Dead Silence

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 100 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 100
  2. Negative: 21 out of 100

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. AmarilisM.
    Apr 5, 2008
    8
    I don't usually get scared by movies, but this one was spooky. I actually liked it better than the Saw movies, which are making me sick already.
  2. NickH.
    Mar 16, 2007
    10
    Dead Silence is an actual horror movie that is scary and effective!
  3. Sam
    Mar 18, 2007
    8
    Relied more on atmosphere than plot, which ended up raising the movie above all the other horror fodder that's out there now.... despite the lame twist at the end.
  4. CalvinH.
    Apr 20, 2007
    10
    I don't give a crap what the critics say, I thought the movie had its scary moments and as always in any of James Wan's movies there is a great twist.
  5. MelodyM.
    Mar 18, 2007
    8
    Ever since I first heard that this movie was done by the writers and directors of the Saw trilogy, I have been waiting to see it. Even though it was no Saw, I still enjoyed this film. They had some great scares, and the ending was very unexpected. For people who were looking for tons of gore, your going to be dissapointed, however this ghost story will keep you covering you eyes and Ever since I first heard that this movie was done by the writers and directors of the Saw trilogy, I have been waiting to see it. Even though it was no Saw, I still enjoyed this film. They had some great scares, and the ending was very unexpected. For people who were looking for tons of gore, your going to be dissapointed, however this ghost story will keep you covering you eyes and holding onto the person besdie you. Overall I enjoyed this film, and if anyone wants to see a decent horror film, I would suggest this one. Expand
  6. NormD.
    Mar 25, 2007
    9
    I don't get the people who watch, movies. I mean seriously, you got here a movie that is creepy, spooky, and its the best it can do with a doll type series, not like Chucky. It's not Saw its just PRODUCERS From SAW. You get what you want in this movie, I think its totally creepy, if just see it, geesh, never seen a movie like this before, the only reason I don't give it a I don't get the people who watch, movies. I mean seriously, you got here a movie that is creepy, spooky, and its the best it can do with a doll type series, not like Chucky. It's not Saw its just PRODUCERS From SAW. You get what you want in this movie, I think its totally creepy, if just see it, geesh, never seen a movie like this before, the only reason I don't give it a 10 is I don;t like endings like that. But with all the dumb movies out anymore a bunch of kiddie movies that are funny or so, or some lame idea, you got a real freak zone and still, people whine about it not being like another movie its freaky. Eyes moving I mean what more do you people want! I am not being harsh or mean i just dont' get critices or people, too much people judge movies, because its not like another movie, if you exspect a movie to be creepy or a doll like or ghostly or about dolls thats what your gonna goet if you go into the movies to see what its producers did in another movie or your soo picky then i don't know what to say. This movie is too freaky, and to creepy it was all it asked in my book, but of course the VERY best movies people hate the dumb movies people love. I mean seriously do I have to write a very lame story to make people read than a really, good idea and freaky plots and get hated. I love this movie, you all can hate it or have a big issue with it all, I didn;'t like is the ending. I don't like bad winning. But the rest RULES. Expand
  7. Donna
    Jan 18, 2008
    9
    The acting had me in stitches. As did the dolls. It's kind of a Chucky meets Nightmare on Elm St. But I liked it! It even made me jump once, which movies never do. The ending was... imaginative... think that's the nicest way of putting it! It was a big twist, but one of those silly ones that tries to make you go "ooooh!", unfortunately it didn't quite work that way.. Rather The acting had me in stitches. As did the dolls. It's kind of a Chucky meets Nightmare on Elm St. But I liked it! It even made me jump once, which movies never do. The ending was... imaginative... think that's the nicest way of putting it! It was a big twist, but one of those silly ones that tries to make you go "ooooh!", unfortunately it didn't quite work that way.. Rather than being shocked by the ending, I was amused to see how far the writers had stretched it. Nonetheless, I thought it was a great film and will be watching it again! Although I'm yet to figure out why I enjoyed it so much.. Expand
  8. Nov 14, 2011
    7
    I watched this movie as an ongoing look into what the director of SAW did after his first Masterpiece Horror. If you have ever seen the chucky films like myself and laughed your ass off at them cause they were so stupid then this one might open your eyes another ways. The film follows A man who gets a puppet as a gift and it ends up killing his wife and the whole film is him trying toI watched this movie as an ongoing look into what the director of SAW did after his first Masterpiece Horror. If you have ever seen the chucky films like myself and laughed your ass off at them cause they were so stupid then this one might open your eyes another ways. The film follows A man who gets a puppet as a gift and it ends up killing his wife and the whole film is him trying to prove his innocence that he did not kill his wife along with discovering the dark secrets of the puppet and its owner. The movie is called Dead Silence as the puppet only strikes when there is total quiet, which works VERY well with the suspense of the film. Like the saw film it ties most things up at the end with a very UNEXPECTED twist.

    Fans of SAW and those who want a decent version of CHUCKY should like this film

    People scared of PUPPETS,CLOWNS and OLD SCARY WOMEN should lock their doors and try not to think about the movie at all
    Expand
  9. Jun 7, 2013
    9
    I do not remember liking this film the first few times I watched it but now that I've paid a little more attention to it I've thoroughly enjoyed it! Anyone who has a fear of creepy dolls will be in a living hell that's for sure as Jamie investigates his girlfriend's death and the suspicious doll that turned up when it happened. It goes at a good pace but really picks up towards the end forI do not remember liking this film the first few times I watched it but now that I've paid a little more attention to it I've thoroughly enjoyed it! Anyone who has a fear of creepy dolls will be in a living hell that's for sure as Jamie investigates his girlfriend's death and the suspicious doll that turned up when it happened. It goes at a good pace but really picks up towards the end for one hell of an ending that I can't believe I forgot :P Overall a solid Horror film worth a look! Expand
  10. Mar 12, 2014
    7
    Scary! A horror movie involving PUPPETS. Almost as scary as clowns. This movie was not perfect. Certainly not flawless. But it Is scary. Maybe a little too scary. Very unique, and made in a way that will keep you watching, I can't say you won't look away I few times. Cause again it involves... ugh... "those things".
  11. Nov 8, 2014
    7
    All of James Wan's movies have different tones, but this one was by far the strangest. Nevertheless, I enjoyed this weird horror movie. It had a couple very effective jump scares and a lot of good tension. This plot was very weird and crazy, but it was simple and interesting. The twist at the end, though, was pretty unnecessary which I didn't particularly like. I recommend this one if youAll of James Wan's movies have different tones, but this one was by far the strangest. Nevertheless, I enjoyed this weird horror movie. It had a couple very effective jump scares and a lot of good tension. This plot was very weird and crazy, but it was simple and interesting. The twist at the end, though, was pretty unnecessary which I didn't particularly like. I recommend this one if you like Wan's other films. Expand
Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 15
  2. Negative: 8 out of 15
  1. Boasts nothing new under the sun, but it does provide a few decent scares.
  2. 30
    Only those in a cold sweat for their weekly horror fix will bother with this formulaic and rather lazy exercise in booga-booga scare tactics.
  3. A conflation of the horror genre's laziest tropes, plot angles and shorthands, this inept creation isn't so much a film as it is a smorgasbord.