Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 101 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Alex Proyas directs this futuristic thriller about a man (Sewell) waking up to find he is wanted for brutal murders he doesn't remember. Haunted by mysterious beings who stop time and alter reality, he seeks to unravel the riddle of his identity. [New Line]
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. 100
    If you don't fall in love with it, you've probably never fallen in love with a movie, and never will.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    100
    It is as cool and distant as the planet the Strangers come from. But, Lord, is Dark City a wonder to see. [2 March 1998]
  3. 90
    Full of provocative concepts, but, like most films that attack such metaphysical concerns head-on, things have become a tad too jumbled by the end to be altogether satisfying. It's a problem built into the subject matter...This all said, Dark City is immensely entertaining, as well as visually dazzling.
  4. An almost really good movie...risks leaving the viewer feeling like one of the bewildered automatons that move through the plots.
  5. 60
    [Proyas] hasn't yet learned how to enliven his characters as fully as his sets. Part of this is structural (somnolence is built into the script), but the greater fault lies with Proyas' direction of his performers, most of whom deliver their lines in a strangulated whisper.
  6. Reviewed by: Anthony Miele
    60
    Hurt and Sewell are both quite believable as their respective characters, while Sutherland's performance is lacking in more than a few catagories.
  7. 20
    One reason this production-design vehicle is so incredibly boring is that the characters keep having to explain the plot to one another.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Jan 14, 2012
    10
    great sc-fi film, really interesting. the plot isnt too complex, and they tell you wants happening. the acting is good, although i didnt likegreat sc-fi film, really interesting. the plot isnt too complex, and they tell you wants happening. the acting is good, although i didnt like Kiefer Sutherland character at first but he grew on me. (spoiler ahead) [[a nice twist, that i wasnt expecting.]] i highly recommend it, can think of anything wrong with. Expand
  2. johne.
    Oct 5, 2008
    10
    Fantastic visuals that still look good even compared to todays standards. I Have no complaints it is what it is, a piece of good inspired Fantastic visuals that still look good even compared to todays standards. I Have no complaints it is what it is, a piece of good inspired artwork. What more could you want? Expand
  3. Aug 30, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It isn't one of those science fiction movies that can be overlooked. It has better effects than The Matrix yet no one gives it the same credit. The movie is extremely fast paced and gives you almost no chances to breathe. The plot can be very confusing but it is very well done. I find it one of the best. Expand
  4. Nov 17, 2012
    8
    Has a visionary coherence that echoes the late, great Stanley Kubrick. I do feel that it ended too quickly. I was entranced, and wanted to seeHas a visionary coherence that echoes the late, great Stanley Kubrick. I do feel that it ended too quickly. I was entranced, and wanted to see more of the fascinating and haunting world Dark City was showing me. Expand
  5. Jan 9, 2014
    8
    Though Dark City starts off terribly with poor acting and a disorienting pace, the movie improves vastly as it goes along, and eventuallyThough Dark City starts off terribly with poor acting and a disorienting pace, the movie improves vastly as it goes along, and eventually becomes a deep, engrossing film (with amazing acting) that was entertaining and thought-provoking. However, do not think this means the film spares any expense to deliver thrilling action and graphics that, despite looking terrible now, were amazing at the time of release and do not throw off the movie even now. Overall, I recommend it to science fiction fans, particularly those who loved the themes and cinematic elements of The Matrix Trilogy, as this movie is very similar in both (though slightly poorer with the graphics since it was released before The Matrix). Expand
  6. Jun 15, 2014
    7
    *Dark city will take you on a very weird ride...*

    I've seen this film several times now and the same conclusion arises at the end "Odd".
    *Dark city will take you on a very weird ride...*

    I've seen this film several times now and the same conclusion arises at the end "Odd". The story itself is very good and you are never really sure where its going next, set in a dark, gothic metropolis city it is sure to have your skin crawl at the depressing atmosphere. It certainty takes more than a sprinkling of 1920/30 detective films with it, although that where the similarity's end.

    But that is not a negative, you will find this film quite indulgent always wanting to see where the next turn takes you. Have I mentioned this is a dark, gothic film already? Yes, well I thought I better mention it again as you will need the curtains drawn to watch this film.

    The characters are played well with the villains making you feel less than comfortable. A worth while gothic adventure for them lonely nights.
    Expand
  7. Nov 28, 2012
    5
    Although some of the thematic elements are pretty intriguing, "Dark City" is significantly held down by its rather silly stylistic elementsAlthough some of the thematic elements are pretty intriguing, "Dark City" is significantly held down by its rather silly stylistic elements and some hit or miss writing. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Music Video Directors Turned Film Directors

    Ranked: Music Video Directors Turned Film Directors Image
    Published: August 31, 2010
    Before Anton Corbijn was directing feature films like this week's "The American," he was the driving force behind iconic music videos for Depeche Mode, U2, and Nirvana. Inside, we look at the careers of Corbijn and over 20 other directors who have made the jump from MTV to the big screen.