Newmarket Films | Release Date: October 27, 2006
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 32 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
20
Mixed:
4
Negative:
8
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
MatthewMNov 4, 2006
It was an alright film; I think the premise outweighs the execution. I can understand if people found it uninteresting, or non earth-shattering as there was very little insight to be take from this. No, instead it's an interesting It was an alright film; I think the premise outweighs the execution. I can understand if people found it uninteresting, or non earth-shattering as there was very little insight to be take from this. No, instead it's an interesting premise of wishful thinking people who rally against Bush would want to see. That's why I enjoyed it for the most part, but amazed there are so many people willing to give it 0-3 because it was "boring" to them; Sorry, but that just means they were convinced on not liking it before they even saw it (if they saw it) because of their political agenda. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
JasonL.Nov 5, 2006
Entertainment wise, I think the very premise of this film doomed it from the beggining. It became distracting when one found himself trying to separate fact from fiction. Additionally, the movie lacked elements that make a good movie: plot, Entertainment wise, I think the very premise of this film doomed it from the beggining. It became distracting when one found himself trying to separate fact from fiction. Additionally, the movie lacked elements that make a good movie: plot, protagonists, action, drama. I did appreciate however, the intelligence that went behind making the film. It did NOT endorse the death of Bush, but rather looked at the world had as if he had died. It did make me think about how many people think a dead president will benifit or destroy this country, and I believe the movie is directed at them. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MichaelOct 30, 2006
A fine film that's only slightly about a Bush assassination. It's more about the nation he (and we) made. The crime's aftermath turns into a rather profound cross between "Rashomon" and 1940s film noir. It ultimately suggests A fine film that's only slightly about a Bush assassination. It's more about the nation he (and we) made. The crime's aftermath turns into a rather profound cross between "Rashomon" and 1940s film noir. It ultimately suggests that almost anyone might have had some motive, and might have shared some of the culpability. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
GerrickC.Oct 30, 2006
The film is a resounding bore with very few redeeming qualities. Quite honestly, UK film producers coming up with a fictional assassination of the United States President is idiotic. Please do not see this film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
RandyJ-RJ.Oct 29, 2006
If you like being politically bored by madman propaganda then go see this hate-eveyone-kill-everyone movie. It is simly wrong and ugly and turns out to be just short and dull. Why not watch it for free on You Tube?
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
WillB.Mar 1, 2007
I have to say that the number of Americans, primarily, that are so DEEPLY offended by a work of FICTION involving the death of one person, who's ultimately responsible for the deaths of 10's of 1000's, is kind of puzzling. I have to say that the number of Americans, primarily, that are so DEEPLY offended by a work of FICTION involving the death of one person, who's ultimately responsible for the deaths of 10's of 1000's, is kind of puzzling. Hillary C. voices her outrage, as does the reviewer above from Ohio, (06's 'Florida' to ensure coup #2). It's a work of fiction about one sorry excuse of a human dying! Who cares what his position in life is!? Why does that elevate the mere premise of this event to such levels of horror and outrage? Why isn't this level of OUTRAGE being voiced at images of thousands of ACTUAL, not fictional,Soldiers, or of over 60,000 regular people like myself and this reviewer, all dying over the last 4 years for an illegal war? This movie, while giving a sobering WARNING to any wing nuts who think the death of the Puppet Boy would be a GREAT thing, doesn't strike me as some unimaginable horror, just a "What If?" piece of fiction. That the aforementioned wing nuts could use this movie to teach themselves that the alternative to Bush, an unfettered Darth Cheney, would be FAR worse, perhaps if anything, this film will actually prove to give Duh-Byuh a little more protection from the Timmothy McVeigh segment of the population. Cuz WHO isn't scared of Darth Cheney? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ChadS.Apr 10, 2007
Rather than emulate(to a certain degree) Errol Morris' "The Thin Blue Line", this filmmaker misses a golden opportunity to turn "Death of a President" into a full-blown propaganda film. Imagine if a Warren Commission-like report Rather than emulate(to a certain degree) Errol Morris' "The Thin Blue Line", this filmmaker misses a golden opportunity to turn "Death of a President" into a full-blown propaganda film. Imagine if a Warren Commission-like report expressed on film were to broadcast on American airwaves in order to frame some innocent foreigner for the murder of President George Walker Bush. This mock-doc's agenda should've been to protect the killer(s) and hide the truth, instead we're subjected to a rambling(and boring) testimony of the case's history(there are too many suspects; too many dead ends) before an Iraqi male is brought to justice and charged with Bush's assasination. Because of his ethnicity, a canny filmmaker would try to frame him, but "Death of a President['s]" liberal heart bleeds too much on its sleeve and strives for exoneration, as a way to comment on racial profiling and the legalized tyranny of the Patriot Act. "Death of a President" doesn't do enough with its most valuable resource: Vice-President Dick Cheney. If the film insinuated that he took out a sitting president, now you're talking provocation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PnArdyPnArdyMay 13, 2007
Great documentary style movie portraying the hypothetical day of assassination of president G.W. Bush in the future. It's a movie-statement that sets new boundaries and redefines the documentary genre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MellowKittyOct 23, 2006
I thought this was both well-made and thought-provoking. At the beginning, you think that the film may turn out to be a pro-Bush, pro-Patriot Act screed. In the end, however, it raises many questions about how America is waging the so-called I thought this was both well-made and thought-provoking. At the beginning, you think that the film may turn out to be a pro-Bush, pro-Patriot Act screed. In the end, however, it raises many questions about how America is waging the so-called War on Terrorism. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful