictable and unoriginal, this film offers a warm fuzzy feeling to moviegoers thanks to its abbreviated story-telling and lovable characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TimC.Dec 22, 2007
This was a nice movie. Enjoyable even though it was quite unrealistic. Had some funny moments and Steve Carel and Binoche were both good. Dane Cook surprised me with a solid performance as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Bettyh.Oct 27, 2007
I so enjoyed this movie.....it is endearing. The characters oare human and likeable. Binoche glows. Carell's performance is another touching one with a vulnerability and depth similar to his performance in Little Miss Sunshine. The I so enjoyed this movie.....it is endearing. The characters oare human and likeable. Binoche glows. Carell's performance is another touching one with a vulnerability and depth similar to his performance in Little Miss Sunshine. The kids' performances are even very high quality. I laughed, I cried.....and thoroughly enjoyed this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimMOct 29, 2007
Loved it! Definitely an adult-comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaryL.Oct 29, 2007
This is the best romantic comedy I have seen in years. Although there are many laugh out loud moments, it is very subtle. The acting in superb and Steve Carell is amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EdwardK.Oct 31, 2007
I enjoyed it thoroughly -- more than I expected. The scene with Dan and Marie in the bowling alley went on too long, but the scene of Dan's brother trying to sing to Marie made up for it. Steve Carell did an excellent job.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RobertI.Mar 22, 2008
filled with apercus about family life, it hits home again and again. Maybe many families in Real Life do not continue to live this way, but many do, or wish they did, and the script talks to them in a recognizable, almost painfully funny filled with apercus about family life, it hits home again and again. Maybe many families in Real Life do not continue to live this way, but many do, or wish they did, and the script talks to them in a recognizable, almost painfully funny way. The director gets the family tone just right--and love is going to fall where it will, regardless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AmmonV.Mar 28, 2008
The only thing bad about this movie is Dane Cook.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BridgetteL.Dec 13, 2007
This is one of my all-time favorite movies. Not only was it hilarious, but I loved the way it portrayed their particular family life. It was not your everyday typical comedy with crude humor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
StevenFApr 4, 2013
Dan in Real Life follows Dan Burns, an advice columnist who is also a widower in his own real life, and he gets himself into a very real dilemma.
Steve Carell puts in another winning performance playing a not so comedic man that we are used
Dan in Real Life follows Dan Burns, an advice columnist who is also a widower in his own real life, and he gets himself into a very real dilemma.
Steve Carell puts in another winning performance playing a not so comedic man that we are used to seeing as Dan, who is raising his three daughters after his wife has died.
He is going with his daughters for an annual get together with his family at his mum and dads house. After growing apart from his daughters for various reasons, mainly playing the typical dad, he goes alone one morning for newspapers but we find him in a library, where in walks Marie (Juliette Binoche), a beautiful woman who Dan ends up spending the day with and getting to know each other very well, until Marie reveals that she is in a relationship, much to Dan's disappointment.
He returns home to tell his family about this mysterious girl, only to find out that the man she is dating is none other than his brother, Mitch (Dane Cook).
As the tensions starts to build with the two estranged lovers, various situations arise that are quite hard for Dan to bear, but this is all in all a very heartfelt and humorous film that doesn't disappoint.
The story is very much about Dan and his troubles with being a single dad, contrary to certain critic reviews, this is very much done on purpose, to show the difficulties but possibly selfish remedies that Dan or many others in his position may do to solve what they perceive to be a difficult situation.
The wider cast includes Alison Pill, John Mahoney and Dianne Wiest. This cast brings a sense of family security to the film, always being there for someone to rely on or for a shoulder to cry on, the closeness and chemistry shines through in a particular scene when Dan's mum and dad are trying to talk candidly with him when everyone invades which sets up quite a funny few minutes.
Steve Carell proves that he can have a very different and very powerful presence on screen aside from comedy as he did in Little Miss Sunshine, his delivery is superb and definitely the standout of the film.
Perhaps a little slow at only small points, this does add up to a very real, clean but dramatic film that is enjoyable for all ages, dealing with the difficulties of parenthood and family alike.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 15, 2012
The title explains why this is so good. It's about real life, and its fantastically wonderful and genuine.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ibadukefanDec 15, 2013
"You are a murderer of love!" This is a simple story that comes at you from a lot of angles which is uncoincidentally... real life. I felt so connected with Dan's frustrations. Such an easy movie to watch over and over again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
pupusenapatiNov 4, 2015
excellent movie to watch.lovely family movie.just go with your family .....and have a blast..........story of a father who suffers this kind of situation actually lovely to see...haaa...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MonkiReviewsMay 27, 2017
The story is well done and the acting is good, but can be awkward at times. Also, it is unrealistic that everyone can be normal after the twist. It can be awkward, but it is worth a watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews