Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) | Release Date: November 1, 2002
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 12 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
10
Mixed:
0
Negative:
2
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MaryC.Apr 10, 2003
This movie is so heart touching & heart tearing. It grips my soul & won't let go. I'll never forget this movie though I wish I could.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
B.D.Sep 5, 2003
Sad and touching story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BarbaraW.Mar 14, 2004
Just superb. Shows what real life can be like after a war. Yes, the baby lift sounded so humane, but look at the emotional pain that will last a life time. Anyone who lived thru the Vietnam era surely votes against any more wars and war Just superb. Shows what real life can be like after a war. Yes, the baby lift sounded so humane, but look at the emotional pain that will last a life time. Anyone who lived thru the Vietnam era surely votes against any more wars and war mongers, such as current happenings. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarlaG.Apr 7, 2003
This documentry gripped my soul and wouldn't let go. It was an extremely reviting life situation. A mother and daughter are finally reunited after many years lof iving in different cultures. They are brought together to find some peace This documentry gripped my soul and wouldn't let go. It was an extremely reviting life situation. A mother and daughter are finally reunited after many years lof iving in different cultures. They are brought together to find some peace of mind and a longing love only to be separated once again through a rift in cultural differences and family responsibility. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Feb 22, 2003
A profoundly moving portrait of life after war.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
C.J.Apr 14, 2003
This is one of the most moving and heartwrenching films I have ever seen. Nothing could more clearly depict the aftermath of war and the cultural divides that resulted.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
YoonC.Sep 15, 2003
Few movies--fictional or documentary--dare to take the story beyond the blissful sense of 'happy ending'. This film dares, going beyond the happy reunion and exposing the irreconcilable differences between American and Vietnamese Few movies--fictional or documentary--dare to take the story beyond the blissful sense of 'happy ending'. This film dares, going beyond the happy reunion and exposing the irreconcilable differences between American and Vietnamese cultures. Neither of the two main characters--mother and daughter--are too bright, both are mired in naivete or self-interest and in the end unable to bridge the gap of culture, economics, personality, and personal philosophy. Sobering for those who think there is a pot of gold at the end of the rainbow. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful