User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 101 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 101
  2. Negative: 1 out of 101

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 31, 2010
    8
    its like Avatar with indians in this entertaining movie.
  2. Mar 1, 2011
    8
    I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. A great story with great acting and directing. Although it has conflict with Native Americans it was really nice to see a story with such great humanity and friendship with them. It is seriously long and honestly, I don't think I could ever watch it again but it was great.
  3. Jun 18, 2011
    9
    Dances With Wolves is the 1990s version of Avatar. Wait, let me rephrase that; Avatar is a 2000's version of Dances With Wolves. It's well-done, exciting, and truly emotional. It's Kevin Costner's best film,for none of his other's can beat it. It gets you emotionally drawn to the film throughout, and you never want any of the characters to be forgotten. While watching the film, I quickly realized it resembled many characteristics that I had seen in previous movies. The cinematography, the acting, and the story had all been recreated in films that had come out after the movie, and this was a basic beginner of many films in Hollywood. Itââ Expand
  4. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    a great film where you look, with a technical section that nothing blockbusters envy, besides being a heartwarming story of valuesâ
  5. Jan 12, 2012
    8
    A very good, even though a little bit naive movie. Kevin Costner is one of the worst actors I've ever seen, but he seems to work well for this particular one - plus the supporting cast really did their best. The plot is really simple, but it can keep the viewer interested, and the part when Dunbar got to be friends with the Sioux was heartwarming. Beautiful visuals and music complete a movie that is definitely worth watching. Expand
  6. Feb 25, 2014
    9
    Phenomenal film. First off, the cinematography is breathtaking. Just absolutely stunning. The mise en scene, as a whole, is great as well as the scenery was top-notch. In addition, the soundtrack made me absolutely swoon. If I had not already been swept off of my feet, the soundtrack would have swept me off my feet, but in the end, it just serves as further evidence of the sheer beauty of this film. Just wow. In terms of the story, I thought it, as well, was beautifully presented. From the early encounters to the very end, there is a certain beauty to the interaction between the characters as Dunbar adjusts to his new situation. In terms of the acting, Kevin Costner and a cast of relative unknowns did a great job. Initially, I was unsure about Costner and did not like his performance that much in the beginning, but as the film progressed, he won me over completely. The final note I want to make is on the length. It is three hours, so it is up there in terms of time, but it never really shows its length. Instead, it almost tricks you into thinking it is much shorter in the way it utilizes every second to tell its story. Expand
  7. Mar 9, 2013
    9
    With its great direction and extremely well acted and written plot, Dances With Wolves suceeds in all standards.
  8. Jun 15, 2014
    10
    Dances with Wolves is maybe THE masterpiece of Costner's career. As producer and leading role, he manages to reproduce the magnificent western atmosphere that we find in the book written by Michael Blake. The story is centered on the meeting of two cultures -Indian and American- in a context of civil war, in a part of the country not conquered by the army yet. Although the four and half hour of the long version may seem too much, don't expect you to fall asleep! I suggest you to reserve your evening to enjoy this masterwork, both visually and audibly, thanks to John Barry's music. Expand
  9. Jun 24, 2014
    10
    Dances with wolves is something that you don't see in movies now a days and it speaks to you In away that movies should this without a doubt one of my favorite movies of all time
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Smoothly directed by Kevin Costner, who also gives a sensitive performance in the leading role. The screenplay is often trite, however, and there's no reason for the picture's three-hour length. [9 Nov 1990, Arts, p.12]
  2. The picture moves slowly but never sluggishly, and it never grinds down. The measured pace shows real assurance on the part of Costner. [9 Nov 1990, Daily Datebook, p.E1]
  3. 88
    A three-hour delight… The movie generates much of its power by being so life-affirming at a time when people feel nervous about the future. [9 Nov 1990, Friday, p.C]