Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: December 28, 2001
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 21 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
17
Mixed:
0
Negative:
4
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
DavidN.Oct 30, 2005
This film is not about the big battle. It is about a fantastically written story, that opens a very interesting era from our history. It shows what communists did... I must admit, that the real meaning of this film could understand just This film is not about the big battle. It is about a fantastically written story, that opens a very interesting era from our history. It shows what communists did... I must admit, that the real meaning of this film could understand just someone from the Czech rep. ... but also the others should see the atmosphere of our national proud, mostly before the WWII. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HerbertK.Mar 15, 2006
The Dog in Dark Blue World Jan Sverak's Dark Blue World is a bittersweet story of two Czech pilots who fly for the RAF during World War II and their love interests.
[***SPOILERS***] Karel crashes in an attempt to save Franta. Franta
The Dog in Dark Blue World Jan Sverak's Dark Blue World is a bittersweet story of two Czech pilots who fly for the RAF during World War II and their love interests.
[***SPOILERS***] Karel crashes in an attempt to save Franta. Franta goes home to his small Czech town in uniform and is saluted by the uniformed stationmaster. He finds his former girlfriend hanging up laundry and they sadly greet each other. She married stationmaster, thinking that Franta was dead. As Franta starts to leave, his dog, a blonde spaniel no longer young, emerges from under the laundry and greets him. The dog is female; I won
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
neild.Jul 17, 2007
I thought the movie told a remarkable sub-story within the battle of Britain. It reminded me in some ways of the 1988 Masterpiece Theatre Presentation entitled a "Piece of Cake". The love triangle I found a little tortured. Reminded me of I thought the movie told a remarkable sub-story within the battle of Britain. It reminded me in some ways of the 1988 Masterpiece Theatre Presentation entitled a "Piece of Cake". The love triangle I found a little tortured. Reminded me of the movie through the eye of the needle or yanks with a similar scene of the Brit wife left behind who finds comfort in the arms of an allied soldier. I think what was new and well done was the pilots adjustment to English. Their fervent desire to kill Nazis and the cruel twist of being imprisoned by communists. The scene of the solder coming home reminds me of the wolf phrase then when coming home you have changed and it has changed. I wonder aloud what the level of commits were at that time or whether contemporary movies impose the present cultural standards back in time. I suppose we would have to interview to 75-85 year olds to learn that answer. I would recommend the movie to anyone who enjoys a well thought out action packed movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NealY.Jul 25, 2007
One of the best movies i have ever watched if you are interesting in world war 2, you must watch... it is a war movie but it is also drama.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimP.Jan 20, 2008
This is a magnificent movie- touching the heart, while telling a wonderful story. The flying scenes are technically accurate, and it's about the best movie I have seen in years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidC.Jul 17, 2007
They got all the emotions right. Completely believable story produced in an adult fashion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnHAug 22, 2007
A fine story and a great film that will endure as a classic portrayal of love, friendship, courage and sacrifice in the face of extreme adversity. An "in memoriam" as subtle and moving as we are ever likely to see. Thank you to all those A fine story and a great film that will endure as a classic portrayal of love, friendship, courage and sacrifice in the face of extreme adversity. An "in memoriam" as subtle and moving as we are ever likely to see. Thank you to all those wonderful people who helped craft it. Cinema at its very best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RPSep 15, 2008
Best movie I've seen in years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful