Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: June 16, 1989
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 200 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
178
Mixed:
12
Negative:
10
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 18, 2011
Although "Dead Poets Society" copies the original book with no prominent changes, It still lives as a classic movie.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
ichiroSep 1, 2012
One of the best movies I watched. It helped me through a lot in my life. Williams was pretty good in that movie - his character made me rethink everything. I enjoyed the movie from the beginning until the end. And even though I'm a male, IOne of the best movies I watched. It helped me through a lot in my life. Williams was pretty good in that movie - his character made me rethink everything. I enjoyed the movie from the beginning until the end. And even though I'm a male, I cried at the ending. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
JagodaB.Apr 2, 2002
This was a fantastic moving story. I viewed it as a class video and we all rated it highly. When the part came when Mr Keeting was standing on his desk, my teacher stood on his desk and so did the rest of the class. It was a total shockThis was a fantastic moving story. I viewed it as a class video and we all rated it highly. When the part came when Mr Keeting was standing on his desk, my teacher stood on his desk and so did the rest of the class. It was a total shock when...[Spoiler omitted] Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
LucyV.Mar 1, 2004
This film teaches all of whom watch it, a wonderful meaning, between realsim and romantism. The actors' played their roles fantastically and should be applauded for their outstanding performance. Ethan Hawke and Sean Robert Leonard do This film teaches all of whom watch it, a wonderful meaning, between realsim and romantism. The actors' played their roles fantastically and should be applauded for their outstanding performance. Ethan Hawke and Sean Robert Leonard do an outstanding job at playing the two major roles of Todd Anderson and Neil Perry, along with one of Robin William's best works, casting the role of Mr. John Keating, who theaches the students to go out and make a path for their own lives, so that no one else needs to lead them. BRAVO!BRAVO! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RachelMay 22, 2007
It is probably the most influential movie I've seen in my life. I was truly inspired to change. Everyone should see it. CARPE DIEM!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
moonman1994Jul 26, 2013
An excellent film with great writing and great acting by the entire cast. The film has a great message and it is in no way predictable. Also the story line is extremely gripping. That is what makes this film truly great.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
StaticSpineApr 2, 2015
A thought-provoking and emotionally-engaging drama about one simple fact: nobody can teach you how to live your life. A great performance by Robin Williams.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
phishyphishyOct 21, 2014
This was one of those movies I hadn't seen, but had kind of seen. I've seen snippets aired on TV, and mostly new the plot. However, this was the first time I sat down and watched it beginning to end. I liked it. Sometimes it's message feltThis was one of those movies I hadn't seen, but had kind of seen. I've seen snippets aired on TV, and mostly new the plot. However, this was the first time I sat down and watched it beginning to end. I liked it. Sometimes it's message felt trite, but it's saved by wonderful acting performances. The best thing I can say about this film is that it holds up. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Spielberg00Sep 15, 2011
There's absolutely no question as to why DEAD POETS SOCIETY was nominated for Best Picture in 1989. Truly, if it weren't for the fact that a few critics thought Robin Williams should have just gone back to comedies (an absolutely idioticThere's absolutely no question as to why DEAD POETS SOCIETY was nominated for Best Picture in 1989. Truly, if it weren't for the fact that a few critics thought Robin Williams should have just gone back to comedies (an absolutely idiotic statement, in my opinion, though I can see a slight bit of their reasoning), this would have easily won the award. "Carpe diem; seize the day, boys!" If that one quote is remembered centuries from now, don't expect me to be at all surprised. DEAD POETS SOCIETY was like a tragic, sometimes witty drama that is one of Robin Williams' best yet. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
CaitlinS.Mar 9, 2005
I absoluty LOVED it. It has the tendancy of making you sit back and think "I can do this, no matter what they say." No movie has come close to touching my spirit and uplifting me, helping me aspire to reach my goals...except this one. I absoluty LOVED it. It has the tendancy of making you sit back and think "I can do this, no matter what they say." No movie has come close to touching my spirit and uplifting me, helping me aspire to reach my goals...except this one. It's well casted, well performed, and very well loved. No movie can be more inspirational in my book!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
annmarieMay 26, 2005
Wonderful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BeckieK.Oct 3, 2004
This is the best movie i have ever seen. It has compassion, and makes you think. The trancendentalism is awsome, and i think everyone should take this movie in to heart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LarisseI.Aug 16, 2006
This story is the best! Especially for those people that are still studying that are having great pressure at their academics. You have to watch this film!! It can help you realize things about your life especially in your studies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FredericaC.Jan 13, 2002
Ethan Hawke was really good and fit.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattZ.Apr 15, 2003
although the setting is in 1959 , the idea of suppression and commormity is still a plague that haunts to this date. I admit that at times you have to be with the flow of the masses but without stepping outside the box to stretch the mind a although the setting is in 1959 , the idea of suppression and commormity is still a plague that haunts to this date. I admit that at times you have to be with the flow of the masses but without stepping outside the box to stretch the mind a little , your worthless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AidaG.Jan 20, 2004
Its was a very nice movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SarahBOct 22, 2005
I loved Dead Poets Society! It had tons of meaning, great references to literature and a touching ending!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BeznerL.Jan 25, 2005
Great movie,watched when i was only 10 [im 14], used it for my movie review, it was great. if i didn't watch it, most things accomplished in my life would not be possible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LacieZ.Oct 30, 2005
Great movie....Beginning had me thinking it would be horrible, but i kept and open mind and it enden up being awsome. It is a very inspiring film and it it send out a strong message about the dangers of conformity. i absolutly loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
suzannep.Aug 13, 2005
"Seize the day."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelF.Aug 26, 2001
This is a wonderful film! William's performance is incredible!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackieP.Jan 12, 2002
Awesome movie; Robbert ["Neil"] is such a cutie! ;-)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KaylaA.Apr 4, 2002
I think it was a very moving film. It has a great message to it and can really inspire a person.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonathonJul 26, 2002
A very moving film that gives a good message to everone. The acting was good, mostly from the main cast, music was great, but this movie is a classic example of overkill. JOSH CHARLES ROCKS!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GaryK.Aug 14, 2002
A very touching and moving film. I have watched it 3 times sofar. Carpe Diem!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ThomasC.Sep 9, 2002
I thought that this movie was an interesting new road in comparison to the other movies of today; big budget special effects films. It leaves you feeling sad, angry and thinking about the way society operates, and how good peoples very lives I thought that this movie was an interesting new road in comparison to the other movies of today; big budget special effects films. It leaves you feeling sad, angry and thinking about the way society operates, and how good peoples very lives can be wasted if not given the opportunity to show what they can do. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BenD.Apr 15, 2003
I LOVED this movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MonserratM.Apr 3, 2003
Sends a good message...and it's very similar to the novel called "A Separate Peace" I would recommend this movie to anyone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackL.Oct 4, 2004
Spiritually enveloped movie. Smiling at Williams, Robin, God himself is.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
B.L.Jan 25, 2005
O CAPTAIN MY CAPTAIN! Carpe Diem Lads, Sieze the day
0 of 0 users found this helpful