Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 215 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Steve Carell and Tina Fey team up for an adventure that turns a run-of-the-mill married couple's date upside down - way upside down, in Date Night. (20th Century Fox)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. 88
    All the time Phil and Claire seem like the kind of people who don't belong in a screwball comedy. That's why it's funny. They're bewildered.
  2. Regardless of the silliness of the situation -- or, in truth, because of it -- they're a joy to watch.
  3. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    70
    It's cast, down to the smallest role, with genuinely funny performers, people who understand how to time a joke, deliver a setup, underplay a deadpan glance.
  4. 63
    No one is going to remember the movie in a month, but for Mommies and Daddies seeking a night's break from their children, it's adequate entertainment.
  5. It makes you laugh in fits and starts, but more often it feels toothless and exhausted, the kind of project that exists to give Ray Liotta work.
  6. 50
    Date Night manages to live down to its store-brand title.
  7. A broadly promising premise and well-matched stars prove no match for an abominably unfunny screenplay and the work of the poisonously untalented Shawn Levy--arguably the worst director making big-budget studio films today.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 64
  2. Negative: 7 out of 64
  1. Oct 31, 2012
    9
    Very subjective but I love Carrell. Never seen Fey before but love this movie. Wahlberg is awesome. 10/10
    Carrell is genius and camio by
    James Franco and Milan Kunis is fantastic. District attorney should get a pervert Oscar and Ray Liotta is so believable also. This film is the best midweek movie I've seen ever. Totally miffed I didn't go to a cinema to see it. Expand
  2. Oct 4, 2010
    8
    If you are going to see this movie thinking that it will be slap-stick funny, you may be disappointed, I really liked this movie, it was very funny but it is funny in a more subtle way than other comedies. Much of the humor is based on real life experiences in a way similar to what you would see on the tv show "modern family" which makes it enjoyable because you can relate to Steve & Tina's characters (early scenes!). Steve Carell & Tina Fey do an excellent job of playing the normal married couple whose life has become somewhat mundane, there is plenty to like here, I'm really surprised at the negative reviews. It is even funnier the second time I saw it. Expand
  3. Jun 4, 2012
    7
    Somewhat comedic. I liked it, but didnt expect anything that happened, i wont spoil, but lets just say go in with an open mind, cause everything happens at random. Not as funny as i thought it would be, but it was good. Overall very worth watching. Some suggestive parts, so i dont suggest children watch. And if your a teen, dont watch i with your parents. Awkward. Expand
  4. Jan 24, 2012
    6
    It was funny and worth the watch if you have a few hours to kill but other than that it wasnt all that special. The plot was rather straight forward and rather stupid at times too. The acting was good and there was suprisingly a decent amount of action as well. It was ok but I expected better. Expand
  5. Sep 29, 2010
    6
    Perhaps the most prominent comedic figures on television, 30 Rock's Tina Fey and The Office's Steve Carell collaborate with Shawn Levy (Night at The Museum) in Date Night. First off, a movie such as Date Night does not possess a goal to make a cerebral and qualitative experience; instead it aims its course to create endless laughs utilizing elements such as slapstick comedy. This film performs this genre's criterion to perfection, as it ultimately creates a gut-wrenching humorous experience.

    Date Night's premise is simple, a worn out married couple, Fey and Carell, look for excitement with a night on the town. They soon realize that this love-renewing night could lead to their murder due to a implausible mix up. As the audience can realize, the plot of the film is very simple and somewhat weak, but that is not the film's strong point nor is it its ". What makes this film excel is its actors. As a fan of both Fey and Carell, I consider them to be comedic geniuses in a way that they can make any plot funny. They do so in this film as they create endless gags that have the audience laughing out of their seats. There is not much to qualify, the main point is that Fey and Carell make this film work; with their traces of subtle comedy to "laugh out loud" ridiculous moments that only a significantly stiff person would not appreciate.

    Date Night provides the laughs even with its simple premise, and that's all what it should do. If you are solely looking for an incredibly humorous movie, this film provides for 30 Rock and Office fans alike.
    Expand
  6. Sep 29, 2010
    5
    I've just watched the Date Night trailer, and it is both funny, slick and well made. If it is any guide, the movie will have thousands of hilarious gags. Collapse
  7. Aug 16, 2010
    3
    For a comedy with two very talented leads and several very good supporting actors, "Date Night" was incredibly unfunny and severely disappointing. I was saddened at the stupidity of this movie's jokes and the mediocre way it developed the film's recurring gags. Carell and Fey both need to rebound. Expand

See all 64 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Making the Jump: Sitcom Stars on the Big Screen

    Making the Jump: Sitcom Stars on the Big Screen Image
    Published: April 7, 2010
    The stars of the new movie "Date Night," Steve Carell and Tina Fey are only the latest in a long line of TV comedy stars attempting to break into film. Find out who succeeded, and who should have stayed on television.