User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 57
  2. Negative: 4 out of 57

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    Director Oplov has done it again! Dead Man Down is unusually brilliant. The paced movie packs up a lot in its 2 hours but it keeps you hanging till the end. Terence Howard is the actor that nailed it in the film. And when this movie ends you don't want it to.
  2. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    A strong character piece filled with developed and visually distinct characters in this police-less gangland. The romance is genuine and the acting is to a tea. Everyone succeeds in their prospective roles interestingly and with panache.
  3. Jun 30, 2013
    4
    The plot is ok, Doesn't really keep your interest due to spoiling everything rather early on into the film so you know the lead's motives as to why he does what he does. That being said, The film is ruined by disappointing performances by the cast, Especially by the leads Farrell and Howard. What helped contribute to their poor performances is the poorly written and painfully straight forward dialogue. There is no mystery, no suspense with this film, It's actually quite boring at times. The action scenes are ok but over far too quickly and you can not really enjoy them or be entertained by them. Overall, Dead Man Down is just an average film that doesn't do a single thing in a good way. Expand
  4. Mar 9, 2013
    5
    Dragon Tattoo director falls over his own shoes while trying to create a good environment and character set up for this film. The Mood felt less revengey and more lets talk and then cause of action that people don't exactly want to see.
  5. Mar 8, 2013
    7
    "Any Movie that comes out of WWE Studios cant be good." That's usually my response when I see the WWE logo during a film trailer. This film however is nothing like any film that has come out of that studio. Dead Man Down is smart, WAY smarter than I thought it was going to be. I decided to take chance and catch the midnight premier of this film because of the Cast, I just had this feeling that Noomi Rapace wouldn't take an awful roll. I was right. The pace is fantastic, It's not a full throttle action film. The action is placed perfectly between good character development and pleasing dialog. Noomi Rapace is BRILLIANT. After seeing her in Prometheus and Dead Man Down, I can confidently say she's one of my favorite actresses. She captures emotion like no other. Something about her performances just captivate you. My one complaint would be that I wanted better, cleaner kill shots. The violence is kind of Teen Rated video game like, Not that it doesn't work, Like i said the action is just right, but the execution is a little off. Being an action film fan maybe I'm spoiled by such violence in the Expendables and Django. Bottom line, This movie is a hell of a lot smarter than the critics are saying it is. If you want a film that keeps you entertained in all the right ways, give it a shot! It may have you leaving thinking the same thing that was in my head: That was a WWE Film?!" Expand
  6. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was done an injustice by critics, I found the movie highly emotional, dynamic and intelligent. I felt the scars on my face when Beatrice looked at them in the mirror and when she ran her fingers down her reconstructed face, I felt victor's pain when he mailed the picture squares and watched the home videos. The movie had a lot of plot twist and dramatic moments that were not predictable in the slightest. Great movie, would have gotten a 10 if not for the a few minor things. Expand
  7. Mar 14, 2013
    4
    You know when a movie trailer looks one way, but the movie is a whole different thing? Bingo! Colin Farrell broods as he does so well, as a man who's plotting revenge on the gangsters who killed his wife and daughter. To drag down the plot, we suffer thru an awkward relationship with a damaged woman (Noomi Rapace). While there are three short spurts of action, there's more than 90 minutes of brooding character drama. Slow, gloomy dialogue. Long, lackluster encounters. It's really not worth suffering thru it just to see a truck drive into a house. Expand
  8. Jul 8, 2013
    2
    Dead Man Down is the worst kind of film, one written hastily with so many side plots and themes that the central concept gets lost in translation so much that it takes literally a third of the film's run time before you find out that the films even about revenge. The film follows Victor (Colin Farrell), a local kingpins right hand man who is planning revenge against the men who killed his family. However when Beatrice (Noomi Rapace), his neighbour witnesses him murder someone in his apartment he is forced to do something for her that may mean his downfall or his salvation. There is no nice way to say it, this is a bad movie, it lacks believable characters, a decent draw and a reason to root for the central character, in fact for the first 30 minutes he just murders people with no justification behind it just because they have guns (because that's a reason to kill anyone in action films apparently). Now Colin Farrell isn't a bad actor, in fact he's quite a good one but he needs the right material and the script in Dead Man Down is just confusing. It's filled with nonsense twists that just make its two leads seem like schizophrenics as it supposedly builds to a tepid finale filled with fake emotions and ridiculously overworked messages that are so heavy-handed it just annoys you. It's filled with uninvolving resolutions and one of the dumbest final conversations in movie history. Rapace has to cope with the worst of it as her character flip flops around unsure on what she is doing, so much so that in one scene she is hitting on Victor and then suddenly she starts yelling at him for no reason, none whatsoever. It's not just a poor script though, its so poorly filmed and packaged it doesn't even qualify as an action film because those scenes are dull and unimpressive. It;s a poor picture unworthy of its two leads. Expand
  9. Mar 30, 2013
    7
    Farrell is solid and difficult to criticise as the dark avenger, while his lover and cohorts help push this badly paced story of revenge across the finish line with mixed success. The fact I don't think it wasted my time is probably the best merit I can pin on it, and it's shockingly good for a film that is endorsed, but not blatantly influenced, by WWE studios. I suggest you sit down and digest it with a smatter of salt. Collapse
  10. Jul 27, 2013
    6
    The movie was okay, but I didn't really like the main character. Yeah, he wanted revenge and all, blah blah blah. I actually watched the movie for Noomi Rapace, and she did a pretty good job. Other than that, the plot was kind of blah. I'm giving this movie the score I did because I watched the movie all the way through.
  11. Jul 21, 2013
    7
    Despite all of its hate, its a pretty good movie. Oplov takes all the good actors that he has corralled around him and manages to insert mean & gritty action, along with its revenge plot. All of it clicked and worked to make a very enjoyable film. It wasn't the best, by any means, and certainly could have been better, but for what it was, it was exciting and fun.
  12. Mar 10, 2013
    5
    A really average movie. This was the way I felt about the Euro-version of Girl with a Dragon Tattoo (same director as this movie). It wasn't terrible, but it never really broke out as fully entertaining. I guess it is better than sitting in a bus stop watching the dregs of humanity fall over themselves while trying to walk and breath at the same time. What is most striking in this film is that Colin Farrell didn't completely ruin it as is his usual impact films. Before anyone tells me they like Colin Farrell go watch Alexander...enough said. Here he was serviceable which for him is a darn near Oscar caliber tour de force of acting. Expand
  13. Dec 13, 2013
    7
    This is one of the very few cases I strongly disagree with the critics. I can´t believe such a low rating as 39/100 for a film like this. It´s not the best and it´s not very original, but it´s still good. The worst part would be the done to death revenge story the male character is planning. But the rest are good things: great acting, both Colin Farrel and Noomi Rapace show commitment and deliver what we expect from them. Both have a really great career at this point. Noomi is particularly fascinating to watch in any role she takes. The thing I´ve seen people hating on the most is the pace, and I have to say I didn´t have a problem at all with it, perfect to me. At the end you also get big action scenes, so that should make action lovers happy too. Good film. One of the few cases it is better than what you expected. Expand
  14. Mar 24, 2013
    7
    Colin Farrell certainly knows how to pick good projects as he's done so since 2009. I've enjoyed the last seven of his movies including this rather interesting gangster flick with the talented Noomi Rapace co- starring. There are two reasons for me seeing this Niels Arden Oplev film because he directed Noomi in the well known 'Girl With the Dragon Tattoo' then there is the fact that he's in production on a Stephen King film 'Under The Dome' and being a 'King' fan I was keen to see how it might be handled. The Dane is definitely one of the better directors out there and done a great job on 'Dead Man Down'. It certainly had a strong eastern European look and feel which made for a tight, gritty action laden thriller that had me enjoying every minute.

    The bottom line is, well acted and directed, the writing was great with enough depth to keep it interesting and exciting with the overall production rounding it off nicely. A solid action/thriller. Highly Recommended Score: 7.4/10
    Expand
  15. Jul 12, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie looks good and has some decent ideas for a story, but some poor dialogue and some scenes that made no sense makes this film mediocre. My one big issue with the film is the supposed scaring on Noomi Rapace's face in which children run over just to throw food at her and scream monster. Really! C Expand
  16. Jul 9, 2013
    4
    This is movie a boring confusing mess.Although the action scenes are cool and had some good moments,the movie is just boring and makes you confused with the plot.
  17. Sep 1, 2013
    5
    Many new to this particular film.
    A thousand such as this was not true with the actors.
    But that is positive to write, you could watch all the way, and this is today's lineup is praise.
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 24
  2. Negative: 8 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Trevor Johnston
    May 3, 2013
    40
    A way-too-leisurely thriller whose destination is fairly obvious from early on, but to which the talented cast apply themselves with effortful seriousness.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    May 3, 2013
    20
    Director Niels Arden Orpev was in charge of the original "Girl with the Dragon Tattoo," starring Rapace, but fails to create a revenge thriller with anything like the same focus.
  3. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    Apr 29, 2013
    60
    A pleasingly intricate double (or is it triple?) revenge plot anchored by excellent acting, with a terrific burst of action at the climax.