User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 116 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 116
  2. Negative: 19 out of 116

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 23, 2013
    9
    Dark Skies is definitely a thrilling piece with impressive production value. Its not cheesy like many films of the same genre. Would absolutely recommend to friends.
  2. Dec 22, 2013
    9
    Having seen the film twice now, I have to say it has been an amazing experience to watch this film. From the plot to the acting and the cast; the film represents the feelings of both parents and their children in a way that draws your attention to the film like many other films cannot manage doing. As a horror film enthusiast and having watched hundreds if not more than a thousand horror films to-date; I have to say this is one of those films that I will not hesitate to make my friends watch and re-watch myself again and again. Expand
  3. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    The movie is very interesting and intriguing. I was a bit skeptical about the movie because it was from the producers of Paranormal Activity, but the movies is very good. It made jump out of my bed a few times and bite my nails while I was waiting to see what was gonna happen. It makes you wonder what is going to happen next and whatever happens next is not what you though was going to happen. I strongly recommend this movie. Expand
  4. Feb 23, 2013
    9
    Dark Skies is an ET movie full of creepy and bizarre visuals. Entertaining and quirky at times. I really enjoyed JK Simmons role in the film! It's worth going to see.
  5. Mar 3, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers. This movie was awesome had a few good scares and a well acted plot. The aliens in the movie were mysterious and didnt really show much detail besides sithoulettes. The characters werent bad like most scary movie casts. Overall a great movie that people should watch atleast once. The only thing I have to complain about is the bizare ending that has a clever twist but seems rushed. All in all a great scifi psuedo horror flick. Collapse
  6. Nov 19, 2014
    10
    This film isn't a 10 but rating it higher because it doesn't deserve a user score of 6.5. This movie kept me entertained. Keri Russell is one of my new favorite actresses.
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 19
  2. Negative: 4 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Sobczynski
    Sep 9, 2014
    38
    In extending itself to reach a conventional feature length, however, it becomes a below-average programmer in which brief moments of interest are interrupted by long stretches of boredom.
  2. Reviewed by: Ken McIntyre
    Mar 25, 2013
    60
    As a shocker, Scott Stewart’s (Priest) film is solid, but it’s the thoroughly depressing backdrop that you’ll take away.
  3. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Feb 27, 2013
    67
    More chilling than terrifying, this movie’s predatory aliens are creatures that mostly mess with people’s heads prior to abducting them.