Dark Skies

Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 163 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 19
  2. Negative: 4 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Feb 26, 2013
    83
    Dark Skies is about the fragility of family, a muted meditation on how precious it is...it does affirm that genre filmmakers who work with their eyes, their hearts and their brains still walk among us.
  2. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    Feb 22, 2013
    67
    While there are some scares along the way, Stewart foolishly gives away the whole kit and caboodle plot-wise with an opening quotation from Arthur C. Clarke.
  3. Reviewed by: Ken McIntyre
    Mar 25, 2013
    60
    As a shocker, Scott Stewart’s (Priest) film is solid, but it’s the thoroughly depressing backdrop that you’ll take away.
  4. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Feb 22, 2013
    50
    Alien abductions are a truly terrifying idea, and building an alien abduction movie on the template of "Poltergeist" is a great idea. But "Poltergeist" had one thing Dark Skies is sorely in need of: follow-through.
  5. Reviewed by: Justin Lowe
    Feb 26, 2013
    50
    Approaching the first half of the film fairly conventionally, Stewart then misses the opportunity to capitalize on shifting to more full-on genre mode.
  6. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Feb 22, 2013
    40
    Really the biggest problem with Dark Skies is that Stewart can never quite decide just what story he is telling — a slow-burn horror parable or paranoid invasion flick — or whether to focus on this character or that, instead struggling to string together scares regardless of how they fit together overall.
  7. Reviewed by: Adam Nayman
    Feb 21, 2013
    38
    The characters are reluctant to believe in the face of overwhelming evidence, mostly because writer-director Scott Stewart doesn’t want to play his hand too early. By the time the movie is over, it’s easy to see why he kept his cards close to his chest. He’s not really holding anything.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 36
  2. Negative: 6 out of 36
  1. Dec 15, 2014
    10
    You'll stumble upon this movie, on a cable movie channel. You'll think, "this looks silly," but you'll keep watching, and soon you can't stopYou'll stumble upon this movie, on a cable movie channel. You'll think, "this looks silly," but you'll keep watching, and soon you can't stop watching because even though (you tell yourself) the plot is silly the acting is so earnest. The movie suddenly ends, and you think, ok, that was mildly disturbing, but still, a silly premise. Yawn, time for bed. But this movie embeds itself into your subconscious. And in six months you realize, it is one of the most terrifying movies you've ever seen. This movie taps into something we can't describe but we know has something to do with why we are afraid of the dark and the abyss. It is literally chilling. Expand
  2. Apr 7, 2015
    9
    Dark Skies was an extremely surprising and very scary movie. It's like a haunted house movie turned upside-down. It has a couple of jumpDark Skies was an extremely surprising and very scary movie. It's like a haunted house movie turned upside-down. It has a couple of jump scares, a good amount of suspense, and a heavy atmosphere that all come together to create a memorable and terrifying film. Even if the pacing is a little off, Dark Skies is going to scare you. It's best not to know anything about this movie before you head in, and definitely watch it in the dark. Expand
  3. Feb 23, 2013
    8
    A pretty entertaining movie with a nice twist at the end. The only negative thing I have to say is that the husband (Josh Hamilton) is aA pretty entertaining movie with a nice twist at the end. The only negative thing I have to say is that the husband (Josh Hamilton) is a terrible actor. Other than that worth the price of admission... Expand
  4. May 25, 2014
    6
    Anything that has to do with aliens i'm in. I Seen the trailer for this while i was at the theater and i called what it was write off the batAnything that has to do with aliens i'm in. I Seen the trailer for this while i was at the theater and i called what it was write off the bat "ALIENS YO" even though it didn't look that good and while the film does the whole possession type thing i didn't find it annoying like the other films that have come out the past couple years about people being possessed. The film is not scary at all and is rare on the "JUMP SCARS" scenes

    The acting and the dialog both were done pretty good the actor did their part though the whole (Jesse Barrett) story was funny just a typical kid growing up =D Overall i give it a 6.0
    Expand
  5. Jun 4, 2013
    5
    It’s the kind of movie you watch, enjoy and then forget about its existence. The suspense is well maintained, and the ending has a nice twist,It’s the kind of movie you watch, enjoy and then forget about its existence. The suspense is well maintained, and the ending has a nice twist, I would recommend it for those days you have nothing better to do and wanna spend the whole day watching movies. Expand
  6. May 25, 2013
    5
    The ingredients are delivered without much style of flair, and the results of the movie makes for a pretty bland dish. Stewart does possessesThe ingredients are delivered without much style of flair, and the results of the movie makes for a pretty bland dish. Stewart does possesses talent--but he just hasn't created a satisfying film with it. In all three instances "Priest" (2011), "Legion" (2012) and now "Dark Skies." The potential for a compelling story line and terror is there--but not achieved to satisfaction.

    In the Barrett household, something is seriously amiss. Is it that unemployed architect Daniel (Hamilton) is quietly panicked about finding a job while the mortgage bills pile up? That his marriage to Lacy (Keri Russell) is falling apart, turning their two sons (Dakota Goyo, Kadan Rockett) into stress cases? The wife is trying to pick up the financial slack of her laid-off architect husband (Josh Hamilton) by working as a real estate agent. Their two young sons start to notice odd things happening around the house. Things like snatching photos from frames--and eventually moving on in for their real goal--a child snatching. The audience has too much time to wonder why are the aliens here to bother playing tricks on this suburban family.The biggest problem with "Dark Skies" is that Stewart can never quite decide what story he is telling a slow-burn horror parable, or paranoid invasion flick? Whether to focus on this character or that one while struggling to string together scares. Regardless, the pacing is tedious and boring--and the action is almost non-existant. Though it is saved in part by the performances of Russell and Hamilton, with a effective supporting turn by J.K. Simmons. The clouded storytelling in "Dark Skies" keeps the film from becoming more than a bunch of disjointed moments, and eventually settles for a ridiculous conclusion.
    Expand
  7. Mar 3, 2013
    0
    not good at all!!!!!!ZERO it was not good it was small potatoes it was cheap it was junk would not tell you to go see it very low rate nonot good at all!!!!!!ZERO it was not good it was small potatoes it was cheap it was junk would not tell you to go see it very low rate no qualitynot not not not not not not not good at all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! should be consider donation money to the actors just not likeable at all. Collapse

See all 36 User Reviews

Trailers