User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 125 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 3 out of 125

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 20, 2010
    10
    Dancer in the Dark is one of my favourite films ever. I cannot help but cry every time I watch it. The excellent performance by Bjork (surprisingly excellent, might I add) and the genius direction of Lars von Trier work perfectly to make one of the best films that have graced the film screen. Intensely disturbing, yet intensely gratifying and rewarding.
  2. Aug 27, 2010
    2
    A movie that will tear your heart apart - that is if you don't tear your eyes out first. It's too bad, because Björk showed so much promise as an actress in the beginning - but by the end her performance just relies on viewer sympathy and nothing else. To give it some credit, the musical sequences are very well done on their own, but they have no stylistic place in this movie
  3. Feb 15, 2012
    7
    Dancer In The dark by visionary film director Lars Von Trier is one of my favourite films, yes what my favourite film is doesn't matter, but this film is quite simply exquisite. This film uses all of the wonderful techniques seen in Dogme 95 films, to create a deeply immersive filmic experience. The handheld style helps to feel like you are watching a woman's life unfold tragically before you. As it may not be to everyone's taste i'm sure, it is certainly a heart breaker, you cannot help but sympathise with Selma, and a powerful award wining performance certainly contributes to your emotions. For some reason I enjoy the musical/drama, a unique blend. I find it hard to find flaws, and to me it will be a narrative and aesthetic masterpiece. Expand
  4. Dec 25, 2010
    9
    If you think all this movie has is depression and really nothing else, I think you don't even have emotion. You can see the cast and director put so much of feelings and effort into the film. The film is equal to humanity. The themes of the story are love, compassion, greed and ignorance, and what else the human mind works. Lead actress Bjork acts and sings so impressively, the director chose the right actress to star and the correct composer who was Bjork. Sad film but many lessons learned from it indeed. Expand
  5. May 29, 2011
    7
    Lars von Trier never fails to impress and distress in his films. Dogville, Antichrist, Manderlay and Dancing In The Dark, which this one is his most gripping work. Situated in a United States built in the middle of England, since the director refuses to ride a plane, but compensates by rebuilding the spirit of the country and its people with pesonal perfection, the film tells the story of the sweet and innocent Selma, suffering from a disease that will leave her blind and that by being hereditary, then began to affect his beloved son Gene. Despite being in immigrant status, work hard in a factory, living in a small trailer for the properties of a couple and have to struggle to save money for an operation for her son, who refuses to reveal, even tense moments in the film, Selma with her spirit always remains light and dreamy and outrageously good throughout the movie, a character without becoming silly or annoying, but incredibly exciting. After committing a crime is intention, Selma sees everything so that struggled to escape her control, but still insists her goal of helping her son and her good behavior not to harm anyone. After the event climax, all sequences become distressing and depressing, in placing side by side with the pain of the character and causing outrage, anger and absolute sadness in particular at the crime scene and the final sequence. The few, crucial musical moments, are very similar to the work of Björk, a somewhat surreal atmosphere, which take place in the mind of Selma, and act as a form of escapism from the harsh realities it faces. The acting is another highlight for the movie. Björk surprised with an interpretation intense and moving every second of the film, which unfortunately wasnâ Expand
  6. May 7, 2011
    8
    The movie is shot like a documentary which magnifies the sadness of the ending. It is a sad sad movie and has no moral message to offset the tragic ending. Its a movie that i will always love but its always a movie that i would never recommend giving its fatalistic ending. Only for the strong at heart.
  7. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    This movie is utterly depressing, but you can't help feeling its wonder of the musical. It's very inventive and compelling. Yet, the story is making us frustrated. It is very unique in its own way. See it, and i dare you not to cry at the end!
  8. Dec 26, 2013
    9
    Emotive and artistic. This is a Master piece, i dare to say it's the best film Von Trier has ever made.
    Björk becomes in a lovely mother that wants the best for his son... but we're not used to watch sad movies, may tear your heart appart.
  9. May 31, 2014
    9
    Dancer in the dark is a fantastic and touching musical drama with stunning interpretation of Bjork. I would love see her in another movie because she was simply perfect.
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33
  1. 89
    Easily the year's most trying, tormented, and thrilling movie ordeal.
  2. 88
    It is a bold, reckless gesture.
  3. 80
    I was astonished to find myself weeping copiously over von Trier's latest, which is another parable of monomaniacal sainthood.