User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 98 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 98
  2. Negative: 0 out of 98
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 4, 2015
    9
    for so long its not true

    I only saw it once. I dare not watch this again. For some reason it was playing at a dingy burlesque-haunted cinema on old Granville Street in Vancouver on a Sunday afternoon in 1993 where wasted men usually shuffle in to deposit their sperm. (Not enough credit goes to internet porn for cleaning up the streets). Richard Linkater wasn't a story at the time. The
    for so long its not true

    I only saw it once. I dare not watch this again. For some reason it was playing at a dingy burlesque-haunted cinema on old Granville Street in Vancouver on a Sunday afternoon in 1993 where wasted men usually shuffle in to deposit their sperm. (Not enough credit goes to internet porn for cleaning up the streets). Richard Linkater wasn't a story at the time. The guy who made Slackers. The bastard love child of Jim Jarmusch and Chrissie Hynde for all I knew. No clue he'd be the chosen one to eventually deliver us to Boyhood. I went in with a friend on a lark and floated out on a psilocybin cloud of joy. I was awestruck. I know these guys! I wanted to endlessly sing its praises but my friend didn't get the same charge out of it. (Although months later at a Christmas party of wayward misfits, he couldn't stop playing the sound track). Maybe it was me. But this was exactly how I remembered High School in the 70's. Was I hallucinating the whole thing? Indeed I was stoned much of the time, but all that was brilliantly accounted for. All that was missing was a bit of Pink Floyd and a whole lot of Led Zeppelin as alluded to in the title. Dazed & Confused isn't merely the best movie about High School in the 1970's. It is the best movie about High School, and the best movie about the 1970's, and perhaps the best movie about male adolescence (yes, yes, IMHO, of course, what else). I dare not watch it again for what if I burst the bubble of such virgin memories to forever spoil my love and admiration for it. Or was it the dingy cinema I have fond nostalgic feelings for? Something. I'll have to watch it again, probably soon, once Linklater finally gets the grand red-carpet treatment along with the golden trinkets he so long deserves.
    Expand
  2. Jun 16, 2014
    6
    Dazed and Confused very accurately portrays the whole "teenage wasteland" of the 70's, I'll give it that, but it ultimately has no real plot or any real end. It swerves back and forth between certain key scenes without actually going anywhere. But, it is one very entertaining movie for what it is. The whole reason to watch Dazed and Confused is Matthew McConaughey saying "alright, alright,Dazed and Confused very accurately portrays the whole "teenage wasteland" of the 70's, I'll give it that, but it ultimately has no real plot or any real end. It swerves back and forth between certain key scenes without actually going anywhere. But, it is one very entertaining movie for what it is. The whole reason to watch Dazed and Confused is Matthew McConaughey saying "alright, alright, alright!" Expand
  3. May 25, 2014
    8
    Dazed and Confused is a great teenager film with the movie following the life of soon to be seniors and freshmen in highschool the day school ends for the summer. The seniors haze the freshmen by hitting them on the ass with a paddle and no adults seems to care they even laugh about it which is funny becuase they would be arrested if that happened nowadays. At least they end up giving themDazed and Confused is a great teenager film with the movie following the life of soon to be seniors and freshmen in highschool the day school ends for the summer. The seniors haze the freshmen by hitting them on the ass with a paddle and no adults seems to care they even laugh about it which is funny becuase they would be arrested if that happened nowadays. At least they end up giving them a beer after the beating or they invite some out to party later on that night. The movie has no plot other then just hanging out with friends, drinking and smoking pot. The movie has quite a lot of noticeable stars that later become famous the biggest being Ben Affleck, Milla Jovovich, Matthew McConaughey.

    Overall i give it a 8.0
    Expand
  4. May 23, 2014
    9
    I loved this movie I was told it was great but I never had the urge to check this movie out, and I am really glad I did. It was a blind buy for me on Blu-Ray and I am so glad that I picked it up because I will be able to watch this movie over and over again. It wasn't a laugh out loud comedy say like The Hangover but it was just so funny as a movie as a whole with so many memorable scenes.I loved this movie I was told it was great but I never had the urge to check this movie out, and I am really glad I did. It was a blind buy for me on Blu-Ray and I am so glad that I picked it up because I will be able to watch this movie over and over again. It wasn't a laugh out loud comedy say like The Hangover but it was just so funny as a movie as a whole with so many memorable scenes. Found myself smiling and laughing the whole time a great watch. Collapse
  5. Jul 4, 2012
    8
    I think this is the first movie I liked concerned with the "last day of school" type scenario. A cast of actors that (for the most part) you never hear from again but are perfect for their roles in this movie. A little revenge, a little reminiscing, a little weed/indulgence during a time of innocence and absence of responsiblity.
  6. Feb 8, 2012
    8
    Fantastic movie. The movie is really about nothing, just the last day of school before summer but it just has that swagger. It has a ton of noticeable young faces that go on to have bigger and better careers. One of the most fun movies I've ever seen.
  7. Aug 25, 2011
    9
    If I could just state an opinion (and by opinion I mean fact), Dazed and Confused is the best teen comedy of all time. It is an intelligent, energetic, and very funny look at a point in time that everyone lives through, with a strong dose of nostalgia and understanding. Set-up like Robert Atlman's take on high school, Dazed and Confused presents a cast of characters so huge that you'llIf I could just state an opinion (and by opinion I mean fact), Dazed and Confused is the best teen comedy of all time. It is an intelligent, energetic, and very funny look at a point in time that everyone lives through, with a strong dose of nostalgia and understanding. Set-up like Robert Atlman's take on high school, Dazed and Confused presents a cast of characters so huge that you'll barely have time to get to know all of them. Some say that's a minus, I call it a plus. You ever look into your high school yearbook and go "That guy! I remember him! He's was cool, I guess. Don't really remember much else though..." That's precisely the point. These are the people who end up influencing you the most, but you remember the least. The armies of stoners, jocks, preps, nerds, rockers, and all that jazz. There are no real struggles to overcome, and no real driving goal to the plot, other than just to enjoy yourself. You know what that sounds like? That sounds like pretty much everything I did as a teenager. Expand
  8. Aug 16, 2010
    10
    Brilliantly funny and always entertaining. This is a film for anyone who ever wanted to grow up in the 70's but sadly missed it. It doesn't have a single thought in its head, but who cares when the scenes are so accurately shot and excellently presented.
  9. JackT
    Apr 27, 2007
    10
    A fun and entertaining portrayal of pop culture during the mid-70's. Don't look for a deep meaning or plot when watching this movie, but expect to enjoy it.
  10. DaveA.
    Jul 26, 2006
    10
    Simply put, this is a wonderful movie. It is among my top 10 all time favorite films. Something to note, do not judge a book by its cover! This is not some stupid wannabe Cheech and Chong comedy. Far from it! It is a heart warming trip back in time to high school life in the 1970s which can be appreciated even by those of us who were just toddlers in the 70s. See this film. Own the DVD. Simply put, this is a wonderful movie. It is among my top 10 all time favorite films. Something to note, do not judge a book by its cover! This is not some stupid wannabe Cheech and Chong comedy. Far from it! It is a heart warming trip back in time to high school life in the 1970s which can be appreciated even by those of us who were just toddlers in the 70s. See this film. Own the DVD. You'll love it, like most people do. Expand
  11. DavidM.
    May 23, 2006
    10
    The best teenage coming of age flick ever. Bar none. American Graffiti, Fast Times at Ridgmont High and all the others look phony and worn by comparison.
  12. dakotak.
    Apr 13, 2005
    10
    Seniors '76.
  13. kate
    Jan 25, 2005
    10
    This movie kicks ass man, weeeedddd hey this should by comedy not drama by the way...
  14. BNButler
    Dec 7, 2004
    10
    When watching this film, you feel like you are living your high school years all over again. It is a timeless classic that you can relate weather you grew up in 1976 or you grew up in 1996. Linkslater has painted us a picture of all the imaginable characters and all the good times that we probabley forgot, but knew had. Its like all the good times condensed in under 2 hours and all the When watching this film, you feel like you are living your high school years all over again. It is a timeless classic that you can relate weather you grew up in 1976 or you grew up in 1996. Linkslater has painted us a picture of all the imaginable characters and all the good times that we probabley forgot, but knew had. Its like all the good times condensed in under 2 hours and all the right characters. Expand
  15. ZarahM.
    Jul 24, 2004
    10
    This is a great movie!! I can watch it over and over again without getting sick of it. Shawn Andrews is my the best actor in the film! I also Think He is Very Hott and if anyone knows of any pictures of him please send them to my email adress. I am only 20 and I really wish I would have grown up in the 70. You must see this movie!
  16. AndrewM.
    Jun 17, 2004
    9
    I watched this film only recently, having never seen it nor even heard about it before, and therefore truly felt I had found a jewel in the rough when I had finished watching it. It's a beauty of a film. I don't know what Linklater's full motive and intention was when making it, but for me this film takes the viewer on a whirlwind ride through a time not that long ago but I watched this film only recently, having never seen it nor even heard about it before, and therefore truly felt I had found a jewel in the rough when I had finished watching it. It's a beauty of a film. I don't know what Linklater's full motive and intention was when making it, but for me this film takes the viewer on a whirlwind ride through a time not that long ago but still somewhat inevitably "forgotten". I was born in the 70's but was really an 80's child, so I didn't really understand what went down any more than the 60's or 50's, other than what I'd read in books or seen on TV. This film changed that - now I feel that I have experienced my own little piece of the 70's, as though I spent an invisible 90 mins in a time machine. It's a great piece of work: the acting for the most part is brilliant, the script is precise, funny and actual, the directing is glib, the music is spot-on (and kicks ass!) and the story itself is suitably light but penetrating. Truly, anyone born this side of WWII should take this trip down "memory" lane - it's a blast. Expand
  17. JessicaM.
    Mar 25, 2004
    10
    This movie was the best movie in the whole world...Im only 17 but i would have loved to grow up in the '70s. The movie just makes me wanna be there.
  18. YoonC.
    Sep 15, 2003
    10
    Simply breathtaking. Linklater avoids the pitfalls of most semi-autobiographical movies--the easy sentimentality and nostalgia. Instead, he takes us on an incisive and revealing ride thru the place, the period, and emotional themepark of his youth. Instead of a film basked in the glow of bygone past, Linklater revives his youth as vivid present brimming over spontaneity and verve. The Simply breathtaking. Linklater avoids the pitfalls of most semi-autobiographical movies--the easy sentimentality and nostalgia. Instead, he takes us on an incisive and revealing ride thru the place, the period, and emotional themepark of his youth. Instead of a film basked in the glow of bygone past, Linklater revives his youth as vivid present brimming over spontaneity and verve. The script is both accurate in terms of milieu but at moments rise to the level of casual but real poetry and deep insights. His characters rise above merely stereotypes and register as thinkiing, feeling individuals. Despite Linklater's degree of detachment and 'objectivity' that renders it more hardedged than your average semi-autobiographical film, it still overflows with passion, vitality, rock n roll energy. A beautifully balanced movie, fascinating as drama and comedy, as youth film, as ethnography. Also, the movie features perhaps three of the most beautiful women in current cinema. Michelle Burke especially shines as Jodie Kramer. Comparable to Altman's best, therefore one of the best ever. Expand
  19. ArandaF.
    Jul 14, 2003
    10
    This movie is a terrific movie. It makes me laugh and reminds me of the friendships from my teenage years and early 20's. Growing up in a small town in the midwest, I am reminded of the parties and small-mnded thoughts of many of the "grown-ups". I also know people like the characters in this movie and it is a great reminder of home.
  20. BlancoA.
    Nov 19, 2002
    10
    I grew up in the 70s, and this film just felt so damned authentic. I can't exactly capture what it is that's so right, but it's truly a genius flick. I saw it 4 times in the theater. I also can't remember another film that featured this many undiscovered actors that eventually made it big. A MUST SEE....
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Ranier
    80
    It's a highly enjoyable spree that doesn't add up to a whole lot by the end. But you don't necessarily want it to add up to anything -- that's part of its charm. [24 Sept 1993]
  2. Reviewed by: Mike Clark
    88
    The "Age of Innocence" oozes anthropological dazzle, but Dazed and Confused may some day rate its own Smithsonian showings for clinically re-creating the High School Experience 1976. [20 Sept 1993]
  3. 91
    From the opening shot of a burnt-orange GTO cruising a high school parking lot to the strains of Aerosmith's ''Sweet Emotion,'' Richard Linklater's film nails mid-'70s adolescence so precisely that you'll need Clearasil by the end credits.