Gramercy Pictures (I) | Release Date: December 29, 1995
7.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 61 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
48
Mixed:
8
Negative:
5
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
WT_GatorAug 1, 2016
Totally absorbing, gut wrenching, confronting film. Susan Sarandon and Sean Penn completely blow the screen away. You forget you are watching a movie at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGuysAug 11, 2014
Dead Man Walking has great performances, relevant messages about life and controversial topics like the death penalty, and a fine story. However, the movie can be overly sentimental at times, plus it could've been cut a good 10 minutes.Dead Man Walking has great performances, relevant messages about life and controversial topics like the death penalty, and a fine story. However, the movie can be overly sentimental at times, plus it could've been cut a good 10 minutes. Nonetheless, it's worth a watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Apr 23, 2013
Challenging, affecting, and uncommonly well-performed, "Dead Man Walking" earnestly displays a worthwhile and incisive loyalty to its powerful source material.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
LissaNov 24, 2006
This made me change my views on the Death Penalty. Amazing film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MaryMar 18, 2006
Makes you think again! Made me look this up to see what others thought because it clouded what I thought I knew for sure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SalmanH.Oct 15, 2005
Awesome acting...not an easy movie to watch i must say....but thats the beauty of this movie....Penn and Surandon did deserved an award.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GerronKOct 4, 2004
A powerfully disturbing and brilliant film with top notch performances by both Sean Penn and Susan Sarandon. One of the best films of 1995, the issues are handled brilliantly and yet tamely, with enough subtlety to allow viewers to A powerfully disturbing and brilliant film with top notch performances by both Sean Penn and Susan Sarandon. One of the best films of 1995, the issues are handled brilliantly and yet tamely, with enough subtlety to allow viewers to understand the impact of the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CamronR.Aug 20, 2004
I give it a 9 outta 10...peace.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AnthonyVJul 29, 2004
Top notch performance by Penn and Sarandon, their relationship is intriguing as it is challenging. The theme of capital punishment is explored splendidly. Robbins did a good job.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndrewFeb 28, 2004
A beautiful, tragic and heart-wrenching film. susan sarandon is wonderful as sister helen, and sean penn give another oscar-worthy performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Jun 23, 2003
Truly wonderful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Oh,It'sJustGilbertMulroneycakesJan 9, 2003
Three hours? What version did you watch? It's not even two. A superb movie anyway, drags a little at times, but other than that...the technique at the end of splicing in images of the crime was a stroke of genius also. The ending's Three hours? What version did you watch? It's not even two. A superb movie anyway, drags a little at times, but other than that...the technique at the end of splicing in images of the crime was a stroke of genius also. The ending's a little abrupt, but that really doesn't matter. At all. Good one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SarahH.Apr 4, 2002
Extremely touching. A movie showing unforgiving and cruel nature of humans i.e. the nature of the death row inmate as well as the parents of the victims. The struggle of the Sister Helen in society after counselling the inmate is very well Extremely touching. A movie showing unforgiving and cruel nature of humans i.e. the nature of the death row inmate as well as the parents of the victims. The struggle of the Sister Helen in society after counselling the inmate is very well described. An excellent character portrayal by Susan Sarandon and Sean Penn. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JacquesR.Apr 3, 2001
Susan Sarandon blows the top off of this one. A great film to watch if you need to truly understand the emotional side of the death penalty.
0 of 0 users found this helpful