Dimension Films | Release Date: February 22, 2013
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 183 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
121
Mixed:
42
Negative:
20
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
mbeckfordSep 17, 2014
This movies goes into the "I was pleasantly surprised" category. The trailer was a yawner and the apparent premise initially screamed "overdone!" A family is creeped out by a a bunch of weird, unexplainable things happening in their suburbanThis movies goes into the "I was pleasantly surprised" category. The trailer was a yawner and the apparent premise initially screamed "overdone!" A family is creeped out by a a bunch of weird, unexplainable things happening in their suburban home. While this movie is not original as a whole, there are surprisingly original and creepy scenes to entertain even the most jaded horror fan.

While at first it feels like a "made-for-TV" movie, the performances start growing on you and as you finally get an idea of what is really going on, you're hooked. Compared to Director Scott Stewart's previous outings, "Legion" and "Priest," this is the best of the bunch, and frankly, the best of the most recent suburban, lamely titled fright-flicks (like "Possession"),
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
brightonguyDec 22, 2013
Having seen the film twice now, I have to say it has been an amazing experience to watch this film. From the plot to the acting and the cast; the film represents the feelings of both parents and their children in a way that draws yourHaving seen the film twice now, I have to say it has been an amazing experience to watch this film. From the plot to the acting and the cast; the film represents the feelings of both parents and their children in a way that draws your attention to the film like many other films cannot manage doing. As a horror film enthusiast and having watched hundreds if not more than a thousand horror films to-date; I have to say this is one of those films that I will not hesitate to make my friends watch and re-watch myself again and again. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
calebowensmallJan 23, 2016
Like I've said before, Blumhouse never disappoints. It's a great alien horror film, and the ending makes me want a sequel really badly. The mother is a great actress, and I would love to see her on the screen in a drama, love story, orLike I've said before, Blumhouse never disappoints. It's a great alien horror film, and the ending makes me want a sequel really badly. The mother is a great actress, and I would love to see her on the screen in a drama, love story, or comedy. Even more horror films! To sum up, this is a well acted and crafted horror film and if you are scared of aliens on earth, this will scare you a bunch. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
nycbunnyFeb 23, 2013
A pretty entertaining movie with a nice twist at the end. The only negative thing I have to say is that the husband (Josh Hamilton) is a terrible actor. Other than that worth the price of admission...
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
ChristopherTFeb 23, 2013
Dark Skies is definitely a thrilling piece with impressive production value. Its not cheesy like many films of the same genre. Would absolutely recommend to friends.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
funk336Feb 23, 2013
Dark Skies is an ET movie full of creepy and bizarre visuals. Entertaining and quirky at times. I really enjoyed JK Simmons role in the film! It's worth going to see.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
C3realkillahMar 3, 2013
This review contains spoilers. This movie was awesome had a few good scares and a well acted plot. The aliens in the movie were mysterious and didnt really show much detail besides sithoulettes. The characters werent bad like most scary movie casts. Overall a great movie that people should watch atleast once. The only thing I have to complain about is the bizare ending that has a clever twist but seems rushed. All in all a great scifi psuedo horror flick. Collapse
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerJun 22, 2013
I don't know what it is about this movie, but it got me spooked! There are moments of genuine terror in this movie that had me watching nervously. Wondering what would happen next had me nervous and gave me chills. I would love to see moreI don't know what it is about this movie, but it got me spooked! There are moments of genuine terror in this movie that had me watching nervously. Wondering what would happen next had me nervous and gave me chills. I would love to see more alien themed horror movies, similar to this one, in the future. That being said the movie does have some flaws that get in the way of the fright. For one there are a lot of unintentional funny moments in this movie (the bird scene is hilarious XD), and I always hate when horror movies focus on things like family drama, which unfortunately this movie does. But when the movie is focusing all of its power and freaking you out with its mystery the movie is enjoyable and makes up for its duller moments. I wasn't expecting much from this movie, especially considering how stupid the trailers looked and how recent horror movies I've watched have not scared me at all. But Dark Skies proved to be the exception, providing some nice scares. I recommend this to any horror fans out there. It's really unique and we need more movies like it. It's just a shame that some of the goofier moments hold it back from being considered a truly great horror movie, instead of just a good one. Still I would rather watch a good horror movie rather than another crappy one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Tss5078Mar 30, 2015
Despite my love of Science Fiction, I had no desire to see Dark Skies. Someone from the groups Facebook page messaged me, telling me it was right up my alley, so I decided to give it a shot, and you know what, they were right! Dark Skies isDespite my love of Science Fiction, I had no desire to see Dark Skies. Someone from the groups Facebook page messaged me, telling me it was right up my alley, so I decided to give it a shot, and you know what, they were right! Dark Skies is portrayed as something completely different in the trailers and ads. I was under the impression that it was another of these crazy awful demonic possession films, but it was a whole lot more interesting than that. The Barrett family is experiencing some weird occurrences in their home that they can't explain. At first it seems like the kids are pulling pranks, but they come to realize it's much more serious than that. The family has become the target of an alien race known as the grays, and are fearing an eventual abduction. Felicity herself, Keri Russell, gives an interesting performance with a cold, quiet, intensity that was something to see, but the real star of the movie was young Dakota Goyo. Goyo is best known as the annoying little kid in Reel Steel, but he's grown up quickly, and was simply the most realistic character in the whole film. What makes Dark Skies unique is it's fantastic ending, which was very unexpected, and much more eclectic than one would expect to see in a film like this. Some fans complained that the ending was too reminiscent to that of 1408, and while it was similar, unlike 1408, the ending of Dark Skies wasn't nearly as predictable. The ending comes out of nowhere and as far as I'm concerned, it's the cherry on the sundae. Dark Skies wasn't as technical or scientific as the most of the Sci-Fi I like, but it was still quite entertaining and the ending made a good film that much better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
davidjdenDec 15, 2014
You'll stumble upon this movie, on a cable movie channel. You'll think, "this looks silly," but you'll keep watching, and soon you can't stop watching because even though (you tell yourself) the plot is silly the acting is so earnest. TheYou'll stumble upon this movie, on a cable movie channel. You'll think, "this looks silly," but you'll keep watching, and soon you can't stop watching because even though (you tell yourself) the plot is silly the acting is so earnest. The movie suddenly ends, and you think, ok, that was mildly disturbing, but still, a silly premise. Yawn, time for bed. But this movie embeds itself into your subconscious. And in six months you realize, it is one of the most terrifying movies you've ever seen. This movie taps into something we can't describe but we know has something to do with why we are afraid of the dark and the abyss. It is literally chilling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
kevin1616Jun 4, 2013
The movie is very interesting and intriguing. I was a bit skeptical about the movie because it was from the producers of Paranormal Activity, but the movies is very good. It made jump out of my bed a few times and bite my nails while I wasThe movie is very interesting and intriguing. I was a bit skeptical about the movie because it was from the producers of Paranormal Activity, but the movies is very good. It made jump out of my bed a few times and bite my nails while I was waiting to see what was gonna happen. It makes you wonder what is going to happen next and whatever happens next is not what you though was going to happen. I strongly recommend this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Jonathan117Mar 23, 2014
Excellent Sci Fi/Horror movie
Positives:
- Great actors
- Good Scares
- Great Atmosphere
- Realistic for being a horror movie
Negatives:
- Too short
- Left me wanting more
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
PStakhivMay 21, 2013
One of the best alien encounter movie out there, it's a great thriller with horror elements! If you like alien setting, few missteps won't matter much.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JmsbppOct 7, 2013
Dark skies es algo tipico y entretenido de Blumhouse que con sus interesantes ideas trae buenas peliculas con bajo presupuesto, es un tema interesante que logra desarollarse bien con los pocos escenarios, es decir la pelicula no se haceDark skies es algo tipico y entretenido de Blumhouse que con sus interesantes ideas trae buenas peliculas con bajo presupuesto, es un tema interesante que logra desarollarse bien con los pocos escenarios, es decir la pelicula no se hace aburrida, cada vez se hace menos predecible cosa que no es fuerte de muchas peliculas de terror, buena actuacion y apariciones terrorificas entretenidas Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Johnluna1Mar 5, 2014
I was not expecting to like this movie, but it turns out it is a unique horror movie with a decent about of things going for it. I liked the aliens in this movie, they were quite creepy and they worked very well and felt very fitting. TheI was not expecting to like this movie, but it turns out it is a unique horror movie with a decent about of things going for it. I liked the aliens in this movie, they were quite creepy and they worked very well and felt very fitting. The acting and writing was also pretty good compared to most horror movies. What stands out as a flaw in Dark skies is it's lack of scares. There are a nice amount of scares in there but I would have preferred a tad more. Overall this movie is a good movie that is worth your time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
KivaJul 26, 2013
Dark skies is not a bad film. It has suspense and a great dark atmosphere that will make you many times kind scared. It has much suspense and you will wait for something unexpected. However there is not a twist in that film and something thatDark skies is not a bad film. It has suspense and a great dark atmosphere that will make you many times kind scared. It has much suspense and you will wait for something unexpected. However there is not a twist in that film and something that annoyed me was the fact that everything was planned from the aliens and that only annoyed me just because it reminded me Sings which is one of the worst films ever made. In this movie interesting things happen and it is easily watched. It has not any scares but it is good. It is better than Sinister as sinister had a really bad ending. The last scene of that film will make you scream and chill from disturbance. A good horror film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
horcrux2007Apr 7, 2015
Dark Skies was an extremely surprising and very scary movie. It's like a haunted house movie turned upside-down. It has a couple of jump scares, a good amount of suspense, and a heavy atmosphere that all come together to create a memorableDark Skies was an extremely surprising and very scary movie. It's like a haunted house movie turned upside-down. It has a couple of jump scares, a good amount of suspense, and a heavy atmosphere that all come together to create a memorable and terrifying film. Even if the pacing is a little off, Dark Skies is going to scare you. It's best not to know anything about this movie before you head in, and definitely watch it in the dark. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DRomeo916Nov 19, 2014
This film isn't a 10 but rating it higher because it doesn't deserve a user score of 6.5. This movie kept me entertained. Keri Russell is one of my new favorite actresses.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
audreythomas25Feb 15, 2016
Works perfectly well as a turn-off-the-lights (and be-willing-to-play-along) piece of sci-fi-sprinkled horror amusement.

Watch it here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-29caaa-Dark-Skies-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews