Dark Skies

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 181 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 181

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Feb 24, 2013
    1
    Wait for the DVD, this movie sucked on so many levels! Of course the social media and pr managers of this "movie" will say otherwise (as indicated by the overly enthusiastic reviews by some here and on Facebook, which leads one to wonder, "who's paying these people to give such glowing reviews for such an awful movie?" If you value your hard earned cash just watch "Close Encounters",Wait for the DVD, this movie sucked on so many levels! Of course the social media and pr managers of this "movie" will say otherwise (as indicated by the overly enthusiastic reviews by some here and on Facebook, which leads one to wonder, "who's paying these people to give such glowing reviews for such an awful movie?" If you value your hard earned cash just watch "Close Encounters", "Poltergeist", "Paranormal Activity", and "Signs"...all those movies were much better executed AND had better actors. On the plus side, there were some extraordinarily funny scenes, they were unintentional, yet funny all the same. Collapse
  2. Feb 26, 2013
    3
    This is the worst alien invasion movie ever. Weird, unexplained things start happening to a family. Turns out they're being tormented by beings from another planet, while we're tortured by the filmmakers. There's no logic behind what's happening, so instead of a payoff we get an ending that just… But not before we endure 97 minutes of dull family drama with endless ominous music, which isThis is the worst alien invasion movie ever. Weird, unexplained things start happening to a family. Turns out they're being tormented by beings from another planet, while we're tortured by the filmmakers. There's no logic behind what's happening, so instead of a payoff we get an ending that just… But not before we endure 97 minutes of dull family drama with endless ominous music, which is necessary to compensate for the total lack of suspense in the direction or editing. There's lots of portentous atmosphere with no payoff. Watch the trailer and you'll get the highlights. Expand
  3. Mar 3, 2013
    0
    not good at all!!!!!!ZERO it was not good it was small potatoes it was cheap it was junk would not tell you to go see it very low rate no qualitynot not not not not not not not good at all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! should be consider donation money to the actors just not likeable at all.
  4. Mar 13, 2013
    2
    This movie is terrible. I could barely even sit through the entire thing I was so bored. The acting is awful, and I feel like the writers went out of their way to make you hate all the characters. I hated every character in this movie, I couldn't care less what happened to them after it was over. The plot is terrible. Basically there are aliens that watch humans while they sleep, and thenThis movie is terrible. I could barely even sit through the entire thing I was so bored. The acting is awful, and I feel like the writers went out of their way to make you hate all the characters. I hated every character in this movie, I couldn't care less what happened to them after it was over. The plot is terrible. Basically there are aliens that watch humans while they sleep, and then after like 6 months of watching people sleep they eventually take one of the family members. While okay in theory, it is a failure in practice. The aliens have a creepy presence, since you never directly see one, but they never really do anything. I don't understand why they have to watch people sleep for 6 months before they can finally take them. Also, almost everything that happens in the movie is completely unexplained. Watch the trailer for this movie and you can see every scary/creepy part of the entire movie. Literally. I knew exactly what was coming up every single time something scary happened. Note that these scenes never scared me, I could just tell it was the directors failed attempt at scaring us. I felt embarrassed for the directors multiple times throughout this movie. A kid wets his pants then screams for like 15 seconds straight for no reason whatsoever, and it did nothing but hurt my ears. I can't thing of a single good part of this movie other than the premise, which failed anyways. This movie is horrible, I would have been better off throwing $10.50 out the window than wasting my time and money watching this movie. Expand
  5. Apr 27, 2013
    3
    Joined Paranormal Activity, Insidious, The Apparition and Dark Skies left. It is a complete shame.
  6. Nov 1, 2013
    2
    Even though this supernatural thriller makes you jump multiple times, it is a bore from beginning to end. I was so very eager to see this movie because it was from the producer of Insidious, but this film is one real bad and boring horror movie.
  7. May 31, 2013
    2
    I lean in to both the horror and sci-fi genres. As such, I felt very charitable toward Dark Skies throughout. However, the ending is a complete punt. This movie set out to tell a story, did so fairly well until the final 5 minutes, then completely ruined the movie. I wish I had the time invested watching this back. Stay away, even as a rental.
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 19
  2. Negative: 4 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Sobczynski
    Sep 9, 2014
    38
    In extending itself to reach a conventional feature length, however, it becomes a below-average programmer in which brief moments of interest are interrupted by long stretches of boredom.
  2. Reviewed by: Ken McIntyre
    Mar 25, 2013
    60
    As a shocker, Scott Stewart’s (Priest) film is solid, but it’s the thoroughly depressing backdrop that you’ll take away.
  3. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Feb 27, 2013
    67
    More chilling than terrifying, this movie’s predatory aliens are creatures that mostly mess with people’s heads prior to abducting them.