Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM) | Release Date: August 17, 2007
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 108 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
75
Mixed:
16
Negative:
17
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
RichardC.Oct 12, 2007
Did these critics see the same film I saw? Are they so disenchanted with American cinema that they will fool themselves into thinking this crud is "hilarious" and "outrageous"? I was appalled to be sitting in a screening with strangers who Did these critics see the same film I saw? Are they so disenchanted with American cinema that they will fool themselves into thinking this crud is "hilarious" and "outrageous"? I was appalled to be sitting in a screening with strangers who were guffawing at this decidedly low-brow humour. I agree with what another user wrote - I am all for Farrelly Bros.-type comedy if it's billed as such - but I can't abide this unquestioning Anglophilia that gives dreck like this a passing grade just because the actors don't sound like us. At times, I thought I was trapped at home on a Saturday night in mid-winter, grazing on those execrable PBS Britcoms that make up-state NY bourgeoisie feel superior to their neighbours. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
MattMApr 18, 2008
Shocking bad, bland British 'comedy' at its worst. Shallow carbon cut out characters, empty plot, dismal acting, and moves slowly and feels stilted in the direction. Never waste your time, not worth a rent. We should expect so much Shocking bad, bland British 'comedy' at its worst. Shallow carbon cut out characters, empty plot, dismal acting, and moves slowly and feels stilted in the direction. Never waste your time, not worth a rent. We should expect so much more from British comedy. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
StevenG.Oct 9, 2007
I would have walked out, but my wife who chose this dog would have had hurt feelings so her pride kept us in the theater. A total waste of time (ours) and talent (a good cast).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LemmyO.Aug 20, 2007
This movie is stealth-marketed as a high-mannered British farce in the tradition of Fawlty Towers, Four Weddings and a Funeral, when in fact, it is crass, lewd, stupid, loud, ridiculous and poorly written in every way. Do not be fooled by This movie is stealth-marketed as a high-mannered British farce in the tradition of Fawlty Towers, Four Weddings and a Funeral, when in fact, it is crass, lewd, stupid, loud, ridiculous and poorly written in every way. Do not be fooled by the marketing, this movie features nothing but foul language and quite literal toilet "humor" in place of the clever dialogue, wit, inventive plotting, misunderstandings and mistaken identities you would expect. This film is lowbrow to the point that I expected a Wayans brother to appear. I'm fine with that kind of humor (Something About Mary, etc.) as long as I know what I'm getting. This movie tries to be something it is not. A good opening sequence, score and one or two good jokes is the only thing that kept me from walking out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
HenryA.Sep 30, 2007
The level of humor seems to be spiraling downward rapidly. These are all easy, cheap laughs and I can't believe it received as many good reviews as it did.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GrantC.Mar 1, 2008
No, Chad S., as someone who works as a comedian and a writer, and who is also gay, I found this movie repellent in the extreme. We have entered a new era where it is socially acceptable to openly ridicule queers as some kind of warped No, Chad S., as someone who works as a comedian and a writer, and who is also gay, I found this movie repellent in the extreme. We have entered a new era where it is socially acceptable to openly ridicule queers as some kind of warped acknowledgment of their existence - it's not acceptable, and is in fact another form of oppression. And if anyone reading this thinks "oh, can't they just take a joke?", the answer is NO. Queer people are still killed throughout the world for their sexuality, and crap like Death at a Funeral trivializes their reality and humanity. Apart from the question of characterization, the movie becomes less and less funny as it progresses, as it attempts to top itself in outrageousness. The brainless twerps who created this have obviously never even heard of Joe Orton. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ToGrant.CApr 18, 2008
"it is socially acceptable to openly ridicule queers as some kind of warped acknowledgment of their existence - it's not acceptable, and is in fact another form of oppression." Okay, you're reading into this piss poor film way too "it is socially acceptable to openly ridicule queers as some kind of warped acknowledgment of their existence - it's not acceptable, and is in fact another form of oppression." Okay, you're reading into this piss poor film way too deeply. It's not oppression. It's bad characterization. Take yourself a bit less seriously and stop thinking everyones out to hate 'queers'. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KevinK.Sep 2, 2007
I sat in astonishment as the crowd around me laughed hard throughout this unfunny dreck. The writing was poor and rushed, and the jokes never delivered.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JayB.Sep 2, 2007
This movie tries to be Four Weddings and a Funeral, and attracts an audience of psuedo-sophisticated Frasier intellectuals that laugh on cue at the "ribald British humor". Here's the secret - it's not funny at all, and your high This movie tries to be Four Weddings and a Funeral, and attracts an audience of psuedo-sophisticated Frasier intellectuals that laugh on cue at the "ribald British humor". Here's the secret - it's not funny at all, and your high school English teacher is sitting next to you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JasperLJan 5, 2008
Drawn-out, laboured jokes. Predicable plot. Terrible dialogue. Awful, prissy, characters dipped in starch. Terrible acting. Soundtrack attempts to be offsetting but it evokes more the feeling of strangulation than comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
WillSep 24, 2007
This movie was terrible. A far cry from the jaunty, witty British comedy that I thought I was going to see. A better name for this movie would have been "National Lampoon goes to England". I love black comedy, British humor and good writing. This movie was terrible. A far cry from the jaunty, witty British comedy that I thought I was going to see. A better name for this movie would have been "National Lampoon goes to England". I love black comedy, British humor and good writing. This movie had none of that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
fuchikomaJan 3, 2016
If people tripping on drugs or poop jokes are your idea of sophisticated humour, this might be up your alley. If you can take some lowbrow along with the high and enjoy it all... you're probably well beyond the demographic this was writtenIf people tripping on drugs or poop jokes are your idea of sophisticated humour, this might be up your alley. If you can take some lowbrow along with the high and enjoy it all... you're probably well beyond the demographic this was written for and will find it a tedious wait for the end credits. I give it a few points because it wasn't completely impenetrable and incoherent like a few rare movies. It was very coherent and easy to follow - it just wasn't funny. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews