Deadgirl

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 25
  2. Negative: 5 out of 25

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Bob
    Oct 6, 2009
    10
    So much more than it seems. A coming of age relationship movie all about a dead girl in the basement. Words can't describe it - just see it.
  2. May 4, 2012
    8
    Let me start off by saying I love this film. Disturbing subject matter aside it is a brilliantly crafted movie in every aspect. The majority of people will write this movie off because of the premise but if you have a heart for horror movies you will absolutely positively adore it. I can't give anything away, you just really have to watch the whole thing and see for yourself.
  3. AlexE
    Aug 6, 2009
    10
    This movie was really disturbing but it was great to see something crazy on film that you normally don 't see in this cookie cuter movie industry.
  4. JayH.
    Sep 16, 2009
    5
    It at least has an original plot, and the acting is fine, but it is a very unpleasant movie. It has a creepy atmosphere and is well edited. Just the whole subject matter is a bit of a turn off.
  5. KyleK.
    Sep 21, 2009
    10
    Brilliant, the haters are running out of reasons for hating thought provoking horror films. They throw out words like torture porn and misogynistic, but that's why they're not real horror fans. They are Walmart safe, remake fans.
  6. ChrisD.
    Sep 21, 2009
    9
    Very cool film. Sort of like Teeth or Ginger Snaps, but much more mean spirited.
  7. Jun 14, 2013
    4
    Using what sounds like the discarded remnants of Michael Andrews' Donnie Darko score, Deadgirl tries (and fails) to be artistic, atmospheric and thought-provoking. It isn't unique, disturbing or entertaining.
  8. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    Original, weird, scary and fully. I raccomand it if you are orginal, openmind people.
    Setting and actors do it great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
  9. Jun 15, 2016
    6
    This is a zombie flick that might be described as uniquely horrifying and revolting. Our "heros" begin the film as teen victims of bullies but are revealed in fullness of time to be just as morally vacant as their oppressors. I would give the film a 7 if only it were not a mere snapshot. There is nothing to explain where the "deadgirl" came from and only our imagination to suggest whereThis is a zombie flick that might be described as uniquely horrifying and revolting. Our "heros" begin the film as teen victims of bullies but are revealed in fullness of time to be just as morally vacant as their oppressors. I would give the film a 7 if only it were not a mere snapshot. There is nothing to explain where the "deadgirl" came from and only our imagination to suggest where she might be going. There is also a dog which seems to have the sole purpose of providing a few extra beats of menace. How it happens to be where it is, or how it survives, is never revealed.

    On the whole, it's all very creepy and mildly entertaining and you could do a lot worse when delving into the zombie film genre.
    Expand
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 2 out of 5
  1. It's getting increasingly difficult to avoid films as bereft of redeeming qualities as Deadgirl, an exploitation-horror hybrid best left to torture-porn fanboys and academics seeking to dissect the outer reaches of the contemporary young-male mindset.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    40
    Arriving on the heels of America's torture-porn wave, Deadgirl takes a disturbing adolescent male fantasy and glosses it up just enough to pass for a legitimate horror movie.
  3. 70
    The movie also finds the right balance of light and dark for the material. Too dark and people would be depressed and disgusted by what’s on the screen, too light and it would have no effect. Deadgirl gets it just right. No small feat if you think about it.