User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 162 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 162
  2. Negative: 32 out of 162

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Shannon
    Feb 7, 2009
    10
    I loved it! Great storyline, clean humor, very heartfelt... definitely one to add to the family collection.
  2. RyanP.
    Mar 20, 2008
    3
    Steve Carrell and Juliette Binoche can do much better. Everything feels far to contrived. The family dynamic that is portrayed seems deeply out of touch with reality. A few laughs can be found, but overall the movie limps to the inevitable "feel good" ending.
  3. EmilyF
    Oct 30, 2007
    3
    This was, possibly, the most contrived film I have ever seen. It literally left me squirming in my seat. The characters, the setting, everything was just the most cliche thing that the writers could come up with, I am sure of this. This is especially in regards to Dan's three daughters. However, I did think that Steve Carell was perhaps the only redeeming quality of this film. His This was, possibly, the most contrived film I have ever seen. It literally left me squirming in my seat. The characters, the setting, everything was just the most cliche thing that the writers could come up with, I am sure of this. This is especially in regards to Dan's three daughters. However, I did think that Steve Carell was perhaps the only redeeming quality of this film. His charm onscreen was electric, and he made the most of some poor lines and events. I reiterate, Steve Carell=great. Dan in Real Life=worthy of avoidance. Expand
  4. SusanG.
    Oct 22, 2007
    4
    Way over the top and predictable...unlikeable characters.
  5. RobR.
    Oct 26, 2007
    1
    Horrible movie. A love affair so unoriginal it, it made the poor acting stick out like a sore thumb. Far too frequent smatterings of family-bonding montages to fool the audience into thinking that it's actually family movie. It's about 50% montage, 25% watching empty characters flap lips at each other, 25% somewhere on the editing room floor. Don't try to resist the urge to Horrible movie. A love affair so unoriginal it, it made the poor acting stick out like a sore thumb. Far too frequent smatterings of family-bonding montages to fool the audience into thinking that it's actually family movie. It's about 50% montage, 25% watching empty characters flap lips at each other, 25% somewhere on the editing room floor. Don't try to resist the urge to walk out, thinking it might get better. It doesn't. Expand
  6. DavidR.
    Oct 26, 2007
    1
    The latest bomb from Steve Carrel, the new millenium's answer to C. Thomas Howell. Great songs by Lerche but the movie moves at a snail's pace and Dane Cook's cameo was vomit-enducing.
  7. ThomasM.
    Oct 29, 2007
    7
    I like the NY Times's take on it best: "winningly gentle and observant." The story centers on Carell and Binoche without falling in the "crazy relatives and drama!" trap like so much holiday mush. Warning: you will fall for Juliette Binoche, if you haven't already from her previous films.
  8. OtmS.
    May 6, 2008
    4
    Pap. The characters exist only to create dilemmas for the romantic leads. Steve Carrell does his best, but the writing is uninspired.
  9. PatriceD
    May 9, 2008
    9
    This movie was actually a sweet, poignant look at family and love, and was very entertaining as well. If you are a cynic, it is not going to work for you. If you know that some families actually love each other, you will be touched. It is like a wonderful summer vacation with your best friends.
  10. NickL
    May 9, 2008
    0
    Terrible. I usually find Steve Carell to be enjoyable, I wasn't aware Dane Cook was featured, but in spite of that I don't think I've ever seen a movie that made me as miserable as "Dan In Real Life". There is absolutely nothing real about it. Just a whole bunch of cliches, a bunch of unrealistic situations and some unlikeable characters in a pretty "New England" house. As Terrible. I usually find Steve Carell to be enjoyable, I wasn't aware Dane Cook was featured, but in spite of that I don't think I've ever seen a movie that made me as miserable as "Dan In Real Life". There is absolutely nothing real about it. Just a whole bunch of cliches, a bunch of unrealistic situations and some unlikeable characters in a pretty "New England" house. As predictable as can be, not funny at all and has recurring things that are just annoying. Ohhh the cop is coming back to ticket him - comic gold! I really wish i never saw this movie. I don't blame any of the actors. Horrible script. Its hard to believe anyone over the age/maturity/insight level of 20 years wrote this script. Expand
  11. KathyE.
    Jan 6, 2009
    10
    I loved this movie. It is warm and clever and funny, with so many little intricate touches contributing to the story line, the character development and the feel-good feeling of it. No, the family was not realistic, but the individuals in it were, as you got a glimpse into each of them in "just three days". I still feel great and hopeful even 24 hours after watching it.
  12. JayS.
    Nov 10, 2007
    9
    This was one movie that took me by surprise. Carell and Binoche both deliver wonderful performances and the supporting cast was great. Carell takes a turn as his role as Dan, which in my opinion is one of the better performances this year. I enjoyed every moment of this movie, but it felt like I was watching The Family Stone again. Even though it seemed sappy and sitcom like, I could not This was one movie that took me by surprise. Carell and Binoche both deliver wonderful performances and the supporting cast was great. Carell takes a turn as his role as Dan, which in my opinion is one of the better performances this year. I enjoyed every moment of this movie, but it felt like I was watching The Family Stone again. Even though it seemed sappy and sitcom like, I could not help but feel for the charactors and wanted them to all have their happy ever afters. This is on my top 10 list for one of the best movies of 2007. Go out and see it , you wont regret it. Expand
  13. KenanH.
    Nov 23, 2007
    6
    Not Steve Carrel's best at all. But still a funny movie.
  14. ChadS.
    Nov 4, 2007
    9
    The name of the film is "Dan in Real Life", not "Dan in an Ingmar Bergman Homage". Thankfully, Dan's family isn't a bunch of eccentric kooks. They're more like people than types. The only time "Dan in Real Life" loses its credibility as a depiction of "real life" is when they the family puts on a talent show. Then it feels like a Woody Allen film on acid. Steve Carell (in a The name of the film is "Dan in Real Life", not "Dan in an Ingmar Bergman Homage". Thankfully, Dan's family isn't a bunch of eccentric kooks. They're more like people than types. The only time "Dan in Real Life" loses its credibility as a depiction of "real life" is when they the family puts on a talent show. Then it feels like a Woody Allen film on acid. Steve Carell (in a dramatic turn that Jim Carey would die for), like Allen, holds his own against a much more beautiful counterpart. Placing Binoche in a bowling alley is a brilliant way of demonstrating how this American film has a European influence, and how her character is willing to settle down after a life of jet-setting. Expand
  15. BillB.
    Oct 23, 2007
    2
    They should give you a spatula to scrape all the cheese off this movie...awful.
  16. VinceM.
    Oct 27, 2007
    10
    This movie was great in every way. Steve Carell is a great actor and actually brought depth to his character, and I hate Dane Cook, but even he wasn't annoying or grating. A well told story that had me become a complete cliche'; laughing and crying at certain moments. This one would be fun to see more than once.
  17. JaredC.
    Oct 27, 2007
    6
    It's one of those Steve Carell PG-13 allright romantic comedies. It's not the greatest film of all time but it is worth seeing. But don't expect to go to the theatre and laugh your brains out, it's truly not that funny. But ... I recommend only to people who enjoy short romantic comedies with not a lot of innaproprate elements. It's ment for 46-year-olds with good It's one of those Steve Carell PG-13 allright romantic comedies. It's not the greatest film of all time but it is worth seeing. But don't expect to go to the theatre and laugh your brains out, it's truly not that funny. But ... I recommend only to people who enjoy short romantic comedies with not a lot of innaproprate elements. It's ment for 46-year-olds with good mature taste. Though, it's not meant for us young viewers. Expand
  18. GrantS.
    Oct 28, 2007
    9
    Great movie. Not really the type of movie I usually like but I really enjoyed this one. Reminded me a lot of my family. I can't respect people who write reviews who haven't finished the movie, since you have not experienced the entire movie. All in all I enjoyed this movie a lot and don't understand why people and critics don't like it.
  19. RyanD.
    Oct 28, 2007
    10
    I don't know what everyone else is smoking, but this movie was great. I think more people need to vote, not just the ones with nothing going on in their lives. Everyone in the theater was laughing all the way through this movie. I think they would have to disagree with your retarded ratings.
  20. BrittanyH.
    Oct 30, 2007
    7
    This movie had one of those classic, predictable story lines where everything in "Movieland" ends up perfectly. The characters in the film, were very well developed and fun to watch, as characters in movies should be. But the one thing that really set this movie in aspect for me, was the setting in which the story was based. The homie cottage in Rhode Island, and the way the fictional This movie had one of those classic, predictable story lines where everything in "Movieland" ends up perfectly. The characters in the film, were very well developed and fun to watch, as characters in movies should be. But the one thing that really set this movie in aspect for me, was the setting in which the story was based. The homie cottage in Rhode Island, and the way the fictional family connected on screen, with the games and the close relationships between the different family memebers. Although the audience knows the outcome of the film within the first 20 minutes or so, this movie sets a warm, nice feeling in your hearts and sends you home with a nice message of "what true love is" and how we will all some how find it someday. Expand
  21. MaryE.
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    Beautifully written, unbelievable cast and a wonderful story. This is the kind of movie you can't stop thinking about even days later. Your reaction to this film may depend on how you relate to your own family...this family actually likes each other. Steve Carell deserves a Golden Globe nomination for this film.
  22. JennaG.
    Jan 16, 2008
    10
    The best film i have seen in a long time. I'm not one to cry but it did bring a tear to my eye!
  23. DavidD.
    Jan 8, 2008
    3
    A film truly without any direction, almost all the characters here are truly unlikable (Dan thinks he's found the love of his life just because he blabbed on and on to her for an hour, and we're supposed to like his daughters even though they despise him just because they didn't get their way). A trully AWFUL ending as well. This movie actually reminded me of RV, except A film truly without any direction, almost all the characters here are truly unlikable (Dan thinks he's found the love of his life just because he blabbed on and on to her for an hour, and we're supposed to like his daughters even though they despise him just because they didn't get their way). A trully AWFUL ending as well. This movie actually reminded me of RV, except here, in addition to the supporting characters all being unlikable (or likable characters being pushed as unlikable ones), the main characters is also equally hard to find merit in. Honestly, the "real life" part of the title may be the biggest lie of the year, if I ever saw a family this dysfunctional, I'd call them a therapist right away. Skip Dan In Real Life, you'll find nothing but pointless frustration to be found. Expand
  24. MeghanC.
    Feb 4, 2008
    8
    I liked it movie it was so funny and cute. its not a movie that i would watch over and over again but it was cute and fun. Great family movie.
  25. DavidS.
    Mar 13, 2008
    1
    What are the critics smoking? This drippy,sappy, and predictable film is completely overrated. Steve Carell is competent in his first semi-serious role, but alas, the script is a Walmart special! Any human being with a brain at least the size of a pea could predict the ending. Also, do we really need cheesy family values slammed down our throats! I mean c'mon, talent shows and What are the critics smoking? This drippy,sappy, and predictable film is completely overrated. Steve Carell is competent in his first semi-serious role, but alas, the script is a Walmart special! Any human being with a brain at least the size of a pea could predict the ending. Also, do we really need cheesy family values slammed down our throats! I mean c'mon, talent shows and aerobics, give me a break! Skip this movie, you've already seen and loathed it a million times before! Expand
  26. EvanS.
    Apr 4, 2008
    2
    The draw of
  27. ColeM
    Jul 9, 2009
    4
    This movie was sooooo......I don't know. Such a normal, mediocre movie. It is something I could see becoming my mom's favorite movie. I love Steve Carell in The Office and Little MIss Sunshine but I absolutely hated this movie. I give it a 4 because a) everyone loves it and b) Steve Carell is in it.
  28. SteveS.
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    My wife and I loved everything about this movie. Well done, great chemistry, and great family vibe.
  29. DanaM.
    Nov 11, 2007
    8
    Very enjoyable movie. Defintely worth the twenty bucks for my wife and I to see. Some real laugh out loud moments. Go see it.
  30. LewisP.
    Nov 12, 2007
    4
    There's little to get excited about "Dan in Real Life". First off, the whole setup is incredibly contrived. Did you really believe that during that very long first meeting conversation at the restaurant, Marie wouldn't have told Dan where she was going? And since Dan did all the talking during that conversation, why would she be so attracted to him? For that matter, I never There's little to get excited about "Dan in Real Life". First off, the whole setup is incredibly contrived. Did you really believe that during that very long first meeting conversation at the restaurant, Marie wouldn't have told Dan where she was going? And since Dan did all the talking during that conversation, why would she be so attracted to him? For that matter, I never figured out why Marie was so attracted to Dan throughout the movie. He's very narcissistic and does little to convince us that he's truly a good guy (for example he lies to Marie in the bookstore, ridicules his brother about his past girlfriends and tries to make Marie jealous with a 'blind date'). There's more contrivance such as that ridiculous scene at the bowling alley where Dan and Marie are caught making out by the whole family. Yeah like that could really happen. Dan in Real life is slow-paced, sappy and manipulative. Even chick flicks like The Jane Austen Book Club get higher marks than this predictable "tearjerker". Expand
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. 88
    Carell shows a whole new side to his talents.
  2. Provides Steve Carell and Juliette Binoche with comic roles that fit them like designer threads.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    80
    Deftly interlaces heart and humor in a witty, warm and well-observed comedy about the unexpected and inconvenient blooming of romance at the weekend gathering of an extended family.