User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 148 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 148
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 30, 2013
    4
    The plot is ok, Doesn't really keep your interest due to spoiling everything rather early on into the film so you know the lead's motives as to why he does what he does. That being said, The film is ruined by disappointing performances by the cast, Especially by the leads Farrell and Howard. What helped contribute to their poor performances is the poorly written and painfully straightThe plot is ok, Doesn't really keep your interest due to spoiling everything rather early on into the film so you know the lead's motives as to why he does what he does. That being said, The film is ruined by disappointing performances by the cast, Especially by the leads Farrell and Howard. What helped contribute to their poor performances is the poorly written and painfully straight forward dialogue. There is no mystery, no suspense with this film, It's actually quite boring at times. The action scenes are ok but over far too quickly and you can not really enjoy them or be entertained by them. Overall, Dead Man Down is just an average film that doesn't do a single thing in a good way. Expand
  2. Mar 9, 2013
    5
    Dragon Tattoo director falls over his own shoes while trying to create a good environment and character set up for this film. The Mood felt less revengey and more lets talk and then cause of action that people don't exactly want to see.
  3. Jul 27, 2013
    6
    The movie was okay, but I didn't really like the main character. Yeah, he wanted revenge and all, blah blah blah. I actually watched the movie for Noomi Rapace, and she did a pretty good job. Other than that, the plot was kind of blah. I'm giving this movie the score I did because I watched the movie all the way through.
  4. Mar 10, 2013
    5
    A really average movie. This was the way I felt about the Euro-version of Girl with a Dragon Tattoo (same director as this movie). It wasn't terrible, but it never really broke out as fully entertaining. I guess it is better than sitting in a bus stop watching the dregs of humanity fall over themselves while trying to walk and breath at the same time. What is most striking in this film isA really average movie. This was the way I felt about the Euro-version of Girl with a Dragon Tattoo (same director as this movie). It wasn't terrible, but it never really broke out as fully entertaining. I guess it is better than sitting in a bus stop watching the dregs of humanity fall over themselves while trying to walk and breath at the same time. What is most striking in this film is that Colin Farrell didn't completely ruin it as is his usual impact films. Before anyone tells me they like Colin Farrell go watch Alexander...enough said. Here he was serviceable which for him is a darn near Oscar caliber tour de force of acting. Expand
  5. Jul 12, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie looks good and has some decent ideas for a story, but some poor dialogue and some scenes that made no sense makes this film mediocre. My one big issue with the film is the supposed scaring on Noomi Rapace's face in which children run over just to throw food at her and scream monster. Really! C Expand
  6. Jul 9, 2013
    4
    This is movie a boring confusing mess.Although the action scenes are cool and had some good moments,the movie is just boring and makes you confused with the plot.
  7. Sep 1, 2013
    5
    Many new to this particular film.
    A thousand such as this was not true with the actors.
    But that is positive to write, you could watch all the way, and this is today's lineup is praise.
  8. Mar 14, 2013
    4
    You know when a movie trailer looks one way, but the movie is a whole different thing? Bingo! Colin Farrell broods as he does so well, as a man who's plotting revenge on the gangsters who killed his wife and daughter. To drag down the plot, we suffer thru an awkward relationship with a damaged woman (Noomi Rapace). While there are three short spurts of action, there's more than 90 minutesYou know when a movie trailer looks one way, but the movie is a whole different thing? Bingo! Colin Farrell broods as he does so well, as a man who's plotting revenge on the gangsters who killed his wife and daughter. To drag down the plot, we suffer thru an awkward relationship with a damaged woman (Noomi Rapace). While there are three short spurts of action, there's more than 90 minutes of brooding character drama. Slow, gloomy dialogue. Long, lackluster encounters. It's really not worth suffering thru it just to see a truck drive into a house. Expand
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 24
  2. Negative: 8 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Trevor Johnston
    May 3, 2013
    40
    A way-too-leisurely thriller whose destination is fairly obvious from early on, but to which the talented cast apply themselves with effortful seriousness.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    May 3, 2013
    20
    Director Niels Arden Orpev was in charge of the original "Girl with the Dragon Tattoo," starring Rapace, but fails to create a revenge thriller with anything like the same focus.
  3. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    Apr 29, 2013
    60
    A pleasingly intricate double (or is it triple?) revenge plot anchored by excellent acting, with a terrific burst of action at the climax.