Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM) | Release Date: August 17, 2007
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 108 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
75
Mixed:
16
Negative:
17
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MikeHOct 3, 2009
Get's better and better every time you watch it!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
MinS.Nov 9, 2007
Wow. British black comedy at its best. We loved it. From us its a definitely must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DZOct 4, 2007
A little British comedy gem. One of the three times I've seen it, someone started choking during the hysterical roof scene. Let that be a lesson to you: eat anything that could choke you before this movie starts. Otherwise there could A little British comedy gem. One of the three times I've seen it, someone started choking during the hysterical roof scene. Let that be a lesson to you: eat anything that could choke you before this movie starts. Otherwise there could be a death at Death at a Funeral. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChadS.Feb 27, 2008
Dwarf. Gay dwarf. Gay dwarf on acid. Peter Dinkage plays Peter, the gay dwarf on acid in "Death at a Funeral", a Belgian production(hopefully, Hollywood will welcome Grover back after the "Stepford Wives" fiasco; were those "wives" humans or Dwarf. Gay dwarf. Gay dwarf on acid. Peter Dinkage plays Peter, the gay dwarf on acid in "Death at a Funeral", a Belgian production(hopefully, Hollywood will welcome Grover back after the "Stepford Wives" fiasco; were those "wives" humans or fem-bots?) that is suggestive of a Peter & Bobby Farrelly film on afternoon tea and crumpets. When Peter is immobilized, so many things could've gone wrong with "Death at a Funeral"; after all, Peter is a gay dwarf. The filmmaker risks angering two sectors of the human politic. But the film deftly averts mean-spiritedness, because Dinkage makes you forget about Peter's sexuality and vertically-challenged stature. He's flat-out hillarious, as are the rest of this uniformly excellent ensemble. There's no victims in "Death at a Funeral"; we laugh with, not at the sibling rivalry between writerly brothers, the old man with the loose bowels, the insecure boyfriend who's afraid he doesn't measure up to the woman he loves, even the dead dad. Movie. Irreverent movie. Irreverent movie with heart. "Death at a Funeral" is an irreverent movie with heart; a movie that inspires genuine laughter procured from drollery in which its audience isn't asked to be unfeeling. "Death at a Funeral" is edgy, but not that edgy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChristopherJ.Aug 31, 2008
Great characters, great twists, no message--just for laughs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AllisonOct 18, 2007
A very funny black comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KenGSep 9, 2007
Very funny black comedy, that also has heart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GerronK.Mar 31, 2008
I fail to understand, why Grant C. is having a problem with the gay character in the movie. First of all, have we watched the same movie? The movie doesn't once criticize homosexuality. The characters are surprised by the I fail to understand, why Grant C. is having a problem with the gay character in the movie. First of all, have we watched the same movie? The movie doesn't once criticize homosexuality. The characters are surprised by the character's homosexuality, maybe BECAUSE HE WAS MARRIED AND HAD TWO CHILDREN. That's all. At no moment does the film try to ridicule homosexuality. The two brothers show no contempt for the small gay dude, and of course the wife's going to get pissed. While I agree that it's wrong to ridicule queers, you need to chill out. I understand that you hate this movie, but frankly the only reason you gave was the movie openly ridiculed gays, when it didn't at all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnL.Mar 4, 2008
what a refreshing film :) i highly recommend it to anyone who is tired of the typical American parody garbage that comes out every few months.. here we have a funny cast that unknown to most north American audiences and that makes it so easy what a refreshing film :) i highly recommend it to anyone who is tired of the typical American parody garbage that comes out every few months.. here we have a funny cast that unknown to most north American audiences and that makes it so easy to delve into the story and just enjoy it for what it is..it can be dark at times but it has a positive message, and even though i watched it alone it still had me rolling with laughter :) go rent it or if its reasonable buy it ....worth seeking out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ClaireD.Oct 14, 2007
The funniest comedy I've seen in years. Working from a script by Dean Craig, the ensemble of crack British actors cannot be praised enough, with standouts to include Alan Tudyk, Daisy Donovan, Peter Dinklage , Andy Nyman and especially The funniest comedy I've seen in years. Working from a script by Dean Craig, the ensemble of crack British actors cannot be praised enough, with standouts to include Alan Tudyk, Daisy Donovan, Peter Dinklage , Andy Nyman and especially Matthew Macfadyen, whose nuanced performance as the the uptight son trying to give dad a dignified send-off anchors the entire movie while remaining hysterically funny. Director Frank Oz is at his best here, working on a small scale with a talented but non-star cast. Filmed at Ealing Studios in England, DAAF does this heritage proud. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeyOct 22, 2007
This was hilarious. Not a typical British comedy, in that it had some definite American influences, but that did not make it any less humorous. My only objection was that on a couple of occasions I could see what was coming next, which spoil This was hilarious. Not a typical British comedy, in that it had some definite American influences, but that did not make it any less humorous. My only objection was that on a couple of occasions I could see what was coming next, which spoil it a bit. The humour is fairly low brow, but, atypically, this does not make it any less funny. A must-see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichelleAug 19, 2007
Soooooooo funny! It starts out a little slow but then you don't stop laughing until the very end! Incredible!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RobertI.Aug 19, 2007
As wacky as real life, "Death" offers a Mod spritz of English farce with the spirit of the classic Ealing Studio comedies, all strong characters on a collision course, colliding.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoshFApr 13, 2008
Grant c you need to take a chill pill. Gerron k was right, this isn't bashing homosexuality, everyone was freaking out in the movie because the dad was cheating on his wife, the gay thing was a shock to them too but that is just because Grant c you need to take a chill pill. Gerron k was right, this isn't bashing homosexuality, everyone was freaking out in the movie because the dad was cheating on his wife, the gay thing was a shock to them too but that is just because they were under the assumption for many many years that there dad was straight, they never said anything bad about homosexuality. my brother is gay and he loved the movie, he thought it was hilarious, so I'm not sure why grant c is freaking out. lighten up. Seriously. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NutellaApr 5, 2008
On one hand, the movie could be criticized on abusing that "valium" thing, by like, producing one fourth of the material on it. Next to that, it could be said that it employs some above average humour. On the other hand, the dark part it On one hand, the movie could be criticized on abusing that "valium" thing, by like, producing one fourth of the material on it. Next to that, it could be said that it employs some above average humour. On the other hand, the dark part it constitutes, especially the improvised speech given at the end, especially the phrase "being thrown to the world" states some mercilessly true nature in which we actually dwell; the whole schema of existentialism, the inevitable truth of our mortalities. Blended its humor, the movie actually has an attempt to give a perspective of death, in a "no big deal" way. What i mean is, the casket just stays right there whole movie, all there is around death itself, like the way it is in our non funeral lives, as we carry our mortality every single moment we live around the world. To sum up, it narrates somethings beyond that could be rated or voted, worth a watch without hesitation nevertheless, and deserves to invoke the reaction it aims; "what can be more serious where death there is". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JustinH.Apr 8, 2008
Funny, crass at times, but definitely worth a rent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LOLgrantCCodJul 27, 2008
Grant you give homosexuals a bad name. Hell, you give human beings a bad name. Please develop a sense of humor and try not to set us back any more years. kthnxbi The movie was decent; not meant for british comedy snobs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TiagoM.Mar 29, 2009
The most hilarious film ever made!!! Perfect!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeyW.Apr 26, 2009
Quite possibly the most side splittingly hilarious film I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RobS.Nov 12, 2007
Not designed for an international audience, especially not for Americans. Black comedy where the humor rotates around possibly too many characters, (however well selected they may have been) if a few of one liners from the wives or extra Not designed for an international audience, especially not for Americans. Black comedy where the humor rotates around possibly too many characters, (however well selected they may have been) if a few of one liners from the wives or extra guests at the funeral had been cut out and given to the main cast the interaction would have been better. Firefly and Serenity's Alan Tudyk steals the show , brilliance with comic timing, reactions and nudity. A clever comedy, a pacey hilarious mide section building to the sentimental moderately mental climax. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PatG.Aug 18, 2007
A few slow spots may mar this movie, but I laughed out loud many a time. I certainly do recommend it to those who enjoy British farces. And I think Alan Tudyk does the most brilliant drug-induced hallucinating I've ever seen. I cannot A few slow spots may mar this movie, but I laughed out loud many a time. I certainly do recommend it to those who enjoy British farces. And I think Alan Tudyk does the most brilliant drug-induced hallucinating I've ever seen. I cannot imagine anyone doing it better. The other actors were all very good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JackS.Aug 19, 2007
Hilarious!! If you want to laugh, go see it.. I went with 3 others and they loved it also.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LloydE.Sep 13, 2007
Skillfully written funny story with a hilarious bathroom scene. Definitely better than how the critics rated it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
OtherG.Sep 22, 2008
Wow, that was weird, I thought maybe I had reviewed this and didn't remember. Weird. Except I liked the movie unlike that other Grant C. This was a great example of British comedy in its prime. Care free, not like one of our American Wow, that was weird, I thought maybe I had reviewed this and didn't remember. Weird. Except I liked the movie unlike that other Grant C. This was a great example of British comedy in its prime. Care free, not like one of our American comedies that are purely about stupidity. And the deal about gays in this story was not to insult gays, just as a small humorous piece of the story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CarolynP.Nov 27, 2007
I thoroughly enjoyed this movie and spent a good deal of it laughing hysterically. I would highly recommend it if you are into dark British humour.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RonSDec 12, 2008
Not really laugh-out-loud humor (except for a few parts) but very funny nonetheless. British comedies in general usually have that particular sense of humor that is fun to watch. "I *knew* it!" That was great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GiroJun 16, 2014
It really had to be a British to dare to do a movie about death ... and be successful. Indeed, if most of the recent comedies I have seen just made me smile, this one brought me to hilarity. I specifically wanted to congratulate Alan Tudyk,It really had to be a British to dare to do a movie about death ... and be successful. Indeed, if most of the recent comedies I have seen just made me smile, this one brought me to hilarity. I specifically wanted to congratulate Alan Tudyk, who plays his role with an exquisite humour. He plays a guy that is on drug without meaning to. It could almost be a masterpiece but unfortunately some of the subordinate actors don't bring much to the story ( such as the crazy dredge man ).
It's a movie that I would particularly recommend to see when you're in a morose mood, this one might cheer you up!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FrenziedPanda99Jul 16, 2015
very good comedy . the focus is on the actors james marsden ( Oscar) , martin lawrence ( ryan ) , tracy morgan ( norman ) and Danny Glover ( rusell uncle ) who made me laugh a lot
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews