Dark Sky Films | Release Date: July 24, 2009
6.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 27 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
16
Mixed:
6
Negative:
5
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
GhostsearchJul 4, 2016
Another very dark and twisted movie, Deadgirl is a very different kind of zombie movie that focuses on the sickness of the people that are not infected with the zombie virus. For once, I actually felt sorry for a zombie in a zombie movie.Another very dark and twisted movie, Deadgirl is a very different kind of zombie movie that focuses on the sickness of the people that are not infected with the zombie virus. For once, I actually felt sorry for a zombie in a zombie movie. This movie isn't all serious 100% of the time, and there are a couple good laughs in a few scenes. The gross out factor is always present throughout the movie and what makes this movie special is the messed up thoughts and actions of it's main characters. Just when you thought you knew how crazy the mind of a teenager can be, this movie takes that to a whole new level. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
HotelCentralJun 15, 2016
This is a zombie flick that might be described as uniquely horrifying and revolting. Our "heros" begin the film as teen victims of bullies but are revealed in fullness of time to be just as morally vacant as their oppressors. I would giveThis is a zombie flick that might be described as uniquely horrifying and revolting. Our "heros" begin the film as teen victims of bullies but are revealed in fullness of time to be just as morally vacant as their oppressors. I would give the film a 7 if only it were not a mere snapshot. There is nothing to explain where the "deadgirl" came from and only our imagination to suggest where she might be going. There is also a dog which seems to have the sole purpose of providing a few extra beats of menace. How it happens to be where it is, or how it survives, is never revealed.

On the whole, it's all very creepy and mildly entertaining and you could do a lot worse when delving into the zombie film genre.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
efesto14Jul 20, 2013
Original, weird, scary and fully. I raccomand it if you are orginal, openmind people.
Setting and actors do it
Original, weird, scary and fully. I raccomand it if you are orginal, openmind people.
Setting and actors do it great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
AlienSpaceBatsJun 14, 2013
Using what sounds like the discarded remnants of Michael Andrews' Donnie Darko score, Deadgirl tries (and fails) to be artistic, atmospheric and thought-provoking. It isn't unique, disturbing or entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TTW107May 4, 2012
Let me start off by saying I love this film. Disturbing subject matter aside it is a brilliantly crafted movie in every aspect. The majority of people will write this movie off because of the premise but if you have a heart for horror moviesLet me start off by saying I love this film. Disturbing subject matter aside it is a brilliantly crafted movie in every aspect. The majority of people will write this movie off because of the premise but if you have a heart for horror movies you will absolutely positively adore it. I can't give anything away, you just really have to watch the whole thing and see for yourself. Collapse
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
BobOct 6, 2009
So much more than it seems. A coming of age relationship movie all about a dead girl in the basement. Words can't describe it - just see it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ChrisD.Sep 21, 2009
Very cool film. Sort of like Teeth or Ginger Snaps, but much more mean spirited.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KyleK.Sep 21, 2009
Brilliant, the haters are running out of reasons for hating thought provoking horror films. They throw out words like torture porn and misogynistic, but that's why they're not real horror fans. They are Walmart safe, remake fans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JayH.Sep 16, 2009
It at least has an original plot, and the acting is fine, but it is a very unpleasant movie. It has a creepy atmosphere and is well edited. Just the whole subject matter is a bit of a turn off.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexEAug 6, 2009
This movie was really disturbing but it was great to see something crazy on film that you normally don 't see in this cookie cuter movie industry.
0 of 0 users found this helpful