User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 34
  2. Negative: 3 out of 34
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DanW.
    Jun 18, 2006
    9
    I'm amazed how many critics appear not to have "got" this film. The premise is fairly straight and simple, but its executed perfectly, with brilliantly believable, well acted characters all round. I found the gang members' unfamiliarity with death particularly well observed and portrayed - its not like drug dealers are constantly popping caps in heads - they exist in their own I'm amazed how many critics appear not to have "got" this film. The premise is fairly straight and simple, but its executed perfectly, with brilliantly believable, well acted characters all round. I found the gang members' unfamiliarity with death particularly well observed and portrayed - its not like drug dealers are constantly popping caps in heads - they exist in their own little world of their own creation, just like everyone and when that bubble is broken, they'll feel just as vulnerable as anyone else. The subject of Britishness looms large when considering this film, and is obviously the reason so many got the wrong end of the stick. For me, its the first "British Movie" I've watched in which the director feels no need to draw attention to, or emphasise the fact that its set in England. Noone hams up their accent in front of the camera for once and the script doesn't go to pointless lengths to include pub references. Expand
  2. Rose
    Feb 15, 2007
    9
    I don't think I've ever seen reviews on Metacritic so heavily influenced by cultural diferences. I can't believe the score this film got, although I think it may be largely because of the American audience. Dead Man's Shoes is uttely unusual, well made, superbly acted and brutally affecting. Just because it is unlike the usual predictable trite Hollywood turns out, it I don't think I've ever seen reviews on Metacritic so heavily influenced by cultural diferences. I can't believe the score this film got, although I think it may be largely because of the American audience. Dead Man's Shoes is uttely unusual, well made, superbly acted and brutally affecting. Just because it is unlike the usual predictable trite Hollywood turns out, it does not make it a 'bland English Death Wish'! Expand
  3. NeilF.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    I'm sorry but 52% is shocking. This is one of the finest, most realistic gritty depictions of modern Brittish culture.
  4. RichR.
    Dec 18, 2007
    10
    Are you kidding? This is a great film, made even greater because Paddy Considine (one of the best actors in the English language, who stole the show in In America) is in it. Then, to top it off, Toby Kebbell, who is in Control, the Ian Curtis movie? This is a stone great film. Perfectly paced, perfectly acted and shot, perfectly written. Paddy should get more lead parts. Few actors can Are you kidding? This is a great film, made even greater because Paddy Considine (one of the best actors in the English language, who stole the show in In America) is in it. Then, to top it off, Toby Kebbell, who is in Control, the Ian Curtis movie? This is a stone great film. Perfectly paced, perfectly acted and shot, perfectly written. Paddy should get more lead parts. Few actors can show as much emotion, menace, and vulnerability. Expand
  5. DanB
    May 11, 2006
    8
    This is a great film with an excellent soundtrack, and is very British in terms of setting and style. Recommended.
  6. DarrenG.
    Sep 5, 2006
    8
    Excellent little film. Its about time it hit dvd.
  7. Benji
    Apr 24, 2007
    9
    I'm disappointed in the state of these reviews, as with everywhere else. The film is without a doubt one of the most emotionally powerful films with this level of grim violence that I've ever seen. It forces you to think as it throws you from being right behind the protagonist (the truly brilliant Considine) to being sympathetic to the criminals who tortured his brother. The I'm disappointed in the state of these reviews, as with everywhere else. The film is without a doubt one of the most emotionally powerful films with this level of grim violence that I've ever seen. It forces you to think as it throws you from being right behind the protagonist (the truly brilliant Considine) to being sympathetic to the criminals who tortured his brother. The critics over the pond in the US need to see past difficult accents and appreciate the intensity of what's being said and demanded of the viewer. Plenty of US made films are no more comprehensible due to regional accents, but they seem to believe American is "the standard". Expand
  8. Mase
    May 31, 2006
    5
    Not nearly as vicious as people might leave you to believe. Sort of a bland English Death Wish. Spends way to much time with the dopey hood characters and too little with Paddy. Makes you want to the characters to die because they are annoying and not because they abused a mentally challenged boy.
  9. ZeroS.
    May 12, 2006
    8
    It is interesting to see this released in US theaters, as we have had it on dvd in asia for some time. It is a provocative and at times brilliant study of midlands angst. Familiarity with the region would definatly aid in a better understanding of the characters, as there true feelings are rarely spoken in favor of a dirge of slang and cursing, (they are gansters after all!) Well acted It is interesting to see this released in US theaters, as we have had it on dvd in asia for some time. It is a provocative and at times brilliant study of midlands angst. Familiarity with the region would definatly aid in a better understanding of the characters, as there true feelings are rarely spoken in favor of a dirge of slang and cursing, (they are gansters after all!) Well acted and dark, seeing this in the theater would be a treat. Ignore the "twist" ending as it doesn't really push things forward or back. What's done is done, and it's harrowing. Love the Smog song at the begining of the film. Expand
  10. Aug 18, 2010
    0
    This picture is amateur hour at it's worst. From the shoddy editing to the campy screen writing (if it wasn't completely improvised, hard to tell when no real actors were actually hired), Dead man's shoes never aspires to be much more than a low budget B-movie at best. The user reviews that you will find in here are just a joke. Apparently the entire production crew signed up to pen downThis picture is amateur hour at it's worst. From the shoddy editing to the campy screen writing (if it wasn't completely improvised, hard to tell when no real actors were actually hired), Dead man's shoes never aspires to be much more than a low budget B-movie at best. The user reviews that you will find in here are just a joke. Apparently the entire production crew signed up to pen down lavish acclaim which will have you rolling your eyes in disdain if you've actually manage to see the film. Be honest and rate a movie according to it's overall quality and in comparison with other movies no matter if it's a high or low budget film. Expand
  11. Dec 24, 2013
    10
    Brilliant film that unfortunately doesn't t do the transatlantic switch well due to it's loyalty to real England. It makes me chuckle that one reviewer said the characters were unrealistic, this is obviously written by an American whom through terrible movie portrayals of evil-villains and posh butlers believes every Brit to be on first name terms with the queen, dine on crumpets withBrilliant film that unfortunately doesn't t do the transatlantic switch well due to it's loyalty to real England. It makes me chuckle that one reviewer said the characters were unrealistic, this is obviously written by an American whom through terrible movie portrayals of evil-villains and posh butlers believes every Brit to be on first name terms with the queen, dine on crumpets with rotten teeth and glug tea down with our pinkies raised. If you've been to England, real England you'll know how accurate these portrayals of small-town drug dealers are. This is a great film in my opinion and in England it's heralded as such. Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Felix Vasques Jr.
    80
    An original, complex, and utterly gruesome revenge parable, and never portrays its characters as black and white. Considine handles his performance like a pro, and only adds to the pure skill behind it.
  2. The film is filled with deeply unpleasant and stupid people whose vapid speech is largely incomprehensible due to thick regional accents.
  3. Reviewed by: Derek Elley
    40
    Film plays as a quirky Brit riff on everything from U.S. slasher pics to revenge oaters but without Meadows' usual psychological complexity.