Universal Pictures | Release Date: March 19, 2004
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 471 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
425
Mixed:
25
Negative:
21
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
XxBenoOApr 27, 2017
這部電影的特色,人在末世中,從不知所措,害怕,絕望,苦中作樂,悲傷,到覺悟的心情轉變,喪屍顯得不為重要。PS:The female lead is pretty awesome. XD
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleDec 16, 2016
The first Zack Snyder film I have enjoyed and it is largely because it is not his typical brand of childish filmmaking. Not just a film where he smashes toys together and laughs maniacally like a seven year old, Snyder is largely restrainedThe first Zack Snyder film I have enjoyed and it is largely because it is not his typical brand of childish filmmaking. Not just a film where he smashes toys together and laughs maniacally like a seven year old, Snyder is largely restrained here. Instead, it just plays like a typical zombie movie and, in that regard, it is a pretty good film. Tense, thrilling, and truly entertaining, Dawn of the Dead gets a little dead in the middle, but its beginning and conclusion are both terrific and laced with moments that pushed me right to the edge of my seat.

From the beginning, we are introduced to Ana Clark (Sarah Polley). Set to experience the zombie apocalypse first hand, Ana somehow manages to escape the clutches of the zombies in her home and find other survivors. Together, they migrate to the Crossroads Mall, where they find shelter with other survivors. Once there, they bring in more survivors and discover cliche things about zombies, such as being bitten turns you into one and to kill them, you must shoot them in the head. Hardly revolutionary in this, Dawn of the Dead does hit the brakes once they get to the mall and instead opts to show these "revelations" and show the people passing time. Yet, what is exhilarating is whenever they encounter zombies. Heart racing and action-packed in these moments, Dawn of the Dead shows that Snyder knows how direct thrilling scenes and create a great atmosphere that leaves on edge. Whether it is early or late in the film, moments with the zombies are always great.

Yet, the film does do some very interesting things. Not only is there a zombie baby, which just has to be unique to this film, and an inventive way of escaping, Dawn of the Dead features incredibly smart characters. Knowing their situation is hopeless, the characters cut the weak links down and do what they can to survive. There are very few stupid actions (other than Natalie going for Chips), but these are hardly prevalent and do actually get worked into the film pretty nicely. The inventive solution to get away, though silly on the surface, is a very good addition to this film and makes it feel somewhat unique. Instead of taking a final stand or having some cure occur, Dawn of the Dead let's its characters figure out an escape route themselves.

The film, as an action film, is incredibly entertaining. With great tension and good action set pieces, Snyder's typically strong visual style is somewhat here as watching zombies get their brains shot out has never really looked so nice. The zombie design is very good and the film's inventive plot solution comes through in nice action set pieces and an interesting design on the escape vehicle that really give the film a unique edge that make it compelling. However, the film does have some problems. Its wide range of characters are pretty awful. None of them really grab you and pull you in, rather it is just a collection of white people and a couple black guys fighting some zombies. The characters are never differentiated from one another in a significant fashion and, as such, they sort of just blend together. The film's plot also loses steam in the middle when Snyder just shows a montage of the characters engaging in sex, talk about gay relationships, and playing golf. Now, I did see the director's cut, so this may not apply to the theatrical cut. These moments just exist to pass time and do not advance the plot at all (and not just because I could tell which girl had sex since the white blonde girls look similar here at times, though I think the guy was Ty Burrell maybe). Just excessive and doing really nothing the momentum of the plot, these moments are an unfortunate addition to an otherwise tight film. It also feels odd due to the inclusion of a pastor speaking about why this is happening and blaming it on various sins. By including them, it feels as though Snyder is being a bit of his childish self as the pastor is just there to be mocked and have that same sin rubbed back in his face. Whether you agree with it or not, this moment does feel kind of awkward and useless for the rest of the film.

Fortunately, Dawn of the Dead is an action-packed and thrilling experience. With good special effects and thrilling moments a plenty, Dawn of the Dead defines the hopelessness of the genre (especially with the ending), but also shows the power of teamwork. I just wish that people in zombie movies had seen at least one zombie movie in their life so we can skip past the "you have to shoot them in the head" and "if you get bitten you turn into a zombie" moments that are in each of these films.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobOct 20, 2016
The best zombie film since the release of the original Night of the Living Dead. It's a remake that flips the script and is totally original in it's own unique way. It's a must watch for any zombie fan.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Castiel_AngelOct 9, 2016
Eh...I don't feel this is a 10/10 movie but it is in no way horrible. It, much like Zombieland is very well written but I feel as if they could have added a touch of comedy to it instead of it being just purely action.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
MovieMasterEddyApr 6, 2016
The original 1978 horror splatter-comedy ''Dawn of the Dead'' had an idea that played like cast-iron satire: zombies invading a mall. The one good exchange from that film is repeated in Zack Snyder's single-minded scare-tactic remake: whenThe original 1978 horror splatter-comedy ''Dawn of the Dead'' had an idea that played like cast-iron satire: zombies invading a mall. The one good exchange from that film is repeated in Zack Snyder's single-minded scare-tactic remake: when someone asks why the zombies congregate there, the response is: ''Memory, maybe. Instinct.''

Otherwise, Mr. Snyder's blood feast is strictly by the numbers: this second-rater could be the world's most expensive Troma film. That makes sense: the screenwriter for the remake, James Gunn, also banged out ''Tromeo and Juliet'' (1996), that no-budget B-movie-studio's seminal film (that is, if the word seminal can be appended to Troma). Still, this is the first studio picture to exhibit the tacky Troma influence, which means ---- something, like the end of shame in Western civilization, perhaps. However, since ''Dawn of the Dead,'' which opens today nationwide, doubtless thinks of itself as a reimagining rather than a remake, the concept of shame was probably obliterated the moment the script got a green light from Universal.

''The Dead'' -- with apologies to James Joyce -- notches its frights early, before the introduction of the, excuse the euphemism, characters. The first undead we see is a little girl with part of her face rotted away, who goes right for her dad's neck. The mother, Ana (Sarah Polley), barely escapes the house intact and drives away through an apocalyptic version of the dozy suburban tract neighborhood she had come home to the night before. The graphic point of zombielike conformity was made earlier with an overhead shot of the neighborhood.

In such instances, ''Dead'' establishes its scariness with an efficiently tactless facelessness -- that is, if the use of the word faceless doesn't provoke a defamation of character suit from the zombie lobby, apparently based in Toronto. That's where this movie was obviously shot, despite shabby attempts to convince audiences that it is set in Milwaukee.

Milwaukee, the home of the bubbler, is transformed into the subdivision of the living dead. Ana runs into Kenneth (Ving Rhames), a uniformed cop, who makes her speak. It's one of the few ways to tell the zombies from the living -- though with dialogue like this, who's better off? They're joined by Michael (Jake Weber), Andre (Mekhi Phifer) and his very pregnant wife, Luda (Inna Korobkina). They make their way to the Crossroad Mall, where a handful of security guards led by the suspicious C. J. (Michael Kelly) have taken up residence.

C. J.'s intolerance is evident early, when he calls Andre ''Shaq.'' His ragtag minimum-wage squad is determined to keep the zombies out, especially once Ana figures out that the life-free scourge is spread from a zombie bite. Isn't it always funny that people in zombie movies have never seen zombie movies, so they have no information whatsoever?

''Dead'' does an adequate job of building up the tension early, but the traces of humor with which the original writer-director, George A. Romero, slathered the first version weren't nearly as ham-fisted as those found in the current one. The reimaginers of ''Dead'' have to cope with being compared with a classic, while Mr. Romero had to deal with a much more horrendous thought: making a sequel to a legitimate classic, 1968's spartan and terrifying ''Night of the Living Dead.'' (Mr. Romero's genius came from never explaining why the zombie infection plagued Pittsburgh, a plot device this new version keeps.)

There are a few other nods to the initial ''Dawn of the Dead,'' like a cameo appearance by the gore makeup genius Tom Savini, who worked on the earlier film. And the opening and closing credits by Prologue Film are so good they're almost worth sitting through the film for.

Such treats aside, we're left with a movie dependent on generating its small amount of sparks by setting an order in which to eliminate the annoying cast members. A scene in which weapons have to be liberated from a gun store so the group can carry out a plan to get to a marina and sail away to safety -- don't ask -- shows why zombie pictures aren't unsettling anymore. The flesh-eaters are picked off like video-game targets.

The eventual video game is bound to be a lot more fun -- and less slowed down by bad dialogue -- than this ''Dead.''
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
choomtabi31Feb 28, 2016
The best zombie movie ever made without a doubt followed by 28 Days/Weeks/ Later. Just perfectly done.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-151-Dawn-of-the-Dead-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
talisencrwJan 16, 2016
Though I love both 'Legend of the Guardians: The Owls of Ga'Hoole' and 'Watchmen', I actually think Snyder's remake of George A. Romero's 'Dawn of the Dead' may be his finest and most personal work of the three. Usually I stay away fromThough I love both 'Legend of the Guardians: The Owls of Ga'Hoole' and 'Watchmen', I actually think Snyder's remake of George A. Romero's 'Dawn of the Dead' may be his finest and most personal work of the three. Usually I stay away from contemporary remakes of the classics like the plague, because to me, atmosphere is everything, and today's directors tend to significantly miss that point, but sometimes I just can't stop myself, and it helped that two recent character actors I really respect (fellow Canadian Sarah Polley and Ving Rhames) played significant roles. Though I still prefer the satirical angle on consumerism Romero utilized in his 70's original (and for that reason alone it would make a great double bill with 'Salo, or the 120 Days of Sodom', at least from Pier Paolo Pasolini's philosophical context), this is head and shoulders (shot, of course, so it doesn't come back as a zombie) above other remakes of this era. I wish Snyder still had the sense of hunger that permeates this first film of his (pardon the pun ;) )... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
HotelCentralDec 8, 2015
Superior to the original and to most of what Romero's done since the iconic Night of the Living Dead.

The story opens quickly and maintains a good pace through to the end. Some characters do make bad decisions but most seem like what one
Superior to the original and to most of what Romero's done since the iconic Night of the Living Dead.

The story opens quickly and maintains a good pace through to the end. Some characters do make bad decisions but most seem like what one might expect of people being guided by their emotions rather than the kind of stupid crap that directors insert into films in order to achieve some objective of plot. The biggest flaw, IMO, is in the character of security guard CJ, who begins the film ready to murder anyone who compromises his safety, but by the end of the film is willingly sacrificing himself to aid other survivors, which does not seem justified by the script.

All in all, it's a well-done show with interesting characters and entertaining appearances by Matt Frewer, and (in bonus material) former Babylon 5 stars Bruce Boxlleitner (audio only) and Richard Biggs (in his final role).
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Epik_NinnjaMay 23, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I saw the unrated version of this film and I have to admit; it's pretty entertaining, despite how dumb it is. The writing is actually quite mediocre but I still enjoyed the quarrels among the survivors, the tragic events taking place (the zombie baby, for example) and the gory zombie action. It's not a must-watch (it is no comparison to The Walking Dead) but it's a pretty decent zombie movie overall. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
moviemayhemApr 28, 2015
On the heels of the Texas Chainsaw Massacre remake, the newfangled Dawn Of The Dead streamlines another scrappy horror classic by discarding everything special about it in favor of pure visceral effect. Swarming with zombies on both sides ofOn the heels of the Texas Chainsaw Massacre remake, the newfangled Dawn Of The Dead streamlines another scrappy horror classic by discarding everything special about it in favor of pure visceral effect. Swarming with zombies on both sides of the camera, the film is unrelentingly relentless, leaving no room for original director George Romero's wry satire on consumerism or his slow-paced, creeping undead. As in 28 Days Later, which at least makes gestures toward social commentary, the zombies are fast and focused, barely pausing to savor "Brains! Brains!" before dashing off to the next fresh kill. Responding only to hot lead, they give first-time director Zack Snyder a chance to test how many subhuman heads can get blown to smithereens before the MPAA issues an NC-17 rating. (Answer: Several dozen and counting.)

Looking lost in the grindhouse, an overqualified Sarah Polley stars as a suburban Milwaukee nurse who wakes to a virus that turns her boyfriend and a neighbor child into flesh-eating savages and converts her cul-de-sac into a zombie apocalypse. Banding together with a few survivors, including tough cop Ving Rhames, Mekhi Phifer and his pregnant wife (Inna Korobkina), and down-to-earth hunk Jake Weber, Polley and friends hole up at a local mall run by overzealous security guards. During the long standoff with the zombies outside, they devise an escape plan right out of the Clint Eastwood vehicle The Gauntlet while contending with infighting and new infections.

Tasteless and gratuitous enough on its own terms, this Dawn Of The Dead would still be much more palatable had the original never existed. As it stands, the remake is akin to an Animal House knockoff staged at a country retreat and called The Rules Of The Game. Gone are Romero's wickedly funny riffs on malls as consumer utopias; they're replaced by a pack of bickering ninnies, smugly ironic Muzak versions of songs like "Don't Worry, Be Happy" and "All By Myself," and, worst of all, product placements at every turn. With his background in commercials, Snyder was either inured to Romero's point or too concerned with nailing the important technical details, such as overhead shots of propane-tank explosions or the gooey sound of an unborn mutant sloshing around in amniotic fluid. Confusing body count with intensity, the new Dawn Of The Dead could be a metaphor for how little Hollywood values human life, if only it had a brain ripe enough to feast on.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Meth-dudeApr 12, 2015
This is a truly terrifying and captivating horror movie.Ving Rhames shines as the cop who don't take **** from anyone and the rest of the actors like Sarah Polley and Kevin Zegers are impressive.Highly entertaining movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
homer4presidentMar 26, 2015
This movie is what Resident Evil movies should have been. Story, characters, and sets are just amazing! Dawn of the Dead is labeled under horror because of the zombie theme but there is more action than frights.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
supermann234Dec 8, 2014
This movie is a good thriller movie which shows what its like to be in a zombie apocalypse. It may not be that scary, but it is a good movie overall. It starts off with a scary intro which also has an interesting storyline. Unlike most horrorThis movie is a good thriller movie which shows what its like to be in a zombie apocalypse. It may not be that scary, but it is a good movie overall. It starts off with a scary intro which also has an interesting storyline. Unlike most horror movies, this movie has a good ending. However like most zombie movies, it has a common fault-Not using the word 'zombie'. I think this is probably the best zombie film compared to other zombie films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ydnar4Nov 22, 2014
I can say with complete honesty that this remake of Dawn of the Dead is probably my favorite remake of any horror film. Its just a classic zombie flick and a must watch for any zombie lover. A strong cast is on display as well as some veryI can say with complete honesty that this remake of Dawn of the Dead is probably my favorite remake of any horror film. Its just a classic zombie flick and a must watch for any zombie lover. A strong cast is on display as well as some very realistic zombies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SiAScORCHNov 5, 2014
I think this movie is a lot better than the ratings show. It kept the same basic story line as the original one, just with better technology. It has some good actors in it, and at times it made you laugh. In most cases it's hard to have aI think this movie is a lot better than the ratings show. It kept the same basic story line as the original one, just with better technology. It has some good actors in it, and at times it made you laugh. In most cases it's hard to have a remake as good as the original but this one did the job correctly. I would have to say it's definitely worth watching, and you should take the time to watch it because I don't think you'll be disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AdsonOct 12, 2014
Great remake, scary and the story keep catching the viewer until the end. I liked the acting, I don't think that I would change something. That's ok..
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
beingryanjudeSep 2, 2014
Considered by many to be the precursor to the zombie-obsessed lives we live in today, Dawn of the Dead unfortunately is an average survival flick. This one never seemed to grab for me.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
HISHEhebAug 10, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. best zombies movie ever, don't miss it. i love this movie and i think everyone should watch it. I Promise, you will enjoy it, even if you hate movies with zombies Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
juliankennedy23Jul 17, 2014
Dawn of the Dead (2004): 10 out of 10: I sympathize with the fan boys that feel any remake of Dawn of the Dead is religious sacrilegious. You get an emotional attachment to films that scared you in your youth. (One on mine is Assault onDawn of the Dead (2004): 10 out of 10: I sympathize with the fan boys that feel any remake of Dawn of the Dead is religious sacrilegious. You get an emotional attachment to films that scared you in your youth. (One on mine is Assault on Precinct 13 that was remade recently and I just know I will be disappointed with the remake. I am still scared of ice cream trucks as a result of seeing that film when I was 9)

Remakes themselves have a well deserved bad reputation. (Easiest movie trivia question: What is the best film remake? The Maltese Falcon of course. That Humphrey Bogart perennial was a remake of a 1931 film of the same name. I'm sure back in 1941 that there were a couple of people complaining that Bogart was no Ricardo Cortez and the ruined the story by taking out the affair and homosexual subplots. The first film after all was a pre-code affair.)

Dawn of the Dead is in reality a different movie than the original. This is no shot for shot Psycho remake nor is it the same movie with a glossier CGI coat of paint. It is a faster more intense zombie film. It is one of the best action horror films of the last ten years. The opening twenty minutes in simply one of the scariest action packed sequences I have ever seen. By the time our band of protagonists gets to the mall they are not the only one's catching their breath.

It becomes a pretty good sized group at the mall and you end up slogging through some slow bits as the zombies eat it down to a more manageable size.The acting is across the board good and the effects are suitably gory and plentiful. Director Zack Snyder wisely dumps much of Romero's sociological subplots and replaces them with a more timely commentary. (Instead of zombies as consumer motif we have shooting undead celebrities. And instead of an outwardly hostile motorcycle gang, we have a more subtle power struggle between the otherwise powerless.)

The updates honestly work, as a more literal remake would have simply fallen flat. Is Dawn of the Dead better than the original? I won't say. Is it one of the best films of 2004? Yes. Is it better than Romero's own sequel Day of the Dead? Good Lord yes.
Expand
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
7
DuckNationMay 25, 2014
One of the best Remakes that has been done and one of the best iv'e ever seen. The opening Ten minutes of the film is great and while it maybe not match the intensity of the original it does it's best to great you right into the action. TheOne of the best Remakes that has been done and one of the best iv'e ever seen. The opening Ten minutes of the film is great and while it maybe not match the intensity of the original it does it's best to great you right into the action. The movie opens up to Sarah Polley(Ana) wakes up to find her husband being attacked by a zombie child. As she makes her way outside she then sees that the carnage is taking over city with huge explosions, buildings on fire, and helicopters everywhere. From then on out its a fight for survival not only by from zombies but from humans as well. Overall it's a good film i had a fun time watching it's in my top 5 zombie movies of the 2000's

7.5
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscMar 11, 2014
i love the dawn of the dead remake and the original was even better . these are two movie that were the best remake films i have ever seen in my life
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
7
FilmVirtueFeb 15, 2014
This remake of the original Dawn of the Dead proves to be a more effective and powerful film than the original. It may not appeal to everyone, but for those who enjoy a good zombie film, this new take will certainly be a good choice.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
1
BrosmanSep 27, 2013
Why is everyone so stupid? Why did the mall security have guns? Why didn't they just shoot the mall security guards in the face when they had them outgunned and out armed? Why didn't security try to team up with more survivors instead ofWhy is everyone so stupid? Why did the mall security have guns? Why didn't they just shoot the mall security guards in the face when they had them outgunned and out armed? Why didn't security try to team up with more survivors instead of trying to get rid of them when there are safety in numbers? Why does the power tripping SG not arm anyone while they are out doing objectives? Why does no one know these things are zombies? Why is the ego tripping security guard locking up other survivors other than just to have some random in the movie? Why is he concerned about people stealing stuff in a zombie Apocalypse? Why do people act like wood when they are told that everyone they know is dead?This is my mind running through the fist 20 or so minutes. God help me though this movie...... Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
KivaJun 21, 2013
I've heard in the past that this film is awesome and scary. As a big The Walking Dead fan i can say that this film was not as I expected. Firstly, the characters are lame and boring with no good history. Secondly, The action was notI've heard in the past that this film is awesome and scary. As a big The Walking Dead fan i can say that this film was not as I expected. Firstly, the characters are lame and boring with no good history. Secondly, The action was not impressive as i expected. You will like it if you are into these kind of films.. *The ending was worse than i expected. I expected everyone would die... too much expectations i guess Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
1
FladeIsCoolMar 15, 2013
Dawn of the Dead is horrible. The characters aren't even worthy of mention because all of them are so horrible and one dimensional. The movie tries to be realistic like every other zombie movie, but it doesn't realize that zombies are rottingDawn of the Dead is horrible. The characters aren't even worthy of mention because all of them are so horrible and one dimensional. The movie tries to be realistic like every other zombie movie, but it doesn't realize that zombies are rotting corpses and can't run (zombies are unrealistic entirely, but that's for another rant.) This movie is terrible, and even watching it with a friend as a joke wouldn't be fun. 1/10 because the effects were pretty good I guess. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
DanMcManMar 15, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Terrible. If you're into horribly cliche characters, plot holes and overall unrealistic behavior then this movie is definitely for you! There's little to no reason for an infection, pointless characters that only exist for a plot device and cliche lines from every single character. Unneeded sad parts for characters with no back story whatsoever and to top it's not scary in the slightest; at most it's gross from the tons of fake blood they spent most of their budget on making this. It's the lowest of the low in zombie movies. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
TheWalrus2000Mar 9, 2013
At times Dawn of the Dead can be a bit skeptical. But overall it was really horrific and gorey nature which is what most people look for in a good not comedic zombie movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
survivorfan989Mar 2, 2013
One of the better zombie films out there and definitely one of the most entertaining with some great character work and solid special effects make-up. It's a remake of Romero's 70's Classic but made fresh for today's audience, and it worksOne of the better zombie films out there and definitely one of the most entertaining with some great character work and solid special effects make-up. It's a remake of Romero's 70's Classic but made fresh for today's audience, and it works perfectly. A nice crop of actors give the characters life plus there's zombies like you've never seen before that really know how to run! It also has the perfect setting in a shopping centre Overall a Horror classic and personal favourite of mine! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
GodotIsW8ing4UJan 14, 2013
Considered on its own merits alone, it's a passable zombie movie with a memorable opening and epilogue and a blandly forgettable everything else. Only one character that the audience knows or cares about fails to pull through, with all theConsidered on its own merits alone, it's a passable zombie movie with a memorable opening and epilogue and a blandly forgettable everything else. Only one character that the audience knows or cares about fails to pull through, with all the other deaths happening to the cardboard cutouts that pass for 80% of the characters as an excuse to have gore for its own sake. Lots of interesting ideas that become mere filler due to superficial half-treatment. The movie is good for a few scares here and there, but it pales terribly when compared to the original. Gone is Romero's social commentary, replaced by admirable yet insufficient earnestness, and there lies the film's true failing: it takes itself more seriously than it lets the audience take it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
aznassassinOct 26, 2012
Okay, first and foremost, the zombies themselves have issues. They DONT behave like zombies. They REACT to injury. Minor injuries can CRIPPLE them. They can PICK UP things and USE things. They can think for crying out loud. They can RUN. AndOkay, first and foremost, the zombies themselves have issues. They DONT behave like zombies. They REACT to injury. Minor injuries can CRIPPLE them. They can PICK UP things and USE things. They can think for crying out loud. They can RUN. And why is the incubation period so erratically different its ridiculous. The protagonist's husband who is bitten at the start of the movie turns like a few seconds whereas another character who I wont mention to avoid spoiling the plot turns after what seems like a WEEK after being bitten. Its ridiculous. Oh and get what, BURNING zombies kills them. I can hear people cutting themselves to that/ Pro tip to those out there who dont know how to the survive the zombie apocalypse: Zombies are DEAD people who are infected with a BLOOD-BORNE virus (though this is debatable in other variations) that kills the host and takes control of their body after they are deceased. They want to feast on ALL living things INCLUDING animals. They are slow and can at best, jog if a prey attracts them. They can grab for things mindlessly but they CANT open doors, use weapons or pick up things, Zack Snyder! Nor can they be CRIPPLE by minor wounds like gunshots - they DONT feel PAIN, they're DEAD. Oh and Mr Snyder, the makeup of the zombies, why do they look like HUMANS instead of badly mauled walking corpses? The lines are horrible at times while at other instances they're brilliantly written. There are some tense moments but in most cases, you'll be just yelling at the screen and be utterly frustrated at how ridiculously naive, dumb and stupid the characters are. Seriously. For instance, stupidity No. 1: NO ONE knew what made the people turn into zombies despite many of them seeing people get bitten and turning e.g the protagonist's husband. Not only until around 1/3 of the way into the movie do the main characters realize "Oh maybe its the bite?" *facepalm* You are tell obviously who's gonna die (and they do) and you'll be cutting yourself at the most stupidass things the characters would do. WHY, WHY would you GO AFTER your DOG amidst the HUNDREDS of zombies that want to EAT you IF you know they WONT hurt your dog? Srsly that thing there, is what caused the plot to climax and end as it did. Had that certain character NOT gone after her dog and stayed with the plan, I am sure NO ONE would've been killed. And WHY do the characters just use **** pistols and shotguns? You have a GUNSTORE for God's sakes, there are things called RIFLES that are MORE accurate and also automatic & semi-automatic weapons all with a crapload of ammo. Why not just clear the streets? Why not use the damn rifles? Seriously the ENTIRE movie, they just stick to horrible horrible pistols (GLOCKS just damn GLOCKS for crying out loud. There must be Desert Eagles and M9's lying around in the store!) and those mediocre cop shotguns. Had they used a M16, M4A1 Carbine, SAW machine gun or hell even a plain old Lee Einfield, I am sure everyone would've survived. This is a movie that you watch drunk with your buddies on a Friday night. You'll probably watch it and forget about it, and probably switch to playing Left 4 Dead. The original 1970's Dawn of the Dead is vastly superior despite the outdated makeup effects. Watch that. Avoid this insult to the zombie canon pile of excrement at all costs. Hell even the ending is lacking. A braindead film that absolutely wont want to feast upon. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
4
hollowficationJun 3, 2012
i like it but only problem is it no remero movie it remake of his classic movie but i prefer the original the zombie in this one are fast ones show in this movie decaying look of zombies. but no matter what i like remero ones
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
rotkuApr 9, 2012
One of the better zombie horror efforts of the last few years. It's not as apocalyptic as Romeros original but the storyline works well and the action scenes are good.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
9
RegOzMar 3, 2012
I am not really into gore, but this movie is fantastic in its genre. Beyond the gore, the construction of the characters is good; although, they had some fairly stereotypical ones (that is one of the reasons why I don't give this movie a 10).I am not really into gore, but this movie is fantastic in its genre. Beyond the gore, the construction of the characters is good; although, they had some fairly stereotypical ones (that is one of the reasons why I don't give this movie a 10). From a more analytical perspective, it is not just about horror, but also about how in extreme situations our human condition can either betray us, or strengthen us. Fate plays a role in our lives, but we always have a choice, even if there doesn't seem to be one. I definitely recommend it. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
5
eTurkeyFeb 8, 2012
Unfortunately, the Dawn of the Dead remake (original was made in 1978) didn't live up to the prior expectations I had placed on the film upon hearing how good it is from my friends. Character development was virtually non-existent as theUnfortunately, the Dawn of the Dead remake (original was made in 1978) didn't live up to the prior expectations I had placed on the film upon hearing how good it is from my friends. Character development was virtually non-existent as the director instead opted to introduce more unnecessary empty shells as the movie progressed. The blood and gore was fine yet the zombies seemed more human than any recent flick of the same genre that I've seen recently. There's also a few cheesy moments which could have been left out. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
j30Nov 27, 2011
Zombies can run. Oh ****. Zach Snyder is behind the camera for this "better than average" remake of the great Dawn of the Dead. What makes this movie better than other horror remakes is that you actually care about the characters.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
7
asylumspadezNov 19, 2011
A great remake if you ask me. It was entertaining and interesting through out. Its nice to see a franchise get a much needed reboot and be a sucessful reboot as well. Acting wasnt good though.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
ApocalypseGamerNov 5, 2011
YES! This remake of Romero's original film is WAY much better. A perfect cast, with suspense, more zombies, action, and a very fantastic plot. If you like zombies - Watch this film!
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
5
grandpajoe6191Sep 27, 2011
I never watched the original, but what I would recommend for "Dawn of the Dead" is to make a survival horror game rather than a movie. The ideas are fresh and tense, but its displayed using the wrong techniques.
4 of 11 users found this helpful47
All this user's reviews
8
AtTheMoviesJun 29, 2011
In order to judge this movie, you must look at it in two ways. First, since it is billed as a remake of the original, and not a re-imagining, one must look at how it holds up to the original. The original is, by far better then this. TheIn order to judge this movie, you must look at it in two ways. First, since it is billed as a remake of the original, and not a re-imagining, one must look at how it holds up to the original. The original is, by far better then this. The remake lacks the overarching criticism of consumerism that the original had. The remake specials effects are obviously better, but that is a given. The original is scarier in the traditional sense. The remake is almost more of a thriller. Many plot points are not carried over into the remake. Both versions deliver what you want, a great zombie movie with lots of zombies kills and suspense. So, when compared to the original, it scores around a 6.5. However, when looking at the film in it's on right, if you saw this before the original, it is much better. The special effects as mentioned are very good. There is a large cast of characters, so there are lots of main character deaths. We seem to be left with only the characters we pity at the end, which is good. When not compared with the original, the plot is refreshing. There are plenty of suspenseful sequences, and a great introduction to what the world has come to through the eyes of the main character. No zombie movie is complete without a great introduction to the zombie ridden world. The remake triumphs the original in that sense, since we already knew what happened in the original, based on events in Night of the Living Dead. The film also does a good job of making the mall seem real, by creating a lot of fake, yet believable brands. So, in it's own right, without looking at the original, the remake of Dawn of the Dead would get an 8.75. So, when averaged with the score of a 6.5 when compared with the original, the remake of Dawn of the Dead would get a 7.625. That rounds up to an 8, which is my score for the remake. That is of course compared to the 10 that I would give the original. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
TheNewSpielbergMay 1, 2011
As much as I love Romero's 1978 classic, I must agree with fellow movie buffs who say that this particular remake was unfairly prejudiced and slandered upon release. The movie sticks pretty much to the basic plot; a group of people hide outAs much as I love Romero's 1978 classic, I must agree with fellow movie buffs who say that this particular remake was unfairly prejudiced and slandered upon release. The movie sticks pretty much to the basic plot; a group of people hide out in an abandoned shopping center during a zombie apocalypse. That's all there is to it. The acting was good and some of the comedy moments were actually pretty funny (Hollywood Squares, anyone?). Of course, seeing as it was shot in the modern era of the zombie flick, there is just enough blood and huts to satisfy any gorehound. The zombies looked scary and WERE scary simply due to the fact that they could sprint (a cliche started by 28 Days Later). The heavy metal soundtrack really helped the atmosphere of a zombie invasion and went great with zombie-killing. In sum, an underrated horror movie. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerMar 6, 2011
This may seem like a b rated movie but it's not it's surprisingly well made movie, truly enjoyable if your into the zombie movie genre like I am, if you are this is a must see.
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
5
ArkonBladeDec 28, 2010
the original dawn of the dead is easily the best zombie movie ever done ... the remake not so much . it does stick to the whole survivors holding out in the mall set up but thats really about it . its not a bad film but doesnt have the magicthe original dawn of the dead is easily the best zombie movie ever done ... the remake not so much . it does stick to the whole survivors holding out in the mall set up but thats really about it . its not a bad film but doesnt have the magic the original has . the zombie baby how ever was a creepy little thing . Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
hampusforevOct 24, 2010
Sometimes you wonder whether people even watched this movie or just dismissed it as "lesser" than the favorite Romero-classic from 78 without even giving it a chance. I mean "Paranormal Activity", the worst **** atrocity I've ever seen, has aSometimes you wonder whether people even watched this movie or just dismissed it as "lesser" than the favorite Romero-classic from 78 without even giving it a chance. I mean "Paranormal Activity", the worst **** atrocity I've ever seen, has a better metascore. I'm probably one of the most pretentious cinema snobs that you'll ever meet, but I loved this movie. It's miles better than the original, which is revolutionary, sure, but has much flatter characters and lesser development. And don't give me any of the "striking critique of capitalism"-nonsense; that "mall-shoppers are like zombies" is as shallow a symbol as a 14-year-old punk-rocker who just discovered Bill Hicks would come up with. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
JesseR.Feb 2, 2010
I've seen worse zombie flicks but none that took this much money 2 fail so miserably. Nick Cannon is terrible (which is still pretty good for Nick Cannon acting), Mena is unbelieveable (not in a good way) as the heroine, and "Bud" I've seen worse zombie flicks but none that took this much money 2 fail so miserably. Nick Cannon is terrible (which is still pretty good for Nick Cannon acting), Mena is unbelieveable (not in a good way) as the heroine, and "Bud" (still pissed about that one) is the undead proof that this movie is an abomination. Avoid this @ all costs unless it's simply to watch the movie w/ the commentary on and listen how they weakly try to defend the movie ("You think you can do better?"). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
JoeBobNov 7, 2009
Overrated. not much character development, pretty cheesy at times, but it did have some good points such as being funny. but is mostly mediocre and flat.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
CodyB.rJun 5, 2009
Most people praise this movie for the epic masterpiece it is, some dumbasses pan it. Just because those people loved the original so much, they think remakes shouldn't be made. They never really got into the storyline because they are Most people praise this movie for the epic masterpiece it is, some dumbasses pan it. Just because those people loved the original so much, they think remakes shouldn't be made. They never really got into the storyline because they are so hyped by the original dawn of the dead that they can't see the substance in this epic film and see it as "just a remake". This film is an original of its own. Remakes aren't replicas of the original movies, dumbasses. They give more originality and creativity of their own and see what it would be like in modern times, that's all. This is the best zombie masterpiece besides left 4 dead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JayHApr 12, 2009
One of the best horror films of all time. It is genuinely frightening, great special effects. Suspenseful, well directed and acted. The touches of humor make it work that much better. Excellent.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AdamW.Mar 1, 2009
This movie is the pinnacle of epic zombie movies that are also funny.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
8
DorianS.Apr 5, 2008
Hell, this movie was great,blood and all that,but the problem is,the zombies are too fast.I was first scared by the movie,but later,it was fun
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
Edc.Feb 24, 2008
if you have ever seen any zombie horror film before then you needent see this one. all the cliche'd characters, one dimensional personalities and terrible cringeworthy one-liners as per usual. however unlike other fliks, there was none if you have ever seen any zombie horror film before then you needent see this one. all the cliche'd characters, one dimensional personalities and terrible cringeworthy one-liners as per usual. however unlike other fliks, there was none of the suspense and not enough jumpy moments to save the film. aside from some smirk raising black humour, this really was a very very poor film. waste of time Collapse
3 of 5 users found this helpful
0
LouisH.Feb 6, 2008
Like all of our contemporary horror movies, this movie was absolutely one of the worst movies ever made. I can't believe they consider it a "drama" movie after all the senselessly stupid actions all the characters make. There is no Like all of our contemporary horror movies, this movie was absolutely one of the worst movies ever made. I can't believe they consider it a "drama" movie after all the senselessly stupid actions all the characters make. There is no reason, no sense, or any point to this movie. Where did the zombies come from? Why did nobody take them seriously (with the mom's stupid gasp in the beggining)? Here is why :THEY'RE ALL IDIOTS!!!!! Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
10
JohnR.Jan 18, 2008
Outstanding movie, much better than the original Dawn. Great directing, acting, soundtrack and action. As with most of my favorite movies, I enjoyed it more the 2nd, 3rd and 4th viewing. The Directors cut is also much better than the Outstanding movie, much better than the original Dawn. Great directing, acting, soundtrack and action. As with most of my favorite movies, I enjoyed it more the 2nd, 3rd and 4th viewing. The Directors cut is also much better than the original theater version. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ZarshaleX.Oct 6, 2007
Easily my favorite horror film. Maybe I'm biased towards zombie movies but be that as it may, this one takes the cake. Quick, frightening, and gripping: everything needed to make a good Horror Movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MarcoP.May 25, 2007
Really terrible. It doesn't hold up a match to the original, and it's even worse watched on its own merits. Avoid at all costs. And don't believe people who say this remake is good. They are Consumer zombies.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
RandyM.Apr 23, 2007
A surprisingly good remake of George A. Romero's classic. Bloody, intense, and utterly relentless. Prepare for the ride of your life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MikeMar 6, 2007
Overall I enjoyed watching it...
A little slow at times, especially when they are stuck inside the mall.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RD.Mar 3, 2007
Very good remake. I have not seen the original. So I won't compare it with the remake. But this is a good movie and very entertaining and creepy. TH emovie is especially good for a first time director and the ending is very good Very good remake. I have not seen the original. So I won't compare it with the remake. But this is a good movie and very entertaining and creepy. TH emovie is especially good for a first time director and the ending is very good provided you stay till the end of the credits. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
JH.Feb 26, 2007
Robugly, could you be less vague? Overall, as horror movies go, the characters here were astro physicists compared to your average teen slasher bimbo/jock clique.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
RirenJan 28, 2007
It's dumber than the original, and it wants to be. The drama is overwrought at times, but the real strengths are the manic action and outrageous moments. The special effects are outstanding, relying on topnotch prosthetics instead of It's dumber than the original, and it wants to be. The drama is overwrought at times, but the real strengths are the manic action and outrageous moments. The special effects are outstanding, relying on topnotch prosthetics instead of CGI. If you like splatter cinema and aren't hoping for the rebirth of Romero in a remake, pick this up. Better yet, watch it with friends. It turns into a laugh riot surprisingly easily with the right crowd. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KingJan 14, 2007
About as good as the original.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
CiaranG.Jan 4, 2007
Not only a brilliant movie that inspired an amazing video game on Xbox 360 (Dead Rising), but the DVD features loads of extra features that give an insight into what was happening outside the mall, and around the world. Includes fictional Not only a brilliant movie that inspired an amazing video game on Xbox 360 (Dead Rising), but the DVD features loads of extra features that give an insight into what was happening outside the mall, and around the world. Includes fictional amateur video and news reports, deleted scenes and more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GordonM.Jul 24, 2006
This is a really good zombie movie, and I recommend it to EVERYONE! It is really cool how the zombies can run and how you can only kill them by shooting them in the head. This is the best film ever made. Alongside The Ring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JayF.Feb 25, 2006
I got to see the director's cut DVD version of this film and I did find the movie to be exciting but why is it that every comment I see for this movie makes it seem like the original was mega-cheese and this film should recieve an I got to see the director's cut DVD version of this film and I did find the movie to be exciting but why is it that every comment I see for this movie makes it seem like the original was mega-cheese and this film should recieve an Oscar( I'm talking to you Ebert). It's not that I outwright hate this remake it is just that I am so attached to the original. I was happy to see Tom Savini and Ken Foree make appearances in this movie. Foree even recites the tagline from the original movie, "When there's no more room in Hell, the dead will walk the Earth". This movie is fun in a macabre sort of way, especially that "Hollywood Squares" part. The one thing that they missed in the movie for me is one thing and one thing only. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EdL.Feb 8, 2006
Absolutely the BEST zombie movie I have ever seen. Blood, suspense, head shots - you get it all with this one. Nice that you get zombies that actually RUN... much more terrifying that other remakes that show the zombies trudging around as if Absolutely the BEST zombie movie I have ever seen. Blood, suspense, head shots - you get it all with this one. Nice that you get zombies that actually RUN... much more terrifying that other remakes that show the zombies trudging around as if doped up with valium. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
robuglyDec 29, 2005
This is one movie that I could not stand watching. Several times while watching I felt the urge to yell at the movie screen, or just leave. I got so angry at the stupid choices the characters made. There is just no way people would ever act This is one movie that I could not stand watching. Several times while watching I felt the urge to yell at the movie screen, or just leave. I got so angry at the stupid choices the characters made. There is just no way people would ever act that way in that sort of situation, it makes me so frustrated to watch this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
[Anonymous]Dec 10, 2005
(director's cut) This movie delivers the zombie goods, and there are some funny parts. Still I'd wish they'd gotten to business a little sooner.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
CameronS.Mar 24, 2004
I am a big fan of George A. Romero?s zombie classics Night of the Living Dead and Dawn of the Dead. The latter film is a fun action movie, it contains many great scares, gore galore, and has biting humor in a world where humor is dying with I am a big fan of George A. Romero?s zombie classics Night of the Living Dead and Dawn of the Dead. The latter film is a fun action movie, it contains many great scares, gore galore, and has biting humor in a world where humor is dying with the dead civilization. The characters are also well developed and the film is focused primarily on four stranded refugees in a vast mall, the pinnacle of the 20th Century, while also creating many comic zombie fellows roaming the mall. Absent are the things that made Romero?s film a great horror-comedy achievement. The poorly shot and imprudently edited actions scenes are incomprehensible to a point where it is hard to tell what?s going on. There are far many more characters this time around, whose sole purpose is to get killed violently by the films climax. However, something did survive into this remake, and that?s the comedy. The film is terribly funny, making for something of an entertaining piece. What I especially liked about the much better zombie movie ?Return of the Living Dead? was that the characters lived in a world where zombie movies existed, especially Romero?s films. The characters, as dumb as they were at times knew that they were dealing with zombies. I note this because there is a scene when all the excess characters show up they wheel in a woman who is clearly about to turn into the dead, with her gray skin highlighting and her dying green veins becoming clearly noticeable. I was just thinking how dumb these people would have to be to let someone they knew would be turning into the mall. Note to everybody: when somebody is greyly pale with their veins popping out and the smell of death, don?t let them into your place of refugee. The direction is quite sophomoric and the screenplay is a serviceable homage to the original while coming up with some original tact and wit of its own, though it plays with the usual thoughts and clichés of most modern horror films. That being understood, the acting is quite serviceable for this kind of movie, with Ving Rhames spouting lines so intrepidly panicky they come off exceedingly humorous. The film feels terribly inspired by the far superior 28 Days Later, but not stealing anything that would have made a difference, like the anti-cliché of instant infection. Now we have zombies that are faster but just as dumb who can tip mobile vehicles that weigh several tons but are unable to break through a glass door. I didn?t wholly dislike this film, but I am curious as to why anybody would want to see this picture over Romero?s own classic. But a good comment I would like to say about it, it is far better than Tom Savini?s trite, inane, and ghastly Night of the Living Dead remake or even Romero?s own humdrum, flavorless, spendthrift, feeble Day of the Dead. But then again, that?s not much of an accomplishment either. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DavidB.Mar 21, 2004
Fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful