Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Feb 13, 2014
    80
    Like a fresh ripple in the near-stagnant high school movie pool, Chris Nelson’s Date and Switch balances formula with winning performers, genuine humor and a generosity of spirit that this genre too often lacks.
  2. Reviewed by: Gary Goldstein
    Feb 13, 2014
    70
    The film's more heartfelt moments are what ultimately work best.
  3. Reviewed by: Chuck Wilson
    Feb 13, 2014
    70
    Date and Switch isn't a gay movie. It's a zippy, happy, buddy flick.
  4. Reviewed by: Abbey Bender
    Feb 10, 2014
    63
    The film's forced quirkiness and repeated displays of bro-ism in action hinder the potential for a more subtle approach to the potentially challenging issue the story depicts.
  5. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Feb 17, 2014
    60
    Nelson's amiable comedy occasionally gets fixated on things that don't serve its overall purpose and is too self-conscious to really shine. But it's a more competent, accessible film than its stealthy theatrical release suggests.
  6. Reviewed by: Andrew Lapin
    Feb 13, 2014
    50
    Date And Switch is a plucky step in the right direction for diversity in teen comedies, but it lacks the extra oomph to stand on its own merits.
  7. Reviewed by: Erik Adams
    Feb 12, 2014
    50
    In effect, it feels a lot like the characters at its center — not terrible, just incomplete. A comic take on this premise and these themes feels like a necessity in 2014. Unfortunately, Date And Switch isn’t the movie this day and age needs.
  8. Reviewed by: Simon Abrams
    Feb 14, 2014
    25
    Pseudo-sensitive bro-dude rom-com Date and Switch comes out today, and it already feels dated.
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Jun 7, 2014
    9
    This movie is wonderful. I enjoyed the struggle for self identity and the complete way the 2 main actors engaged with each other. This movie goes deeper than one would initially think yet it is also a great comedy. I guess it's because many straight people do not understand the stigma of being gay that this has a bad rating, all I can do is to advise you to watch it and see this funny movie for yourself. It's deep, complicated, humorous and leaves you with a warm fuzzy feeling. I really loved it. Full Review »
  2. May 27, 2014
    10
    One of the best movies that I ever watched. Funny, simple but strong. I love the 2 lead characters. In the beginning of the movie looks like a regular romantic comedy but it is twisted by one revelation that will change their life. Full Review »
  3. Apr 17, 2014
    10
    I watched the movie today and I needed to write a review right away. The movie is those that love rom-coms and for those that like the typical buddy teen movie. The bonus is that it is a great message and jammed with heartfelt moments. A new favorite of mine. Full Review »