Universal Pictures | Release Date: March 19, 2004
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 472 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
426
Mixed:
25
Negative:
21
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
DorianS.Apr 5, 2008
Hell, this movie was great,blood and all that,but the problem is,the zombies are too fast.I was first scared by the movie,but later,it was fun
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JesseR.Feb 2, 2010
I've seen worse zombie flicks but none that took this much money 2 fail so miserably. Nick Cannon is terrible (which is still pretty good for Nick Cannon acting), Mena is unbelieveable (not in a good way) as the heroine, and "Bud" I've seen worse zombie flicks but none that took this much money 2 fail so miserably. Nick Cannon is terrible (which is still pretty good for Nick Cannon acting), Mena is unbelieveable (not in a good way) as the heroine, and "Bud" (still pissed about that one) is the undead proof that this movie is an abomination. Avoid this @ all costs unless it's simply to watch the movie w/ the commentary on and listen how they weakly try to defend the movie ("You think you can do better?"). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RD.Mar 3, 2007
Very good remake. I have not seen the original. So I won't compare it with the remake. But this is a good movie and very entertaining and creepy. TH emovie is especially good for a first time director and the ending is very good Very good remake. I have not seen the original. So I won't compare it with the remake. But this is a good movie and very entertaining and creepy. TH emovie is especially good for a first time director and the ending is very good provided you stay till the end of the credits. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AdamW.Mar 1, 2009
This movie is the pinnacle of epic zombie movies that are also funny.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
EdL.Feb 8, 2006
Absolutely the BEST zombie movie I have ever seen. Blood, suspense, head shots - you get it all with this one. Nice that you get zombies that actually RUN... much more terrifying that other remakes that show the zombies trudging around as if Absolutely the BEST zombie movie I have ever seen. Blood, suspense, head shots - you get it all with this one. Nice that you get zombies that actually RUN... much more terrifying that other remakes that show the zombies trudging around as if doped up with valium. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CodyB.rJun 5, 2009
Most people praise this movie for the epic masterpiece it is, some dumbasses pan it. Just because those people loved the original so much, they think remakes shouldn't be made. They never really got into the storyline because they are Most people praise this movie for the epic masterpiece it is, some dumbasses pan it. Just because those people loved the original so much, they think remakes shouldn't be made. They never really got into the storyline because they are so hyped by the original dawn of the dead that they can't see the substance in this epic film and see it as "just a remake". This film is an original of its own. Remakes aren't replicas of the original movies, dumbasses. They give more originality and creativity of their own and see what it would be like in modern times, that's all. This is the best zombie masterpiece besides left 4 dead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidB.Mar 21, 2004
Fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
[Anonymous]Dec 10, 2005
(director's cut) This movie delivers the zombie goods, and there are some funny parts. Still I'd wish they'd gotten to business a little sooner.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JayF.Feb 25, 2006
I got to see the director's cut DVD version of this film and I did find the movie to be exciting but why is it that every comment I see for this movie makes it seem like the original was mega-cheese and this film should recieve an I got to see the director's cut DVD version of this film and I did find the movie to be exciting but why is it that every comment I see for this movie makes it seem like the original was mega-cheese and this film should recieve an Oscar( I'm talking to you Ebert). It's not that I outwright hate this remake it is just that I am so attached to the original. I was happy to see Tom Savini and Ken Foree make appearances in this movie. Foree even recites the tagline from the original movie, "When there's no more room in Hell, the dead will walk the Earth". This movie is fun in a macabre sort of way, especially that "Hollywood Squares" part. The one thing that they missed in the movie for me is one thing and one thing only. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KingJan 14, 2007
About as good as the original.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
CiaranG.Jan 4, 2007
Not only a brilliant movie that inspired an amazing video game on Xbox 360 (Dead Rising), but the DVD features loads of extra features that give an insight into what was happening outside the mall, and around the world. Includes fictional Not only a brilliant movie that inspired an amazing video game on Xbox 360 (Dead Rising), but the DVD features loads of extra features that give an insight into what was happening outside the mall, and around the world. Includes fictional amateur video and news reports, deleted scenes and more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZarshaleX.Oct 6, 2007
Easily my favorite horror film. Maybe I'm biased towards zombie movies but be that as it may, this one takes the cake. Quick, frightening, and gripping: everything needed to make a good Horror Movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MikeMar 6, 2007
Overall I enjoyed watching it...
A little slow at times, especially when they are stuck inside the mall.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RandyM.Apr 23, 2007
A surprisingly good remake of George A. Romero's classic. Bloody, intense, and utterly relentless. Prepare for the ride of your life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MarcoP.May 25, 2007
Really terrible. It doesn't hold up a match to the original, and it's even worse watched on its own merits. Avoid at all costs. And don't believe people who say this remake is good. They are Consumer zombies.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
LouisH.Feb 6, 2008
Like all of our contemporary horror movies, this movie was absolutely one of the worst movies ever made. I can't believe they consider it a "drama" movie after all the senselessly stupid actions all the characters make. There is no Like all of our contemporary horror movies, this movie was absolutely one of the worst movies ever made. I can't believe they consider it a "drama" movie after all the senselessly stupid actions all the characters make. There is no reason, no sense, or any point to this movie. Where did the zombies come from? Why did nobody take them seriously (with the mom's stupid gasp in the beggining)? Here is why :THEY'RE ALL IDIOTS!!!!! Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
4
JoeBobNov 7, 2009
Overrated. not much character development, pretty cheesy at times, but it did have some good points such as being funny. but is mostly mediocre and flat.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
5
CameronS.Mar 24, 2004
I am a big fan of George A. Romero?s zombie classics Night of the Living Dead and Dawn of the Dead. The latter film is a fun action movie, it contains many great scares, gore galore, and has biting humor in a world where humor is dying with I am a big fan of George A. Romero?s zombie classics Night of the Living Dead and Dawn of the Dead. The latter film is a fun action movie, it contains many great scares, gore galore, and has biting humor in a world where humor is dying with the dead civilization. The characters are also well developed and the film is focused primarily on four stranded refugees in a vast mall, the pinnacle of the 20th Century, while also creating many comic zombie fellows roaming the mall. Absent are the things that made Romero?s film a great horror-comedy achievement. The poorly shot and imprudently edited actions scenes are incomprehensible to a point where it is hard to tell what?s going on. There are far many more characters this time around, whose sole purpose is to get killed violently by the films climax. However, something did survive into this remake, and that?s the comedy. The film is terribly funny, making for something of an entertaining piece. What I especially liked about the much better zombie movie ?Return of the Living Dead? was that the characters lived in a world where zombie movies existed, especially Romero?s films. The characters, as dumb as they were at times knew that they were dealing with zombies. I note this because there is a scene when all the excess characters show up they wheel in a woman who is clearly about to turn into the dead, with her gray skin highlighting and her dying green veins becoming clearly noticeable. I was just thinking how dumb these people would have to be to let someone they knew would be turning into the mall. Note to everybody: when somebody is greyly pale with their veins popping out and the smell of death, don?t let them into your place of refugee. The direction is quite sophomoric and the screenplay is a serviceable homage to the original while coming up with some original tact and wit of its own, though it plays with the usual thoughts and clichés of most modern horror films. That being understood, the acting is quite serviceable for this kind of movie, with Ving Rhames spouting lines so intrepidly panicky they come off exceedingly humorous. The film feels terribly inspired by the far superior 28 Days Later, but not stealing anything that would have made a difference, like the anti-cliché of instant infection. Now we have zombies that are faster but just as dumb who can tip mobile vehicles that weigh several tons but are unable to break through a glass door. I didn?t wholly dislike this film, but I am curious as to why anybody would want to see this picture over Romero?s own classic. But a good comment I would like to say about it, it is far better than Tom Savini?s trite, inane, and ghastly Night of the Living Dead remake or even Romero?s own humdrum, flavorless, spendthrift, feeble Day of the Dead. But then again, that?s not much of an accomplishment either. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
robuglyDec 29, 2005
This is one movie that I could not stand watching. Several times while watching I felt the urge to yell at the movie screen, or just leave. I got so angry at the stupid choices the characters made. There is just no way people would ever act This is one movie that I could not stand watching. Several times while watching I felt the urge to yell at the movie screen, or just leave. I got so angry at the stupid choices the characters made. There is just no way people would ever act that way in that sort of situation, it makes me so frustrated to watch this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GordonM.Jul 24, 2006
This is a really good zombie movie, and I recommend it to EVERYONE! It is really cool how the zombies can run and how you can only kill them by shooting them in the head. This is the best film ever made. Alongside The Ring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RirenJan 28, 2007
It's dumber than the original, and it wants to be. The drama is overwrought at times, but the real strengths are the manic action and outrageous moments. The special effects are outstanding, relying on topnotch prosthetics instead of It's dumber than the original, and it wants to be. The drama is overwrought at times, but the real strengths are the manic action and outrageous moments. The special effects are outstanding, relying on topnotch prosthetics instead of CGI. If you like splatter cinema and aren't hoping for the rebirth of Romero in a remake, pick this up. Better yet, watch it with friends. It turns into a laugh riot surprisingly easily with the right crowd. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JH.Feb 26, 2007
Robugly, could you be less vague? Overall, as horror movies go, the characters here were astro physicists compared to your average teen slasher bimbo/jock clique.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnR.Jan 18, 2008
Outstanding movie, much better than the original Dawn. Great directing, acting, soundtrack and action. As with most of my favorite movies, I enjoyed it more the 2nd, 3rd and 4th viewing. The Directors cut is also much better than the Outstanding movie, much better than the original Dawn. Great directing, acting, soundtrack and action. As with most of my favorite movies, I enjoyed it more the 2nd, 3rd and 4th viewing. The Directors cut is also much better than the original theater version. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
Edc.Feb 24, 2008
if you have ever seen any zombie horror film before then you needent see this one. all the cliche'd characters, one dimensional personalities and terrible cringeworthy one-liners as per usual. however unlike other fliks, there was none if you have ever seen any zombie horror film before then you needent see this one. all the cliche'd characters, one dimensional personalities and terrible cringeworthy one-liners as per usual. however unlike other fliks, there was none of the suspense and not enough jumpy moments to save the film. aside from some smirk raising black humour, this really was a very very poor film. waste of time Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful
8
JayHApr 12, 2009
One of the best horror films of all time. It is genuinely frightening, great special effects. Suspenseful, well directed and acted. The touches of humor make it work that much better. Excellent.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
5
ArkonBladeDec 28, 2010
the original dawn of the dead is easily the best zombie movie ever done ... the remake not so much . it does stick to the whole survivors holding out in the mall set up but thats really about it . its not a bad film but doesnt have the magicthe original dawn of the dead is easily the best zombie movie ever done ... the remake not so much . it does stick to the whole survivors holding out in the mall set up but thats really about it . its not a bad film but doesnt have the magic the original has . the zombie baby how ever was a creepy little thing . Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
hampusforevOct 24, 2010
Sometimes you wonder whether people even watched this movie or just dismissed it as "lesser" than the favorite Romero-classic from 78 without even giving it a chance. I mean "Paranormal Activity", the worst **** atrocity I've ever seen, has aSometimes you wonder whether people even watched this movie or just dismissed it as "lesser" than the favorite Romero-classic from 78 without even giving it a chance. I mean "Paranormal Activity", the worst **** atrocity I've ever seen, has a better metascore. I'm probably one of the most pretentious cinema snobs that you'll ever meet, but I loved this movie. It's miles better than the original, which is revolutionary, sure, but has much flatter characters and lesser development. And don't give me any of the "striking critique of capitalism"-nonsense; that "mall-shoppers are like zombies" is as shallow a symbol as a 14-year-old punk-rocker who just discovered Bill Hicks would come up with. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
7
asylumspadezNov 19, 2011
A great remake if you ask me. It was entertaining and interesting through out. Its nice to see a franchise get a much needed reboot and be a sucessful reboot as well. Acting wasnt good though.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerMar 6, 2011
This may seem like a b rated movie but it's not it's surprisingly well made movie, truly enjoyable if your into the zombie movie genre like I am, if you are this is a must see.
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
TheNewSpielbergMay 1, 2011
As much as I love Romero's 1978 classic, I must agree with fellow movie buffs who say that this particular remake was unfairly prejudiced and slandered upon release. The movie sticks pretty much to the basic plot; a group of people hide outAs much as I love Romero's 1978 classic, I must agree with fellow movie buffs who say that this particular remake was unfairly prejudiced and slandered upon release. The movie sticks pretty much to the basic plot; a group of people hide out in an abandoned shopping center during a zombie apocalypse. That's all there is to it. The acting was good and some of the comedy moments were actually pretty funny (Hollywood Squares, anyone?). Of course, seeing as it was shot in the modern era of the zombie flick, there is just enough blood and huts to satisfy any gorehound. The zombies looked scary and WERE scary simply due to the fact that they could sprint (a cliche started by 28 Days Later). The heavy metal soundtrack really helped the atmosphere of a zombie invasion and went great with zombie-killing. In sum, an underrated horror movie. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews