Daybreakers

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 190 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 190

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. ReeseM
    Jan 11, 2010
    3
    Like most people today, I am growing tired of vampires. The point of this film was to bring the science fiction fans into the world of vampires. However, this movie was not exactly the right choice. I'm not saying that the story was ludicrous. It has an interesting premise, but it was done in the most horrible way possible. The characters were one-dimensional, the movie was rushed, Like most people today, I am growing tired of vampires. The point of this film was to bring the science fiction fans into the world of vampires. However, this movie was not exactly the right choice. I'm not saying that the story was ludicrous. It has an interesting premise, but it was done in the most horrible way possible. The characters were one-dimensional, the movie was rushed, and the plot line to save humanity was weak. And that's not the half of it. The action sequences are dull and uninteresting, the visual effects gave me a headache, and the horror elements are invisible to the five senses. I found Beetlejuice more frightening than this film. Not to mention that this movie will most likely disappoint the action goers craving for an intense ride, but it will also push away teenage girls that go crazy over sexy, vexed vampires. I suggest you take your date to go see Avatar again, because this movie will only ruin your night. Expand
  2. nmorris
    Jan 18, 2010
    3
    This film was bearable. Mostly because my girlfriend gets scared in horror movies and clings to me the whole time, which is nice. Other than that, the film itself is a complete flop. Most notably, the supposed cure for vampirism is the most idiotic deux ex machina cure I have seen in a movie in some time. Also, if there are light proof military suits, then are there never any vampires out This film was bearable. Mostly because my girlfriend gets scared in horror movies and clings to me the whole time, which is nice. Other than that, the film itself is a complete flop. Most notably, the supposed cure for vampirism is the most idiotic deux ex machina cure I have seen in a movie in some time. Also, if there are light proof military suits, then are there never any vampires out during the day? Don't they understand that it would be better to hunt humans when they would actually be outside? This movie does not verge on idiotic, it IS idiotic. Expand
  3. NerijusD.
    Jan 28, 2010
    2
    A pretty bad film.
  4. HawkinsB.
    Jan 11, 2010
    2
    This movie suffers from many things: First of all, it didn't know what kind of movie it wanted to be. It wasn't scary, it wasn't gory (by today's standards), so its not a thriller. Bad Directing: There were times that the only reason i knew what was going on was because the movie followed so many tired tropes that at any point in the film, you can accurately predict This movie suffers from many things: First of all, it didn't know what kind of movie it wanted to be. It wasn't scary, it wasn't gory (by today's standards), so its not a thriller. Bad Directing: There were times that the only reason i knew what was going on was because the movie followed so many tired tropes that at any point in the film, you can accurately predict what will happen next. Bad Acting: Some of the actors were so bad that I was excited to see them get mauled, only to have my hopes dashed by this disappointing, meandering, BORING film. Heck, even the ending was left open, as if they were thinking of a sequel.. Who are they kidding? Expand
  5. Shawn
    Jan 10, 2010
    1
    This movie had a halfway decent premise, and absolutely refused to deliver on it. The thematic premise posed during the opening scene is only vaguely related to the themes explored in the film. It seems to only be there for shock value. In regards to the actual thematic premise, whether to find a blood substitute or a cure for vampirism, it is addressed in only the most shallow fashion. This movie had a halfway decent premise, and absolutely refused to deliver on it. The thematic premise posed during the opening scene is only vaguely related to the themes explored in the film. It seems to only be there for shock value. In regards to the actual thematic premise, whether to find a blood substitute or a cure for vampirism, it is addressed in only the most shallow fashion. Also, the idea that the world could completely change to the one depicted in the film in the span of only 10 years is ridiculous. Ultimately though it is character that counts and Daybreakers has some of the most thinly drawn and comical characterizations you can imagine. This would be fine if the film was pure satire, but it takes itself way to seriously and makes the viewing all the more painful. Oh and there are gratuitous scenes of violence throughout. Stay away. Far away. You'll be a better person because of it. Expand
  6. JustinM.
    Jan 10, 2010
    1
    Wow... blown away by terrible screenplay and terribly developed characters. NOT WORTH THE MONEY. Maybe watch it in 3 years on cable television if you are trapped at home and it is somehow the only thing on tv.
  7. JoeB
    Jan 15, 2010
    1
    A good idea splattered along with the rest of the tons of fake ridiculous blood in the movie. Really a shame, faulty story, bad acting, and what on earth is wrong with the brother??? i mean seriously!!
  8. LomaxH
    Jan 13, 2010
    0
    Terrible. Couldn't make it to the halfway point. No further comment is necessary.
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Helen O'Hara
    60
    Lots of interesting concepts competing for limited running time make for more of a TV pilot than a feature film.
  2. A darkly stylish horror film.
  3. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    60
    The script doesn't wring many surprises or much character involvement from the premise, and the brothers' helming, while slick, is short on scares, action setpieces and humor.