Screen Gems | Release Date: February 5, 2010
6.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 105 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
46
Mixed:
39
Negative:
20
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
PP.Feb 22, 2010
What the heck was this all about? What the heck was the ending? Worst movie I've seen in years, although I loved the Notebook, and also Amanda - I guess I would have to primarily fault the writer and director - don't waste your What the heck was this all about? What the heck was the ending? Worst movie I've seen in years, although I loved the Notebook, and also Amanda - I guess I would have to primarily fault the writer and director - don't waste your money or time on this. The movie starts off strong and carries for quite a while, but then totally falls apart into a complete waste of film. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
6
ChadS.Feb 6, 2010
In the best tradition of wartime romances, the woman on the homefront can't commit to celibacy, so she writes a Dear John letter calling it quits with her soldier boy overseas. It's a plot point, in which the moviegoer's In the best tradition of wartime romances, the woman on the homefront can't commit to celibacy, so she writes a Dear John letter calling it quits with her soldier boy overseas. It's a plot point, in which the moviegoer's sympathy is stacked in the man's favor. Like with any war film, "Dear John" dramatizes the combat soldier's plight to stay alive. He's fighting for you and me, and her; he's a hero, and deserves to be treated like one. Obviously, his is the greater sacrifice, since no woman ever died from lack of sex. In such love triangle situations, nobody roots for the other guy(the guy who lets other guys fight in his place), no matter how lonely the woman claims to be. She's a slut, pure and simple, because we identify with the combat soldier. When John Tyree(Channing Tatum) gets hit by enemy fire, the moviegoer's hates Savannah(Amanda Seyfried) even more; her betrayal is amplified by the soldier's fleeting relationship with the physical world. To make matters worse, John suspects(and we do, too) that Amanda's new lover is his rival from the beach. "Dear John", however, treats its female character fairly, since John's injury turns out not to be a life-threatening one. There's no cause for Amanda to well-up with guilty tears. And surprise, surprise, John's replacement is Tim(Henry Thomas), a man with terminal cancer, defusing the moviegoer's inclination to hate Amanda somewhat for her disloyalty. In fact, "Dear John" quite suddenly puts John in a bad light, because it's in his best interest if Tim died, and get Amanda back. "Dear John" is subversive in this sense: a reunion between John and Amanda constitutes an unhappy ending, unless the moviegoer is heartless enough to root for a cancer patient to perish. (Exactly what are John's motivations for his seemingly magnanimous act of generosity toward Tim's affliction?) Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
BrittanyH.Feb 5, 2010
Terrible... what a disappointing and inaccurate film... why did they bother to keep the title Dear John as this story is clearly not Spark's work.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
BSFeb 11, 2010
This is the worst love story i have seen in years. I loved the notebook and all of the other work Mr.Sparks is affiliated with but really, How can you have a love movie without love? This ENTIRE movie could have mad a 20 minute short film This is the worst love story i have seen in years. I loved the notebook and all of the other work Mr.Sparks is affiliated with but really, How can you have a love movie without love? This ENTIRE movie could have mad a 20 minute short film and been so much better. Horrible. The only redeeming quality the film had was the father son relationship. Otherwise just plain boring, un-foucused, however, It did have a good book. The theater i was at was packed before i went in. The Guys coming out were PISSED. The women were laughing because it was so bad. Yes a few fell in love with it. But i would say 90% did not. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
TonyJan 2, 2011
There is nothing offensively bad about this, it is just dull and full of completely flat characters. Tatum unfortunately doesn't bring much to his role, and the film just meanders on until it ends in a rather anticlimactic fashion.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
heyitsmegrif4Mar 10, 2012
Dear John is sweet and sometimes even moving, and it will please Nicolas Sparks fans and Romance fans. Yet, Channing Tatum has the looks but lacks in his acting chops and the film severely suffers from that. Still Amanda Seyfried and RichardDear John is sweet and sometimes even moving, and it will please Nicolas Sparks fans and Romance fans. Yet, Channing Tatum has the looks but lacks in his acting chops and the film severely suffers from that. Still Amanda Seyfried and Richard Jenkins give noteworthy performances. This is the better of the Nicolas Sparks movies. I give this movie 49%. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
MeganW.Feb 6, 2010
Heart-breaking story of how long can't always conquer all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TonyS.Feb 7, 2010
Stephanie Zacharek says it all: "I'm fully prepared to hear people write off "Dear John" as corny, sappy, a movie for chicks. But I'd counter that Hallström's old-fashioned idealism about art and emotion is the more Stephanie Zacharek says it all: "I'm fully prepared to hear people write off "Dear John" as corny, sappy, a movie for chicks. But I'd counter that Hallström's old-fashioned idealism about art and emotion is the more important quality shining through "Dear John." Maybe it's corny only if you've managed to reach adulthood without ever having to say goodbye." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlessandraSFeb 7, 2010
I had been looking forward to seeing this movie for weeks (as someone who is in love with 'the notebook' and touching love stories). I will tell you that it is a tear-jerker. I heard many sobs coming from the audience (ok, maybe I had been looking forward to seeing this movie for weeks (as someone who is in love with 'the notebook' and touching love stories). I will tell you that it is a tear-jerker. I heard many sobs coming from the audience (ok, maybe many of them were mine). The adapted screenplay attempted to include different storylines in the film, as not to make it your stereotypical love story. They were semi-successful at this. The acting is quite good, especially Channing Tatum who plays a young soldier with many repressed feelings. A couple of scenes I felt Amanda Seyfried's acting was not completely believable but still very good. What can i say, it touched a place deep in my heart, especially the secondary story of John's (Tatum) introverted, lonely father. Enjoy!! Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Feb 8, 2010
The best love story I have seen in years! Channing's acting is outstanding. The audience is captivated by his ability to make them see his heart through his eyes! love it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KristiMMar 29, 2010
I love all of Nicholas Sparks' movies, but i would have to say this one is not my favorite. Channing Tatum did a wonderful job at his role. This movie makes you see how hard it would be to have a relationship while being in the army at I love all of Nicholas Sparks' movies, but i would have to say this one is not my favorite. Channing Tatum did a wonderful job at his role. This movie makes you see how hard it would be to have a relationship while being in the army at the same time. I still think The Notebook is the best movie made from Nicholas Sparks' books. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JonasSep 20, 2010
Its target audience is tween girls, and possibly 30-something fiancées based on her reaction, seeing Channing Tatum in and out of his uniform. This sappy movie was slow moving and its only purpose seemed to be to evoke tearsIts target audience is tween girls, and possibly 30-something fiancées based on her reaction, seeing Channing Tatum in and out of his uniform. This sappy movie was slow moving and its only purpose seemed to be to evoke tears from its female viewers. So if you donâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Misslove14xxDec 26, 2010
I read the book, and, even though it is a typical Nicholas Sparks book, I have to say I enjoyed it a lot. The movie was decent. It didn't exactly follow the story correctly, which always irritates me, and something just felt a bit off.I read the book, and, even though it is a typical Nicholas Sparks book, I have to say I enjoyed it a lot. The movie was decent. It didn't exactly follow the story correctly, which always irritates me, and something just felt a bit off. However Channing Tatum and Amanda Seyfried did an amazing job of making it feel like they really were John and Savannah from the book. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JonnyFendiJan 10, 2011
Nicholas Sparks is the mastermind of incredibly-moving THE NOTEBOOK (2004). Lasse Hallström tried to bring another novel he wrote. Recently, we watched other Hallström direction in heartwarming HACHIKO: A DOG STORYNicholas Sparks is the mastermind of incredibly-moving THE NOTEBOOK (2004). Lasse Hallström tried to bring another novel he wrote. Recently, we watched other Hallström direction in heartwarming HACHIKO: A DOG STORY (2009). Both of them made thiz romantic drama worth it to be waited. But in the implementation, something is out of track. The story was about Savannah (Amanda Seyfried) who accidentally met John (Channing Tatum) in one fine summer on the beach. Those memorable two weeks based their continuance into long distance relationship, when john sent away to his military mission. The Director, Hallström tried to capture it with simplicity. In fact, almost all of Hallström movies fill with simplicity. Seem to me his simplicity made the drama came out effectively and naturally. Richard Jenkins made a brief but incredible small role as John father. Seyfried always appears likeable, her character was gratifying. She could be able represent up and down of all emotions very well. Once again, he showed his singing talent here. I already fell in love with her since first time I saw her on MAMMA MIA! (2008). Inversely Tatum performance is awful. His character was vacuous and awkward. I doubt his acting skill at all. As the result, the chemistry is on serious gap. But once again, Nicholas Sparks novels always worth it to be tell. Thiz is fifth Sparks adapted movie, since Kevin Costner MESSAGE IN A BOTTLE (1999), Mandy Moore A WALK TO REMEMBER (2002), Rachel McAdams THE NOTEBOOK (2004), Richard Gere NIGHTS IN RODANTHE (2008) and also upcoming Miley Cyrus THE LAST SONG (2010). His stories were always about long term and everlasting love. We could spend one fine evening with anybody or even a nice memorable summer, it could come and go. But it is the person who always stands beside us in all these times who is truly the one.

Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Bestkritick24Feb 3, 2011
I think this is by far one of the best love stories ever. It has everything from smiles to tears to intense moments. It is a very realistic story that people are really living today. It makes you believe in love, I fell in love with DearI think this is by far one of the best love stories ever. It has everything from smiles to tears to intense moments. It is a very realistic story that people are really living today. It makes you believe in love, I fell in love with Dear John, I hope there is a second part. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
jimmytancrediMay 29, 2011
I waited so long for watching this movie, I have seen the trailer and I was almost dying desperately. A romance to shine the most romantic and dazzled eyes. But like all good love story, there are conditions and circumstances that ultimatelyI waited so long for watching this movie, I have seen the trailer and I was almost dying desperately. A romance to shine the most romantic and dazzled eyes. But like all good love story, there are conditions and circumstances that ultimately discourage them. And And in an era where everything is backed by advanced technology, the couple rescues the late media of years ago: Letters. Yes, and that nostalgic feeling we get! See them exchanging pretty words in letters of truth is almost an homage to the envelope sheet and pen! And it sounds much more romantic. His relationship with his father was extremely well developed in the film. I found even more exciting John's relationship with her father than with Savannah, who finished without nexus. Romance never gets old. This is fact and what makes the day more fun. Exciting because we are always thinking of someone. Thatâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
RodrigoBGCOct 15, 2011
Terribly boring, nonsense romance, terrible dialogs, terrible actors, terrible everything!!! everything in is this movies is boring and stupid and so wrong, if you want to see a good love story better see Casablanca or Before Sunrise, thoseTerribly boring, nonsense romance, terrible dialogs, terrible actors, terrible everything!!! everything in is this movies is boring and stupid and so wrong, if you want to see a good love story better see Casablanca or Before Sunrise, those are good love films Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
AlessandroJun 29, 2012
Dear John is a drama movie. But sadly, we couldn't see much sweet romantic thingy inside that makes us feel that Dear John is a flat movie. But Dear John can make us in tears with some moments when Dear John does really well....saying goodbyes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieRater_1Jul 9, 2012
This movie was so sad!!! It was pretty good though, but soooo sad!! I don't know why everyone says its bad it s good, and very, very sad! It is a heart breaking story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
lukechristianscApr 8, 2015
I know it's weird that a guy like me finds Sparks' cliched cornball Dear John a pretty interesting emotional romance. Even though this movie is filled with the Nicholas Sparks lists of cliche's, it is a decent romance story. Channing TatumI know it's weird that a guy like me finds Sparks' cliched cornball Dear John a pretty interesting emotional romance. Even though this movie is filled with the Nicholas Sparks lists of cliche's, it is a decent romance story. Channing Tatum and Amanda Seyfried are charming and like able despite director Lasse Hallstrom's direction. This film actually impressive and so is Sparks' storytelling. The actors giving a satisfying performance at the end i was satisfied. Grade B+ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
weirdcryoJan 13, 2016
The main characters are unbelievable and the story developed poorly because of bad writing: a rich girl that is perfect (despite she stating other wise) falls in love with a guy that says almost nothing and wants to me his dad in the secondThe main characters are unbelievable and the story developed poorly because of bad writing: a rich girl that is perfect (despite she stating other wise) falls in love with a guy that says almost nothing and wants to me his dad in the second day. Then, when the movie starts getting somewhere, they bring the "complication" with a third act that never ends making sense and a ending that feels out of place. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kat267Aug 13, 2015
This was such good but also sad movie. Channing Tatum was a great choice for John, and made John so likeable. Amanda Seyfried was good, but I dislike Savanah so much. I know the title tells all, but the climax is just so shocking that allThis was such good but also sad movie. Channing Tatum was a great choice for John, and made John so likeable. Amanda Seyfried was good, but I dislike Savanah so much. I know the title tells all, but the climax is just so shocking that all I could do was cry when it happened. The romance is lovely while it lasts, so all we can do is cherish that bit until it inevitably comes to an end. I love all Nicholas Sparks stories, and this one is no exception. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
sjultiMay 20, 2017
Dear John feels like a movie that could've been much more but instead it's a romantic movie about a guy that goes to war and cannot be with the women he loves but their is hardly any actual scenes with him at war most of the movie he isDear John feels like a movie that could've been much more but instead it's a romantic movie about a guy that goes to war and cannot be with the women he loves but their is hardly any actual scenes with him at war most of the movie he is literally opening and sending letters and not just that the acting feels off sometimes the main two actors will have so much emotion in what their saying and the next scene their like a rock this movie feels rushed and unnecessary Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews